We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous hotel... we will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Certificate of Excellence
Australia, Gold Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fabulous hotel... we will return”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

By chance we got one of the last two rooms available here. We were travelling with our 10year old daughter and needed to stay where we could relax by a pool and enjoy the lake.
The Hotel did not disappoint us in anyway. From the moment we arrived to the day we left the staff were so happy and friendly and would do anything to help. Special thanks to Moudi,Karim and Diego and the manager Franco.
The breakfasts were fabulous with eggs, bacon, fruits, and the crossants were the best we had ever tasted.
We enjoyed happy hour every evening that included complimentary plates of bruscetta, chips, olives etc.
Dinner was beautiful one of the best fish dishes we have ever eaten. We ate at the lake side restaurant which was a little expensive (main meal approx $30AUD)but affordable and all the meals were brilliant/amazing.
It was what we needed for 3 nights. I would stay here again. Other reviews say that this hotel is overpriced for what it is...but hey it's Lake Como! It's not a place to come to if you are watching your pennies!We wanted to enjoy the view and the sunshine and eat and drink what we wanted and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    282
    127
    38
    13
See reviews for
150
369
9
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed here with Riviera Travel for a week. We were given a lake view even though we didnt ask for one which was lovely and the hotel itself is quite nice. The only downside was that, probably at Riviera's request, the evening meals were not particularly good. The food was ok, but there was no choice at all and if you asked for something different you were given a plate with a few pieces of cheese! Also although there was a lovely terrace outside which was laid for breakfast and dinner, Riviera clients were not allowed to sit out there, despite the fact that no-one else was using it. I would not recommend Moltrasio if you like to take a walk after dinner as there is nowhere to walk, apart from a few steps each way outside the hotel. It is right by the lake but nowhere to go. Far better to stay in Cernobbio which is just up the road.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gill100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I've spent 3 days for abusiness meeting at the Grand Hotel Imperiale. Very good locationwith a great view on the lake, although the view from the rooms was somewhat limited. A few rooms have a great terrace, but the extra charged for the "balcony" (extra small!!) is not worth the money...
The service was outstanding, all staff always ready to make the extra effort to make you feel special.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tex68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Spent 3 nights here based on previous reviews. We didn't experience the great service that other trip advisers had written about. Felt that this hotel was over-priced and have received much better service from other 4star hotels. Rooms are ok, breakfast was ok, restaurant staff were rude.

The reception staff were excellent, very welcoming and happy to assist with any queries. What let us down was the service received at the restaurant. The food was great, and so was the view, but we felt like we were an inconvenience. A couple of the wait staff at breakfast were friendly but most were quite rude, and again made us feel unwelcome. The pool area is very small, not worth spending any time there

The positives are that the rooms are quiet. We were never woken by housekeeping. It is located very close to the ferry terminal to access the other towns on Lake Como. Moltrasio is a very small and pretty town, and it is great to walk up through the town and look back over the town and lake district.

To anyone visiting Lake Como, my advice would be to stay in Tremezzo or Bellagio. It can take more than an hour by ferry from Moltrasio to the centre of the lake district, and this hotel is not worth staying in to then have to travel up and down the lake and be restricted by the ferry timetable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KC2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Laglio boutique hotels offer better value, and Villa D'Este is far better at being a grand hotel. These are the options available 10 minutes in either direction from the Grand. I am sure it once lived up to it's name, but someone decided to develop a motel style building behind its original facade, and dropped standards throughout, starting with the dirty carpet at the entrance. My lake view room provided me with a spectaular view of the car park, and off to the left i could just about see the lake across the street..service and food were ok, pool desperately small, and staff discouraged swimming in the lake. Car park was very secure and clean, so my car had slightly better accommodation than I had, but i did have to pay €20 for that. I left after one night. ..i see no reason why anyone would stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrustInMoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Reading reviews on Tripadvisor had tempered expectations a bit. Was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

Stayed in the non villa building - but in the deluxe lake view rooms on the 5th floor. The fact that this category of room is set back from the lake towards the back of the main building was not a problem - the view of the lake was excellent as we were so high up. The room was modern and decent - had been refurbed in 2007 according to the website. Cannot speak for the rooms on other (lower) floors - maybe the lake view is obstructed.

Ate in the imperiale restaurant twice - good quality food and romantic setting by the lake. Service was a bit slow the second night but otherwise no complaints.

There were tour groups visiting but this wasnt an issue in terms of access to the pool (was pleased that we were always able to get sun loungers).

Other positives
Very friendly welcome by hotel staff on front desk. Very helpful with info on the lake + places to go.
My birthday fell during our stay - they brought a bottle of champagne which was very much unexpected and appreciated.
Internet worked well in our room
Decent pool right by the lake.
Good pizza joint next door on the public beach.

Paid 275 euros a night over a busy summer weekend. Overall very good value considering the view, the pool (lakeside) and the room itself. Feel we would have paid a lot more for 4 star+ in other towns / resorts. If lack of restaurants in moltrasio is an issue get a cab to next town over (15 euros or so each way).

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonNYCcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Well located on lake Como. The water buses leave from right next door which makes exploring the lake very easy.

I'd never been to the Italian lakes before. But they're beautiful. Well Lake Como is - Lake Garda much less so.

The hotel itself was fantastically well located either side of the lake road but there is a pedestrian underpass so there's no fear of being skittled. The breakfast room is indoor/outdoor depending on your mood and the weather. Our family room was a good size but round the back with views of a building site which I assume is a hotel extension in progress. No noise issues though and we were happy to spend our time either at the pool or cruising about the lake.

Parking is potentially an issue but there is a hotel carpark onsite although it is expensive 30 Euros a day or somesuch.

Top tip for hiring a motorboat - facing the lake head left along the main road for about 150 metres. The road climbs up a hill but stay on the low side where you will see signs for a boat club. Walk around the back of the boat club and there's a couple of guys there at a small (teeny) marina renting a selection of powerboats of varying horsepower by the hour. Great way to see the lake and reasonably fair value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moltrasio
11.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
11.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
374 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
811 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Imperiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Imperiale

Property: Grand Hotel Imperiale
Address: Via Regina Vecchia 24, 22010 Moltrasio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Moltrasio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Imperiale 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Moltrasio on the shores of Lake Como, Grand Hotel Imperiale Resort & SPA is a Resort of great charm located 5 minute drive from Cernobbio, 35 minute from Malpensa Airport and 40 from Milan. The wellness & beauty center I-SPA, the lakeside pool, the gourmet Restaurant Imperialino and the luxurious rooms, some set in the Villa Imperiale and others in the Grand Hotel, make this Resort the ideal destination for Italian and international tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Imperiale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Imperiale Moltrasio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing