We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in the area...by far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna Bleu

Taverna Bleu
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the area...by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great chef..first class menu...dinning room right on the lake...could not be better...Wines perhaps a little pricey

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ken q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    14
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
322 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A very disappointing evening”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

On our final evening of a wonderful 5 days on Lake Como we decided to dine at the Relais and Restaurant a short walk from our accommodation. We were shown to a lovely outdoor setting on a warm evening and thought a great meal would be forthcoming. Of the 4 of us, 2 got the main meal together, the next arrived 5 minutes later, and the final meal a further 5 minutes. If the food was of top quality maybe we would have been forgiving but the fish was dry and over cooked, pasta with seafood very basic and the 4 th dish was cold.
Luckily we enjoyed a nice bottle of white wine but when asking the waiter where it originated from he simply shrugged, said no idea, and walked away.
We did contemplate deserts and were handed menus. The waiter then completely ignored us as he was talking to the boss and had no eyes for the clients. Finally, after about 15 minutes, he came and naturally we declined the offer to spend more.
It needs to be said that we ate 3 other meals in restaurants in this town, each was super.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Johns1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location - cold staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

The hotel is right by the lake, and has a lovely courtyard where you can sit and have your breakfast and apero. The rooms are good sized and Gabriel is lovely. I would have given them an 'excellent' rating if it wasn't for 1 particular staff - Veronica. I have never met someone so miserable, agreessive and rude. No idea how anyone like that can be allowed to work in hospitality!
They should get rid of her as soon as possible as she's the dark cloud over this beautiful hotel.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skinner96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet hotel-restaurant with basic charm overlooking the lake”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Lovely quiet location, but service and friendliness of staff was left to be desired for. Food was average and overpriced.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lapuertaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance, OK food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We are recommended by the tourism office in Tremezzo who said this restaurant received some awards. The view was nice and ambiance is romantic. But the food falls far short of our expectations let alone the reputation. When we said the sauce could have been better with mustard, the waitress said ' I don't think so'. She was insistantly asking if the food is good. Aspargus was mushy just out of freezer, microwaved. Meat quality was good. So it is not worth traveling 30 minutes by car from Termezzo except that you enjoy a drive on winding Italian village roads.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nobu826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Bleu also viewed

Sala Comacina, Lake Como
Sala Comacina, Lake Como
 
Sala Comacina, Lake Como
Sala Comacina, Lake Como
 

Been to Taverna Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing