We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

For about EURO 200 per night, you do not get what one would expect. Service is okay, rooms are okay, but location is great when it comes to wanting something secluded and close to the Lake Pier to take a boat. It is close to Lake Como central. The breakfast was nothing to write home about as we had the same breakfast for 5 days in a row, no change in the menu ...... service was friendly by the waiters. There is a superb restaurant about 5 minutes walk from the main road of the hotel, do not have the name of the restaurant, but one would have to climb a few steps to get to it, but worth every penny, average about EURO 60 for two.

Would not book at this hotel again for that price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the lake view and with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 838 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

With a name like'Grand Imperiale' in a place like Lake Como you expect romance, luxury and old world charm with beautiful views of the lake and this place delivers on all counts. It's not cheap ( particularly if you stay in the Villa Imperiale) but I feel that it was worth it. We stayed in the newly renovated 'deluxe' room, with lake view and balcony. It was large, the bed spanned over three pillow widths and was covered by a crisp white summer weight duvet. Immaculately clean with a well appointed new bathroom.... complete with choice of coloured mood lighting in the shower, robes, slippers etc. No coffee facilities or bath in the room but other than that pretty flawless. Other reviewers have mentioned the fact that it is not directly on the lake. This is true, the reception and majority if the rooms are set back around 100-200 metres from the lake. However, the lovely grounds of the hotel, restaurant, pool area etc are linked to the lake by a small underpass which runs under a small road. I think, that to complain about the position of this hotel you'd have to be pretty pedantic. It is positioned in a small hamlet, directly opposite a stop for taxi boats/ tour boats,in private mature gardens filled with jasmine. Our room had gorgeous views of the lake. The piano bar has romantic old charm and the restaurant imperiale ( which is on the lake) is intimate and romantic with delicious food and excellent service. Fancy enough to feel special but not stuffy or pretentious. Really very enjoyable. The reception of the hotel is modern, the carpets in the hall are new and bland and these areas lack charm but the other communal areas of the hotel are very nice and charming. The spa in the hotel looks very nice, though we didn't use it, despite it being included in the price of the room. We caught a train from Milan to como and then a 25 euro taxi to the hotel. In hindsight an 8 euro boat ride directly to the dock at Montralsio would have been as easy and more scenic. Either way it's very easy to reach the hotel from Como. All In all we were very happy with the standard of our spacious, clean, beautifully decorated room. The lake view was lovely and the few roof tops between our balcony and the water didn't detract. I would happily recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Came w/ a group tour for a week. Staff was courteous and hotel was very clean.
Our rooms were nothing fancy, just simple and clean. If you are traveling from the USA, bring washcloths as they do not use them in Italy! Free WiFi was included in our stay, but only one tablet/smartphone can be connected at a time which was a bit of a hassle.
The area where the hotel is located is very pretty and quiet. Not much to choose from as far a restaurants or shopping, but the ferry dock is just outside the hotel and can easily get to Como for dining and shopping. The breakfast at the hotel was decent and the service was good. All in all, it was a pleasant stay in a beautiful area.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank BreezyBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

As we were on a tour we only stayed one night. The room and bathroom were very good. We had a view of the lake from our room. We ate in the Lakeside restaurant and the food was delicious. The staff were friendly All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watercolourpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

On the website the hotel looks to be on the beach, yet the main building is behind a through road. Rooms are tiny, TV is tiny and actually not a TV but a computer display. We arrived on a hot day and there was no air condition available in the rooms, because it's not yet season, excuse me. Mic hotel but too expensive for what it offers.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Frankth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHI1995, Direttore at Grand Hotel Imperiale, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you to give me the opportunity to explain that the Grand Hotel Imperiale Resort & SPA has
121 rooms with 4 categories : classic (the less expensive ones) like the room you have booked, superior lake view and balcony,
deluxe-spa rooms and deluxe-villa rooms directly to the pool and the lake, presidential suite and junior suites.
For each room category, as in all the hotel in the world, there are different amenities and different rates!
In the website you can clearly see that there is a road between the main Building and the lake side area with Villa Imperiale, panoramic pool and restaurant.
This is a secondary road : the panoramic Via Vecchia Regina!
Furthermore to reach the lake side area the guest of Grand Hotel Imperiale do not need to cross the road because there is nice a passage under it.
So the title of your comment is not correct!
Your sincerely
Silvestro De Bolfo
Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I chose this hotel to spend a two-day break just before a conference in Milano. The taxi driver who drove us there straight from Malpensa airport had some difficulty in finding it, but we enjoyed the drive around Como, being on holiday and not tired! Our room was a penthouse classic room on the 4th floor, with a wonderful view over the lake, well decorated, although small, with a well loaded mini bar. The reception was efficient and quick, extremely helpful and kind. We tried both the restaurants of the hotel, which were first class gourmet restaurants with first class, friendly (but not too friendly) service. The restaurant across the street, named Imperialino, has a wonderful garden and balcony over the lake. The main restaurant of the hotel, in the main building, has a nice view to the garden. We also tried the Veranda Restaurant, in a small hotel named "La Posta" next door, which was another pleasant gourmet surprise. The boat station is right in front of the hotel, which is very handy if you want to cruise around the lake. Would definitely come back and I would recommend it to all friends travelling in the Lake Como area.

Room Tip: You will definitely need a room with lake view, no matter how small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TimTerzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHI1995, Direttore at Grand Hotel Imperiale, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Tim,
thank you very much for your positive feedback.
The best reward for us is when guests leave our Hotel with a good experience.
We hope to welcome you again in the next future.

Silvestro De Bolfo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had an absolutely great stay in the hotel. The staff are very helpful and make it a point to remember your name which is really nice considering it is a larger hotel. The rooms are very nice and the views over the lake are wonderful. We also visited the gym and sauna and this is one of the nicest saunas I have been too in that they have a lot of little neat features to make it special and memorable. I wont mention what they are so that you get the experience without knowing beforehand. ;) The gym is small but has all the key things needed like running equipment and weights which was great. The breakfast is also very nice with a large variety of things to choose from.

Are only frustration in leaving was that considering that the hotel has its own private parking garage, we were frustrated by the 20 Euros charge per night to stay there. Its a really large parking lot, and I do appreciate that there is limited parking in the area, but I would rather see more of an all-inclusive approach from a hotel of this calibre than to have to pay for items on departure.

Otherwise I want to leave this on a positive note because we had such a nice stay there and were very relaxed and at ease. We will most certainly consider staying again in the summer so that we can enjoy the pool and stay in one of the nice villas on the lake instead of staying in the main hotel building.

Room Tip: stay in a villa or get a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve_WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHI1995, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Imperiale, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Steve,

I reported to our staff your review. It's very important for us to have feedbacks about our job to understand better what our customers like and all their expectations.
Regarding the garage, we will improve our communication to the people arriving by car. It shouldn't be a surprise the cost of the garage and the free options have to be more clear to everyone.

We have packages on our website with an "all inclusive" approach with parking included.

Far 300 mt. from the Hotel there is a public free parking space.

I'm sorry about the little drawback and I would like to thank you for your contribution to improve the service of the Grand Hotel Imperiale.

Special thanks also from our Staff that is very glad with me to welcome you again this summer.

Umberto Butti
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moltrasio
3.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
896 reviews
13.6 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
462 reviews
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
11.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Imperiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Imperiale

Address: Via Regina Vecchia 24, 22010 Moltrasio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Moltrasio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Price Range: $124 - $1,149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Imperiale 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Moltrasio on the shores of Lake Como, Grand Hotel Imperiale Resort & SPA is a Resort of great charm located 5 minute drive from Cernobbio, 35 minute from Malpensa Airport and 40 from Milan. The wellness & beauty center I-SPA, the lakeside pool, the gourmet Restaurant Imperialino and the luxurious rooms, some set in the Villa Imperiale and others in the Grand Hotel, make this Resort the ideal destination for Italian and international tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Imperiale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Imperiale Moltrasio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing