We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful haven on lake como”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed 2 nights and wished I had booked longer, arrived into Milan and was a short drive to
Moltrasio . The location is tucked away from he busy crowds of Como and Bellagio but for
me that's what made it so special. The hotel is right on the water and has the most serene
views of the lake, we had originally booked a junior suite in the original part of the hole but
as our flight arrived at 6.30am we were offered 2 executive rooms adjoining for check in as
soon as we arrived. Had great views over the lake, the rooms are standard throughout but
it really didn't matter because the views we're so special. You will need to either have a car
or be prepared to catch the ferry to get around,but again if you want a quiet stay this s the
trade off. Highly recommend dinner at the hotel restaurant by the water, very memorable
when the lake lights up at night.
Loved the serenity of the location would definitely stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SylvMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 856 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed with my wife at the Grand Imperial in Aug 2012 through Rivera travel. My holiday was totally ruined by the poorly cooked food and the arrogant attitude of the head waiter in the residents restaurant. Strangely, I feel sure this effort was totally reserved for the guests of Rivera Travel, only because they had negotiated such a keen deal with this hotel for their use of it. The hotel in turn had used the economies of scale, to make the deal profitable enough for them to have taken on such a group booking. Our menu for dinner was consequently limited in each course to two choices, off the far more extensive residents menu. Dinner was served at 7.30 sharp, and was comprised of either over or under cooked food, which after our orders were taken, it took some two and a half hours to serve. The far end of the restaurant was reserved for us on tables of six, which meant guests who wanted to sit alone, were not accomadated for and any groups of friend of six such as our selves who wanted to sit on the same table, unless we were prepared to rush into the restaurant to secure a table, were going to have to fill up empty spaces on other tables. Having been in business in the public sector all my life, the implications of how businesses react poorly, always come down to profitability. To this extent, anyone contemplating visiting the Grand Imperial should be mindful of how they will feel, when they are subjected to watching other guests in this hotel being offered a superior menu choice and service, in the same restaurant. There was no obvious recourse, for us to redress our unfortunate position, without loosing the value of what Rivera had paid for us. During our stay, we were so incensed by what happened on our forty forth wedding anniversary, the head waiter having repeatedly shouted no! When we suggested, they could perhaps push two smaller tables together on this special occasion, so we could sit together with our friends. We embarrassingly managed to out face this cowardly individual on this occasion, but on our last night, our party expensively passed on the joys of eating at the residents restaurant. I should mention fairly that this hotel was excellent in all other respects.

Room Tip: Make sure you know how Rivera Travel have negotiated your stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank horseman186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in the Hotel Imperiale, and enjoyed our entire trip. I was attending a scientific meeting in Taverno, which was an easy water taxi trip from the convenient dock in front of the hotel. We were upgraded to a nice room with an updated bathroom and a very large balcony from which we had a nice view of the lake. Service was outstanding - we had multiple questions throughout our stay and the front staff were always willing to assist, from explaining the water taxi system to printing out PDFs and boarding passes, arranging transportation, and suggesting side trips. We only had breakfasts in the hotel, which consisted of a buffet that had great pastries and bread but only adequate other dishes. There is a new spa on site, with modern exercise equipment, treatment rooms and whirlpools/sauna/steam. The hotel pool sits above the lake and was refreshing on a hot day.

The town of Moltrasio is not sufficient to warrant a visit, but the lake conveniently has access to Bellagio, Como and a multitude of other sites that were delightful to explore. You can either take the usual boat, which is leisurely (1.5 hours to Bellagio) or the hydrofoil (30" to Bellagio). My wife was able to do quite a bit of sightseeing, as well as take a cooking class in Bellagio where pasta was the dish of focus (apparently only after a lengthy discussion of the virtues of olive oil).

Overall, the hotel was a fantastic base from which we explored much of Lake Como, yet were able to relax with the ammenities of the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 999John999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are simple but clean. We were given an upgrade to a lake view room which added to our experience. The nicest thing about this hotel is the outstanding service. Everyone went out of their way to help us. While everyone was great, Mario was especially helpful with arrangements. We were continuing on to Venice for the second part of our trip, and Mario even helped us with activities there which we needed to reserve in advance, when our Venice hotel wouldn't. The location is very good, about halfway between Como and Bellagio, and right next to the cute town of Cernobbio. We got a better rate calling the hotel directly than by reserving on the internet. One thing to be careful about is to confirm what is included up front - breakfast, parking etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBuff3338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed as part of a big group for a wedding on the lake. The rooms are great but not too spacious. The highlight is definitely the pool on the lake which is connected to the hotel by a short underground passage. Choosing your room can be quite tricky though. I stayed in a lake view room with a partial view of the lake. The hotel is divided into 3 sections. The main building, the new SPA wing, and the villa. The villa is right over the pool and has an uninterrupted view of the lake. Pricey but worth it if you are there to take in the views. In th main building where I stayed, there are lake view rooms and garden view ones. Honestly it is NOT worth paying more for the lake view rooms in the main building because the lake is quite far and there is no clear view. So you might as well pay much less and stay in the rooms without the view in the main bldg. However, my suggestion is staying in the new spa wing with modern and huge rooms with wonderful state of the art toilets equipped with walk in showers. Even though they have no view I would def. stay in one of those next time. I felt quite shafted when I paid 850 euros for 3 nights in my small old room with a partial lake view while my friends paid 640 euros for their huge modern rooms. All in all though, the hotel is great and staff are extremely helpful and friendly, would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnalogueJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here with some of my family for my brother's wedding. The hotel was beautiful and our room was on the 1st floor and was overlooking the lake to the right beside the pool. On the whole the staff were very friendly including the bar staff. We just had one instance where a member of staff was not so helpful. Our room was very welcoming and clean - large walk in shower and our balcony was a good size. Breakfast was not included in our stay but we did take a look one of the mornings and the choice looked very good. We ate at a little cafe (can't remember the name just now) just beside the hotel that did breakfast for 5 euro which consisted of orange juice, coffee or tea, a toasted sandwich with melted parmesan cheese and parma ham and a croissant. You could also have fresh melon which was beautiful. Lovely pizzeria also just where the ferry would dock and not too expensive. We hired a car and took a trip into como town - beautiful. Lots of restaurants and cafe's and in Duomo the Cathedral is a beautiful to visit. For the wedding itself we took in a few trips to places on the lake, the Villa Balbianello where scenes for the movie Casino Royale were shot and the old Church in Varenna (where the wedding took place) was spectacular. The ferry does take trips up and down the lake but I am not sure what the cost was. I would recommend lake como and the hotel for that matter, for couples, as the pace on the lake is so relaxed and to bring the kids would be too much hassle.....

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room or a room with a terrace or balcony. These rooms tend to be on the bigger s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eve031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here with a tour group with Riviera travel. The hotel was clean, comfy beds and staff were good. I do, however, feel that people using this hotel as part of a travel group, get a second class service. Our rooms were adequate, but balcony looked like a buggy/ wheelchair lift at the local leisure centre! Certainly there was no room for chair or table.
We had half board, but this amounted to a choice of 2 for starters (pasta or rice) and a choice of 2 for mains ( meat or fish). There was a lovely restaurant as part of the hotel where the food was completely different class. The evening meal took from 7.30 - 10.00 every night! But being as there was nowhere else to go in the village this was not too bad. The village was a dissappointment - there was nowhere to walk by the lake.
The swimming pool overlooked the lake and was lovely. Wifi was €20 for 24 hours!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moltrasio
3.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
919 reviews
13.6 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
474 reviews
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
836 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
13.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Griso Lecco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Imperiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Imperiale

Address: Via Regina Vecchia 24, 22010 Moltrasio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Moltrasio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Price Range: $119 - $772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Imperiale 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Moltrasio on the shores of Lake Como, Grand Hotel Imperiale Resort & SPA is a Resort of great charm located 5 minute drive from Cernobbio, 35 minute from Malpensa Airport and 40 from Milan. The wellness & beauty center I-SPA, the lakeside pool, the gourmet Restaurant Imperialino and the luxurious rooms, some set in the Villa Imperiale and others in the Grand Hotel, make this Resort the ideal destination for Italian and international tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Imperiale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Imperiale Moltrasio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing