We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Ciccia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mamma Ciccia
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
150 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very nice B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

On our trip through the north of Italy we were lucky to find this lovely B&B in a small village on the Como Lake. It is run by a very friendly Italian couple. The restaurant serves delicious dinners. The room we had was very nicely decorated. They offered us their bikes which was a nice way to see something of the surroundings and end the day with a refreshing swim in the lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mirjamreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    31
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
56
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Would recommend to anyone. The food is excellent, there is only a small menu but everything on it is so flavoursome. Also the people there are fantastic. And only too willing to help you. You are close to so many things, suc as water sports, shopping at bellagio, just a short ferry ride from the hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dtms4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This family run operation suited me very well, great location, great owners and great food. If you are a motorcycle fan and need a home base for a few days or a week, look no further, Mamma Ciccia accomidates you very well. Being from the US and speaking no Italian it was nice to have Sylvia around to translate, but all the staff were excellent. Oh yeah, a big plus, the breakfast was FANTASTIC!! I will be back, it will be nice to visit the family again! Rod Hunt – Paradise-Bound.net

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huntzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed two wonderful nights here. We journed around via bicycle and loved the local natural beauty. The room had a welcoming basket that included even a toothpaste packet-wow! The colors and art work in this B and B are uplifting and refreshing to look upon. The room was cozy with a view of the lake-though you have to walk many steps to get there(smile). Sylvia was amazing. She carried so many balls via the resturant and the accomadations. My daughter and I were extremely impressed. She also is very gracious and kind. The breakfast and dinner was delicous as well. I highly recommend this as a great get away from the crowds of Milan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marykweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful little B & B away from the maddening crowds. We loved Mandello Del Lario and Mama Ciccia. Had a delicious meal in restaurant, seafood ravioli was amazing.

Steps ++ to room, so pack light.

A few short steps to the most beautiful waterside promenade.

Easy access to the ferries and the other lakeside towns.

Silvia, a lovely host.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Mandello del Lario is a quiet town on the shores of Lake Como not as fancy or touristy as some but well situated between Varenna and Lecco. The hotel is simple and charming and we received a warm welcome. We parked outside while we unloaded our bags and then used a free car park five minutes walk away for the rest of our stay.

The room was clean and simple up three flights of stone steps, note there is no lift, an incentive to pack lightly. We enjoyed our stay although our meal in the attached restaurant was nothing special contrary to other reviews here. Perhaps we caught them on a poor night at Easter. Would recommend Mamma Ciccia for good value charming accommodation.

Room Tip: On the top floor are two rooms which share a sitting area making it into a mini apartment (minus coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Opplock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

In the heart of the historic centre. Easy to reach from the train station. We had a spacious apartment, which we did not expect. It turned out that our daughter was provided with a beautiful room of her own. Modern and cosy rooms in an old building. The restaurant offers delicious fine meals, although a lit bit pricy.
We found the town surprisingly pleasant and amusing. There was a summer festival with good food and dances.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Creamy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandello del Lario
16.3 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#1 of 7 in Gravedona
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Orso Bruno
Hotel Orso Bruno
#1 of 1 in Carate Urio
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
10.4 mi away
Agriturismo Al-Marnich
Agriturismo Al-Marnich
#1 of 1 in Schignano
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B Frontelago
B&B Frontelago
#2 of 12 in Mandello del Lario
5.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamma Ciccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamma Ciccia

Property: Mamma Ciccia
Address: Piazza Roma 15, 23826 Mandello del Lario, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Mandello del Lario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mandello del Lario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mamma Ciccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamma Ciccia Mandello Del Lario, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing