We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2010

My husband, daughter and I just returned from a 6 day stay at this hotel and once again, we loved it! Our room was superior, with views I keep reliving in my mind. The location of this hotel is great and we just adore the staff, especially Franco, Umberto and Kareem. They will go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and comfortable.

This fall was our third trip to Moltrasio and this hotel and it won't be our last. It's a little piece of heaven on earth!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcteske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 846 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2010

First impressions of the hotel were disappointing. For all the grandeur of the website photos, there are rooms behind the beautiful building in the pictures are in a VERY modern building that apparently provides a lot of service for tour bus travelers and have a view of the lake only if you strain your neck to look down the street. Additionally, there are no non-smoking rooms (or at least we couldn't find one there) so the stale smoke smell permeated the bedding and the A/C was off for the month so every decibel of street noise came right into our open-windowed room. The management was not especially helpful in finding a place for lunch as they sent us to their own in-hotel restaurant which was closed! Thankfully, the gentlemen servers in the bar provided us with a couple of sandwiches and a salad. The best part of the hotel is the affiliated restaurant, Restaurante Imperialino (see review), where we had one of the best meals of our week long tour of the Lakes. Moltrasio is a fine little town, with a canal that roars with water when it rains. Bells chime from the church, houses cling to the hillside, and it is a good beginning to stop and get your bearings for a driving trip around the lake. Make sure you know where your room is located when you book, if the A/C is on or off (apparently, Italian govt. requires the A/C be turned off for two months and most hotels choose September!), and if the restaurant(s) are opened or closed. The ferries do stop here and you can tour the southern end of the lake or get to Como and take the high speed boat to Bellagio/Varenna/ Mennagio area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHI1995, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Imperiale, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2010

Dear Guest,
thank you for reviewing our hotel, I’m really sorry you were not fully satisfied of your staying at the Grand Hotel Imperiale.
I think the first Impressions have contributed to give you bad feeling with the hotel and this is mainly the reason of the rate below our average.
The Grand Hotel Imperiale originally built in 1926 was opened in 1995 from a project of architect Terragni with the Idea to combine the Liberty style of the beginning of the century with the Rational stile.
It’s a unique style, subjected to personal taste. I find a plus the possibility to choose the classic style in the room located In the Villa Imperiale and the modern style of the room in the main building.
I can understand you recommendation to check carefully because is it difficult booking trough the web to have a clear idea of the structure in advance. I suggest is to check on our web site to have a more clear idea or to contact us directly when you made the reservation.
Regarding the problem occurred you staying:
Sorry to sent you to a closed restaurant, we have usually one restaurant open at lunch time, it happened to us to have both closed just couple of time in the year for maintenance or exceptional events.
Smoking room: all the hotel is no-smoking. We always tell that to the guest that request us to smoke. Anyway I promise you to put more clear sign for that.
A/C from the 18th of September we turned the A/C off. The temperature outside was in the day 22C° (71,5F) and in the night 14C° (57F). With this condition we turn the heating on. Anyway I guess your staying was before that date, so I don’t know why it was not working. I’m sorry but I’m not able to find out more on that. Problem with the A/C could occur but it is really rare in our hotel as we have a very efficient system since few years. Please contact to can give more information on that.
This will help us in training the staff and to give a better service.
If you have a chance to come back please contact me at butti@imperialemoltrasio.it.
Next time I promise a perfect staying with us.
Kindest regards,
Umberto Butti
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

My fiance and I decided we wanted to do something different for our wedding and get married overseas (we are from Australia). We decided on Italy and narrowed our options down to Lake Como. We found Hotel Imperiale on the web. From the first time we phoned they were excellent. We dealt with Umberto over the phone and via email and from the start he was great, always got back to us with questions, he organised everything for us, celebrant, flowers, music and a fabulous reception with beautiful food. We knew we were taking a risk organising a wedding at a venue we had never been to, but this gamble paid off big time. Pictures really don't translate the hotel or lake como, from the moment we arrived it exceeded our expectations. We had 45 guests all staying at the hotel from a wednesday to Sunday, everyone loved it and It was a magical holiday for everyone. The staff were all friendly and really looked after us. Its charming and classy in a beautiful setting with everything you would need (the pool is great). There are a few other little restaurants and cafes very close by that are great as well. The hotel is well positioned on the lake only 15 minutes from Como with the ferry on the hotel doorstep. We had friends and family from Australia, England, Ireland and America of all ages and everyone had an amazing experience. The cost was a lot cheaper than we would have imagined and we really got a piece of heaven without paying the earth for it. If you're after a romantic escape or like us a wedding with a difference you can't go wrong with Hotel Imperiale, its stunning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomasmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

This is our second time staying at this hotel as during our first year we loved it. This year the rooms seem not as clean and need some updating. The pro's include the serenity of this small town. Also, the pool that overlooks the lake is breathtaking and the hotel has great service at the front desk.

However, the con's are as follows we rented a movie on the televisions in the room both this year and last year and they didn't work. The restaurant in the hotel imperialino is beautiful and sits on the lake however the prices are expensive and the portions are very small. We booked a driver through the hotel and he was good but extremely expensive and we had to pay cash as the hotel would not let us reserve it on the room without charging us extra. The pool bar service was good however they changed the menu so it is very limited and you can't really go many places as there are only two restaurants in the town. Also they won't give you more than one towel at the pool where last year you could have as much as you want. Essentially if you want to swim in the lake you need to sit in the sun on your wet towel. Finally, the gym is terrible. There are two cardio machines and the gym is dirty and full of flies. This is a 4 star hotel but the facilities need some immediate updating. Also the wifi is not included and for the price you pay it should be. all the other hotels we stayed in italy included it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We were two couple on vacation. We booked vacation eight months in advance and did our research. We paid extra for the villa and our companions paid extra for the fifth floor of the main hotel. A slightly sour beginning when they assigned our companions a room on a lower floor although they had paid for fifth floor. Hotel is absolutely beautiful with excellent staff (including housekeeping). Compared to Villa D'Este, it is very reasonable. The hotel is next to the boat dock so trips to Como and Bellagio were very convenient. The breakfast was first rate. We didn't eat at the restaurants as we went across the street to a smaller hotel's restaurant, which was excellent. We had a car so the short drive to Cernobbio, which has five or six good restaurants was convenient. However, I would recommend hiring a taxi if you don't have a car and visiting the restaurants in Cernobbio. Since both couples had arranged and paid for terrific rooms, I can't comment on the lesser rooms that don't have spectacular views. So, I recommend you spend for the better rooms, especially in the Villa and it will be an amazing vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norris59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We traveled here with a large group of friends and family of about 35 adults and about 10 children ranging from 1 to 16. We were there for a wedding held at the hotel. I traveled there 4 weeks before the wedding to confirm details and arrangements for the wedding and in total stayed for 8 days in 2 different rooms. I was given a full tour of all of the types of rooms by the extremely helpful and very relaxed hotel manager Umberto. The hotel has 3 different types of accommodation, an older grand building with stunning rooms and large balconies. Set back is the main part of the hotel and a much newer conversion all with appropriately priced varying rates. Personally these rooms are a little bland but i had no intention of spending much time in my room. The location where the ceremony was held was beyond anything that you could ask for and provided the most spectacular back drop for photos. The hotel organised the flowers which left me slightly concerned, when they arrived they were more than you could ever ask for and extremely well priced!
On my first visit we ate at the restaurant Imperialino which was OK. Cocktails and panini by the pool are great and also very well priced. The staff at the hotel are friendly and hard working, it is not unusual to see the same staff at breakfast and then dinner and still being friendly.

The only strong words of advice is that if you are going to eat out you may want to travel to Chernobio which is about 15 euro by cab or an amazing ferry trip. Both the restaurant Posta (part of the small hotel posta) which is next door and the pizza at the lido which is across the road was a horrible experience. At both places we felt like an imposition and they really did not care for our business at all. At Posta we saw the waiter leave on his motorbike with customers still sitting in the restaurant, there was no one to be seen for a good 20 minutes leaving us and other customers looking at each other a little bemused. The second time we went there we were ignored and then yelled at by an older waitress. We went to book a table at the lido pizza bar and when asked if they had a table the waiter simply and rudely said NO and walked away with out explanation. Both of these experiences left us feeling disappointed from our movement outside the walls of the hotel. On the last night the Hotel Imperial staff recommended that we try Giordanos (also a small 3 star hotel) in Chernobio, needless to say this reinstalled our faith in great service and spectacular food. Highly recommended!!!!

Apart from the surly staff at nearby restaurants this was a great trip and perfect for a large group/family.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVLMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stayed here 6th August (my daughters 10th birthday). From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special as was my daughter!!! A delightful hotel - the staff are amazing - so polite, friendly and accomodating! The family room we booked was a fab size with the two kids having almost a seperate room - a central shower room was a treat and the view was lovely. A secure private car park a few yards from the hotel entrance. The location is to die for..........right on Lake Como with dinner served alongside in such a beautiful setting. As it was my daughters birthday I asked for a cake to be made for her and i must say i was SO impressed. We ate dinner in the tempiale di cupido (temple of cupid) a stone temple with 1 table for four in it and a glass of prosecco to start was very welcomed! The food was excellent but it was more about the service for me - menus with prices for the men and none for the ladies, domed dishes which the waiters lifted at the optimum moment, a great atmosphere and attention to detail that some UK hotels should look up and learn from!
One tiny gripe - the pool was small and too many people around it but i was there for 1 night and could cope! Breakfast in the morning was superb and served in the garden which was delightful..........a big thanks to this hotel for making a perfect 1 night stay for my daughter sensational!!! xx
I would reccommend this for ANYONE - romantic couples, families, elderly, in fact anyone!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moltrasio
13.6 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
466 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
901 reviews
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
829 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
512 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Imperiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Imperiale

Address: Via Regina Vecchia 24, 22010 Moltrasio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Moltrasio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Price Range: $117 - $1,245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Imperiale 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Moltrasio on the shores of Lake Como, Grand Hotel Imperiale Resort & SPA is a Resort of great charm located 5 minute drive from Cernobbio, 35 minute from Malpensa Airport and 40 from Milan. The wellness & beauty center I-SPA, the lakeside pool, the gourmet Restaurant Imperialino and the luxurious rooms, some set in the Villa Imperiale and others in the Grand Hotel, make this Resort the ideal destination for Italian and international tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Imperiale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Imperiale Moltrasio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing