We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great risotto, tiny room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pavone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pavone
Ranked #3 of 11 Angera B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great risotto, tiny room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Great risotto at the restaurant. I was at a very small room on the roof, but clean and quiet. Don't be afraid of ask to change room, some others did and got a nicer one. Internet was really slow but at least it was free.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SilviaC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
5
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights while on business in the area. The hotel is situated in a side street close to local bars and restaurants and close to Lake Maggiori. The staff were really friendly and chatty and made me feel very welcome. The room was a good size with good en-suite facilities. My room had twin single beds with a very firm mattress. As I'm used to a double bed I felt like I was perched on top of the bed and felt sure I was going to end up on the floor at some stage. Breakfast was ok with a reasonable selection of fuits, cold meats and cheeses and pastries available. My main problem with the hotel was that I found it noisy and hot. It was too noisy to sleep with the window open and on one night I was woken at 2 A.M. by someone emptying bottles from a bar into a metal bin with a noise that would have been heard in Milan (why do they do that?). The air conditioning wasn't very effective and was quite noisy, so the choice was to be kept awake by that or by the heat. I didn't sleep well either night despite being very tired. Also, the safe in my room didn't work and I wasn't impressed with the hotel security. they ask you to leave your room key at rception and give all guests a key to the front door for use after reception is closed, which means anybody in the hotel could collect your key from reception and access your room if you were out late.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrFun239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed here one night and would return any time. The hotel itself is in a small street, my windows went actually to this street. It was in early May and the city not yet engaged by many tourists, so the whole place was quiet. Barely anyone on the streets.
The city seems to be very clean and so was this hotel. The personell was extremely kind, spoke good English. Internet is free of charge but must be asked for the code. the Reception is open until 22.30 or so but should you wish leave or come back after this time, you can get a key to the main entrance. but do not forget to mention it before the reception closes.
The hotel restaurant was extremely!!! good, very good selection of wine and gorgeous plates. Service is also perfect!
One hint: try not to go to this city (or maybe to Italy) on a Monday as everything is closed and I mean it. (there was no cafe, bar, resto open but this one of the hotel. every shop is closed)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaborinbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
683 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

This hotel is exactly what you pay for - reasonably priced, comfortable, clean - with a surprisingly good breakfast (not the usual Italian hotel breakfast fair). The view from the hotel is not great - it's up a side street - but what really places this hotel above the rest is the location. It is located in the little town of Angera, which is on the east coast of Lago Maggiore towards the south. Just down from the hotel is the lake front with a good range of bars and restaurants, as well as a great walk with wonderful views across the lake. Looming above the hotel is the "Rocca" (a castle). The added bonus is the quality of the restaurant attached to the hotel - which is of really good quality without being over-priced.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlderGuy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in May 2011 and then again in the middle of February 2012. When I stayed here the first time, the problems were speed of the internet (or rather the NON speed of the internet), and the behavior of one of the staff members.
This time, one must add the temperature of the room I stayed in. It was a cold day when I arrived and the room was literaly frozen. The air leaking windows did not help either.
I had to request for an additional heater, because the room key serves to power on and off the room electrics, and thus the electric heater. When one leaves the room, the electricity shuts off and so do the heaters. The extra heater was installed, and the hotel staff put ensured the heater was on all day and all night to ensure the room temperature remained comfortable.
Towards the end of my stay, the extra heater was removed without consultation by the reception staff when they felt it was warm enough; they didn't ask me.
The speed of the internet is attrocious; when I used speedtest.net to measure the speed, it showed a speed of 44KB/sec, which is slower than dial up internet was!
One of the staff members who was annoying last time is still here and annoying.
The good points is that the hotel has a nice restaurant, and offers a nice breakfast where a cappuccino is a real cappuccino (this is Italy after all!).
Until they fix the internet issue, I will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms are all dark. And they keep the window shutters closed all day. My advice is to ask for rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petervee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Queen size bed was hard as a rock, and took up nearly all floor space. Larger rooms are available, but not during my stay. Very clean hotel with modern bath rooms, and excellent service. Wifi in room worked well. Hotel restaurant has great food and is reasonably priced. Local wines are a must try!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogueWav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Cosy clean rooms. Nice service. Good food. Breakfast is OK. Not a great address but you get a good value for what you paid.

Room Tip: Ask the rooms with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuebecSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angera
1.8 mi away
Il Sole Di Ranco
Il Sole Di Ranco
#1 of 2 in Ranco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Conca Azzurra
Hotel Conca Azzurra
#2 of 2 in Ranco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Giardino
Hotel Giardino
#2 of 7 in Arona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#1 of 7 in Arona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 1 in Ispra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel dei Tigli Angera
Hotel dei Tigli Angera
#2 of 11 in Angera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pavone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pavone

Property: Hotel Pavone
Address: Via F. Borromeo, Angera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Maggiore > Angera
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Angera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pavone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing