We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gloomy but nonetheless warm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel dei Tigli Angera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel dei Tigli Angera
Ranked #2 of 11 Angera B&B and Inns
Norwich
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A little gloomy but nonetheless warm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I came to Angera because I was working for the week at Ispra. The two hotels offered me at this time of the year (off-season) were the Pavone and the dei Tigli. I chose the second because of its slightly better reviews. First the good points. The receptionists and the caretaker (who spoke no English) were happy and helpful. My computer caught a dreadful malware virus on their unsecured wireless network; yet they were so helpful, even calling in the Caribineiri (who were useless). After one day, the same waitress at breakfast knew exactly what I wanted by way of coffee and brought it without asking. Good service. Additionally, many Italian hotels have dreadful heating systems – but dei Tigli’s was fine. It was snow and sleet on the first day but the room was warm as well as the lobby area. The negatives? My room on the second floor had no desk and was dreadfully gloomy. It overlooked a small courtyard. I am sure it would have been beautifully shady and a refuge from summer heat but in the dreadful March weather, it was depressing. In the bathroom (quite well appointed). The fixed shower head spayed not only the shower cubicle but all of the rest of the bathroom. There is some maintenance needed, including the loose loo seat and other small imperfections that a good hotel would pick up. So I am torn in my rating. I liked the hotel and its people; but the owners cut corners and fail to support adequate maintenance. If you like the laid-back touch and you relish the location right close to Lake Maggiore, you will love it. For me, I had to work in the evening and as I lay on the bed (because there was no desk) I could hardly see my computer keyboard even with every light on. If you stick out for a better room, I am sure you would have a great time – and one of my colleagues had a nice balcony and desk. The TV, by the way, has BBC World Service. The fixed price of Euro 95 per night for a single occupancy seemed to be the same whatever room you got - reasonable value but i wished I had complained and got a better room.

Room Tip: I am told that rooms on Floor 1 are larger and better - but I cannot vouch for that advice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sox299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
28
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here just one night and it was perfect and incredibly good value. The room was large and very clean with a decent sized shower. Unusually for Italy the wi-fi was free and reached our second floor room without any problem. The staff were really friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was good by Italian standards (i.e. nothing cooked), but fresh rolls and croissants, fruit salad, fresh fruit, yogurts, cold meat and cheeses and the freshly squeezed orange juice was great. We shall definitely visit again when in the area.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 161sunshine161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed there in NOV12 for 4 nights. Very good breakfast - exactly you need in the morning - not more not less. Room comfortable and very clean maintained. Free WiFi - and at a good speed. But, what really makes the difference is the staff attitude - they really make you feel at home. By heart, not by written procedures.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very close to boat from Arona. Staff was very helpful. Free wi-fi in room and lobby. Free use of great bicycles! Very good breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice, selection of meat and cheeses, yogurt, scrambled eggs and croissants.
Room was comfortable. No coffee pot in room.
We were there October 23 - 25, so, unfortunately the castle was already closed.
If you visit here, take the extra cab trip to a great restaurant Golosi dei Renghi!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaila33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here in Oct 2012 for 3 nights. Good location, quiet, nice Jr. suite on 3rd level with balcony. Room clean, bed comfortable, bathroom clean. Good daily maid service. Friendly and helpful desk staff. Good breakfast included. Easy walk to the ferry to Arona or Stresa. Ferry ride to Arona is about 5 minutes and runs almost hourly. Several good restaurants in the area including the one next to Hotel Pavone about a block away. Would stay here again no doubt, especially if you wanted to drive up to Switzerland or visit towns on this side of the lake. We also took the ferry up to visit Isola Bella, Isola Madre, Isola Pescatore and Stresa. Barbara at the ferry boat ticket office is very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank napamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The title of the review says it all. The hotel is down a small winding alley off the main road passing Lake Maggiore through Angera. It is nominally 3-star but expect nice comfortable rooms with a tasteful decor. The hotel appears family run and as a result has a certain degree of (charming) informality to it all. The staff did not speak much English but made effort to be helpful. Had a nice quiet sleep. The breakfast was nice though the choice wasn't large. Having said that, I don't usually have huge breakfasts so was sufficient for my liking. There was no charge for the wifi access and the speed was reasonable. On the night of my arrival, I asked for suggestions for a restaurant and was pointed to a nice place nearby (in the next street effectively next to Hotel Pavone. The pizza and beer were great and very nice large slice of tiramisu was most welcome.

As others have noted, the hotel is a stone's throw away from the lake which is nice to walk around. Angera itself is a charming little town, with winding streets and a 13th century castle. I enjoyed walking around the streets (though they were rather quiet as it seems the place is used mainly for holiday homes by people in Milan - I didn't mind the lack of tourist bustle though). The castle is a short walk up from the hotel and you get some great views from there.

I stayed at the hotel for two nights for business but I could easily consider coming here for a weekend getaway or staying for longer and using Angera as a base to explore the surroundings of Lake Maggiore. Would definitely stay again when back in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_The_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Dei Tigli as a stop over on our way home and were only looking for ok comfort at a moderate price. After having been made to wait rather long at the reception, we were greated heartily and in English by the very charming host. We asked for parking facilities when booking and were directed to a small parking garage underneath the hotel. It was a bit cramped, but secure. There are public parking spaces nearby so parking in the garage is not necessary.

The hotel is located close to the lake promenade and very well signposted. Our room was spacious for a double room, and with air condition. It even had a private balcony. All in all very comfortable. The breakfast next morning was good, typical Italian but with ham and cheese. We ordered latte macchiato and cappucino at the bar. The cappucino was good, the latte not so much. Unfortunately, they were out of fresh oranges by the time we arrived for breakfast so we didn't get to try this facility.

All in all we had a very pleasant, albeit short, stay and would definitely pick this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MetteH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angera
1.8 mi away
Il Sole Di Ranco
Il Sole Di Ranco
#1 of 2 in Ranco
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Conca Azzurra
Hotel Conca Azzurra
#2 of 2 in Ranco
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Giardino
Hotel Giardino
#2 of 7 in Arona
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Funivie del Lago Maggiore
Funivie del Lago Maggiore
#2 of 3 in Laveno-Mombello
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
10.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 1,103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#1 of 7 in Arona
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Tigli Angera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Tigli Angera

Property: Hotel dei Tigli Angera
Address: Via Paletta n. 20, 21021 Angera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Maggiore > Angera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Angera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Tigli Angera 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel dei Tigli Angera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing