We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views, but sadly lacking in everything else”
Review of Crotto Di Gittana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crotto Di Gittana
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Perledo
Reviewed September 14, 2013

If we were assessing the view alone, this restaurant would easily warrant 6 out of 5, having one of the best, indeed, superb views over Lake Como. Unfortunately, Mother Nature was unable to help with the quality of the reception, the service, or the food. We were greeted by two sniggering teenage girls who had to 'check with the Manager' for any question we asked. The manager himself appeared to be a surly, mute, figure, slumped in a corner - unable even to register our presence. The service was very poor and the food, which for the price, should have been spectacular, was equally so (a lamb dish was practically inedible). If you want a view, and don't particularly care about the food or service, come here. Otherwise, save your £100 plus, and spend it somewhere where the view may not be so spectacular, but the staff seem to appreciate your custom.

Stayed: July 2013
4  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Crotto Di Gittana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 49 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place is truly amazing! With only three rooms located in the hills of Perledo you are well protected from the tourist masses sorrounding the small towns by the shores of Lake Como. Still Varenna, with ferry connection to Bellagio and the other tourist attractions, is just a 5 minute drive.

The restaurant is the corner stone of this place, and the dining experience is unforgettable. Everything from the cold cuts via the salted and grilled local herring like fish through to the roasted rabbit and white chocolate mousse is prepared to perfection and served with care and skill. And the breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake, accompanied with the best coffee I've had in Italy and fresh croissants was the perfect start to any day!

The view is stunning, rooms renovated just a few years ago, clean and really comfortable. We ordered a organioc bottle of Presecco for our arrival, which was served nice and chilled in our room accompanied by a basket of fresh strawberries. The personal and attentive service is the winning recipe of the Crotto. From the second we stepped in to the reception we really didn't want to leave.

Will definately go back. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HakonRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Crotto di Gittana is a true gem in Lago di Como. Outstanding hospitality by the owner, first-class food and a warm welcome which has been one of a kind. I cannot praise this place highly enough. The room was sparkling clean with a stunning view plus a free mini bar as well as fresh fruits and snacks.
Lago di Como is extremely touristy and a bit too busy for my taste, thus, Crotto di Gittana was our oasis of peace and great value for money - what a welcome contrast to all the tourist traps you are quite likely to encounter!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

After 3 nights in Menaggio on business, it was only a short ferry trip and car journey to the hotel. Although the narrow winding road up to the hotel was initially a challenge, over the following 5 days we mastered the art, and would recommend this location to anyone who is fit enough to climb some stairs on reaching the hotel.
The welcome was very friendly and sincere, and the room and restaurant facilities were excellent. We used the hotel as a base to walk to Bellano, Varenna and Esino Lario from, as well as taking the car into Varenna for trips to Como, Bellagio and Lake tours.
Breakfasts on the terrace in the morning listening to Pavarotti, and of course Mauro our waiter and host for most of the time, will be unforgettable. Hopefully my suggestions of Run Rig and Capercaillie, as well as Eva Cassidy will add to the musical variety at meal times. Mauro always had time to stop and chat whatever the time, and full of information on the local, and not so local, area.
Thank you Francesca and Mauro, please thank everyone for such a great week.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aloggy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Even though the climb to the hotel was a little difficult we loved every moment of our stay in this stylish hotel. Rooms were big and clean with lovely panoramic views, the breakfast was great with fresh croissants, cakes, cheese and ham and let's not forget the proper coffee! Service was friendly and excellent. I would recommend this place to anyone who likes to have a real relaxing stay in the Como area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hezarfenhatunçelebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

A beautiful, stylish hotel with large rooms, amazing views and ery friendly service. Even though we were late, somebody came in his car to open the doors for us and offered us a welcome drink. We were able to appreciate the full view in the sun light next morning. We noticed the top quality materials were used in the building, tiles, bathroom, furniture, furnishings, sheets etc. the rooms were clean and spacious. Absolutely loved the place, inspite of the hard drive to climb up here. A great place to relax and the breakfast was lovely too.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErtanAkgul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed at Crotto di Gittana for 3 nights in september. The view was great, the room was kept clean, and the breakfast was really nice (not a buffet but served to the table). We ate outside every morning and enjoyed the view over the lake Como. The fridge beverages and fruits are added daily to room without charge. Truly a beautiful place to stay at and the lake's surroundings offer great views. We also enjoyed the dinner one time, sadly we couldn't find time for another dinner at the Crotto. The house has only three guestrooms so we had a quiet stay. The condition of the room was spotless. No bad comments can be made. The Crotto is little bit hard to reach by car: The road from the lake shore was the most narrow road I remember I have ever driven on (including many roads in the Alps on this same trip), so I cannot recommend to take this route (eventhough I knew this I had to try this once...). If someone will come from opposite direction it is very difficult to get past (probably in worst case backing up tens of meters of mountain road). It is better to use the other road which leaves up to the hills from Perledo.
The closest town from the hotel, Perledo, was also one of the nicest villages around, so in that sence this location at the center of the lake is also good. We always drove to Perledo, but I guess that the walk is a little bit rough 2 kilometres up/down the hill. Perledo also has a ferry port, so it is quite easy to get around the lake from there (even with a car).
This place offers a great alternative to larger hotels, really an idyllic stay. Also they have plenty enough parking space for the guests. We will definetly come back to lake Como and possibly also to Crotto di Gittana! I send my best regards to the staff of Crotto di Gittana for keeping up the good work!

Room Tip: I guess all the rooms are with lake view...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perledo
1.2 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
438 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#3 of 6 in Varenna
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
489 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
423 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crotto Di Gittana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crotto Di Gittana

Address: Via Del Verde, 8, 23828 Perledo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Perledo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Perledo
Price Range: $148 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Crotto Di Gittana 1.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crotto Di Gittana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crotto Di Gittana Italy/Perledo, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing