We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of B&B Frontelago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Frontelago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Maria & Pietro the perfect B&B Owners,

Rooms roustic style but in perfect condition, very clean and very tidy.
The place and the owners gives you the feeling that you are a guest in a freinds house and not in a B&B.

Great Breakfast in a very freindly atmosphere.

Great location just in front of the lake.

Maria gave some great tips for great routes in the sourouning mountains as well as places to eat and see.

Thank you Maria & Pietro, hope to see you again in the future.
Evgenios

Room Tip: We stayed at Tivano Room which had a lake view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Evgenios V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for B&B Frontelago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Frontelago was a great find and we loved every minute of our 5-day stay here. Pietro met us at the train station in Olcio, and he and his wife Maria were wonderful hosts and lots of fun. We had a fantastic view of the lake from our balcony - the room was great and bed was very comfortable. The house is beautiful - full of antiques and paintings and there's a little beach in front. The breakfasts were probably the best we've ever had at a B&B. Olcio is quiet - the train station is a few mins walk and it's easy to get to other towns around the lake by train and ferry - such as Bellagio, Varenna and Menaggio. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony and lake view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travels234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My friend and I went to Olcio last month and we stayed 4 days at B&B FRONTELAGO. We were welcome very friendly by the owners Pietro and Maria and we liked the place immediately. Our bedroom, called "La brezza", had a breathtaking view on the lake and we had a terrace, where we could stay reading and relaxing at evening. In the morning the breakfast was gorgeous. The village is an ancient one, with the railway station very near to the place. So we could easily go to Varenna, Milan and Bergamo by train. Maria kindly give us a lot of tips on where to go and what to do during our staying. Also a book with all the attractions of the Lake Como, complete with all information, which we found in the living room available to everybody, was very useful to organize our free time. During the day we always made trip in the area and when we came back home we went to the little beach right in front of our B&B. Moreover, not far from the B&B, is a family restaurant, where Mrs. Lucia prepares very good meals at only 13 Euro!!!! For a complete dinner included wine! Finally at 50 metres from the B&B there is a wonderful ice-cream saloon with a excellent homemade ice-cream. So we had a wonderful holiday and we surely will come back to Olcio. Of course to B&B FRONTELAGO at Maria and Pietro!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifull.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Topo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Banter, laughter and smiling faces are the memories of our stay at Frontelago. with the Lake Como across the road, it is a truly beautiful place to stay. Maria and Pietro give the warmest welcome and want to make each person's stay special. A true Italian home which is clean and very comfortable with the most wonderful breakfast. The large table is laden with homemade delicacies; savouries, cakes, meats, fruit, and rich, smooth coffee. We stayed for three days but would have liked longer. There was also the added bonus of the restaurant, half a kilometre along the road, where they provided a 3/4 course meal including a bottle of wine and bottle of water for 13 Euros per person! The train along Lake Como and beyond is only 5 mins walk from Frontelago. We shall definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the large balcony. It looks directly over the Lake.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The location of this B&B is perfect- right opposite the lake with wonderful views. There is a small bit of shingle beach to sit on too. Maria and Pietro are just so lovely and welcoming. They can't do enough to help you are were always so happy and friendly. The room we had was large with a large ensuite. Each morning the breakfast was varied and vast- yogurt, omlette, hams, cereal, melon, cakes and wonderful coffee. We had the most wonderful start to our honeymoon here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Maria and Pietro were very welcoming hosts, always greeting us with a big smile despite our lack of Italian and their lack of English. The house is full of lovely old antiques and our room was a good size with a massive bathroom. Our own balcony had a teriffic view of Lake Como, and you are within 8 kilometres of lovely Varenna (with its ferry to Bellaigo). Breakfasts were lovely with some home cooked goodies. All in all a wonderful Italian experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoGrumbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is one of the best places I've ever stayed in. It's full of character and the owners are just wonderful. It is right on the waterfront with a little area to swim/sunbathe just across the road and the train station is a few minutes away should you want to explore other towns along the lake. I couldn't recommend Frontelago more!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danzibarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandello del Lario
3.1 mi away
Park Hotel Abbadia
Park Hotel Abbadia
#1 of 1 in Abbadia Lariana
182 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mirabeau
Mirabeau
#1 of 1 in Civenna
107 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mamma Ciccia
Mamma Ciccia
#1 of 12 in Mandello del Lario
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Della Musica
Casa Della Musica
#5 of 12 in Mandello del Lario
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Frontelago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Frontelago

Address: Via Statale 182, 23826 Mandello del Lario, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Mandello del Lario
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mandello del Lario
Price Range: $100 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — B&B Frontelago 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Lecco branch of Lake Como, B&B Frontelago is right on the waterfront. It offers rooms and apartments with antique furniture, and a lake-view terrace where breakfast is served.Rooms here have a classic design with wooden or tiled floors and paintings on the walls. They feature an LCD TV with satellite channels and a private bathroom with hairdryer.You will find a comfortable shared lounge with fireplace, a large garden, and free Wi-Fi access in public areas. When booked, breakfast includes homemade cakes, cheese and cold cuts, and several sweet items.B&B Frontelago Lago Di Como is in Olcio, 2 km north of Mandello del Lario. A small beach is located across the street. Free parking is provided and Olcio Train Station is 300 metres away for trains to Varenna, Sondrio and Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your B&B Frontelago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Frontelago Mandello Del Lario, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing