We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, from beginning to end”
Review of Hotel Villa Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Aurora
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lezzeno
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic, from beginning to end”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have just spent 5 nights in a villa suite at this lovely hotel. It was perfection....there were really no negatives to complain about.
THE ROOM
Our villa junior suite was quiet, restful and right on the water. No traffic noise at all!
The decor was modern and clean looking with comfy chairs, a comfortable bed, a large modern bathroom (no bath, but a large shower) and best of all, magical views over Lake Como. We even had snow capped mountains in the distance!! It was too good to leave. There was a sun deck for villa patrons only.
The hotel rooms looked good too, although maybe not quite as modern. Just make sure you get one with lake views.
TRANSPORT
We drove and there was free parking. Great!
The local bus is quite regular and inexpensive but be warned that if you had a lot of luggage you may have a problem fitting on. It is a small local bus and can get quite crowded.. Fine for smallish bags though.
FOOD
Breakfast was good...nothing to rave about, but fresh and plentiful.
The attached restaurant for lunch and dinner, is wonderful.
Beautiful views, beautiful food and beautiful staff.
They managed to make me great gluten free food every night and did so with care and thoughtfulness. This really added a lot to my holiday experience.
WOULD WE RETURN?
Definitely!!! Already planning when we can come back.
Thank you to Margarita and all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKKSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    132
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
125
449
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Aurora for 2 nights whilst visiting como. We had a room in the new part, 201, and we opened our window directly onto the lake. It was wonderful lying in the morning listening to the lapping waves. Margherita was a fantastic host and very helpful and friendly. We ate in the resturant and the food was good and great, friendly service. My wife had the best lasagne in Italy!! Breakfast was continental buffet which was good. Lezzeno is a few k's from bellagio and there is a ferry stop not too far away. We had a car but really spent the two days relaxing and hired to hotels boat for a tour on the lake which was great. They also do water sports and have a floating area to sit in the sun. Overall great location, very welcoming, good food and a few extra things to top it off. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theindulgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was our second stay at Hotel Villa Aurora.
This time we stayed in the luxurious rooms of the villa, with our own balcony overlooking the dazzling shores of magnificent Lake Como. I celebrated my 60th birthday, during our stay and had family and friends join us at the hotel. Marguerita and all the staff did an amazing job with the birthday dinner, the table decorations, the service and even organized an Italian version of Bruce Springsteen to entertain us...fantastico!
I love the fact that this is a family run hotel. The service is very friendly and efficient. The breakfasts are very generous and the food at the restaurant, excellent. It is very convenient too, to have the availability of the separate bar, which serves drinks and snacks.
The ferry service is only a ten minute walk away and from here you can visit all the surrounding towns. Como, Bellagio and Vareena are a must! There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance from the hotel, but it is hard to beat Hotel villa Aurora's own restaurant!
I strongly recommend this hotel, for a comfortable, well run, well priced and well located establishment.
Thank-you to all the staff for a wonderful birthday celebration and fantastic stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederiksen205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our first time to Lake Como. It is a beautiful place surrounded by mountains, with stunning views and walks. Aurora is a wonderful family - run hotel in Lezzeno, some 8 km from Bellagio, and 28 km from Como. An easy drive from Malpensa Airport and Milan. There is close access to Lugano, Switzerland. The ferry stops at Lezzeno allowing trips to all the other towns and villages.
The Hotel is everything you would want. The staff, led by Margherita and Patti, are really helpful, making us feel more like friends than guests. Service is remarkable, food in the restaurant excellent. Rooms are spotless with excellent facilities and great views of the lake from the Villa.
If water sports are your thing , the hotel has all its own facilities for watersking etc. Just watch the younger generation of this family - they are truly incredible.
I now understand why the reviews are so good. We will be back.

Room Tip: rooms in the villa are tremendous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apptrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We just got back from a wonderful week at the Hotel Villa Aurora and really couldn't fault it. We arrived Wednesday evening and were shown to our lovely lakefront room - with a rose petal heart on the bed. Throughout our holiday Margherita was attentive, friendly and helpful - as were all other members of staff though I didn't catch their names. The room was pretty and clean, lovely shower, and a nice balcony had views across the lake to die for.

We ate in the restaurant that night for the first of three times - the food & wine was very good, and the service also friendly. You certainly couldn't accuse them of having small portions!

Breakfast provided a wide array of choice - fresh fruit, cold meats, cheese, breads, crackers, yoghurts, jams. I noticed the gluten free selection should that be something you need. Everything was regularly replenished. I particularly liked the option to boil your own eggs, so you could get one nice and fresh - though a sign to fellow guests who didn't understand the concept might help as on a couple of occasions someone pinched the ones I'd put in!

The machine coffee was fine for me- but the waiter also let us know to order espresso from him if we preferred, so if really good coffee is important to you then do ask.

The bar was also nice, and the staff happy to make up cocktails etc - sitting outside in the evening we had some lovely conversations with fellow guests.

We explored Lezzeno a little, and tried a couple of the other bars / restaurants and found everyone very friendly. But it is a small place - so if you want somewhere a little more bustling then hop on a bus up the road to Bellagio. It would be better if the buses back ran a little later, (the last is at 18:55) - but there's the option of a taxi. However the hotel restaurant is great, and there are other alternatives in Lezzeno - or, do as we did - eat a large meal at around 4 / 5 o'clock wherever you are visiting, and it will certainly see you through. (And if not, snacks & Pizza can be got from the bar) Having put on 9lbs while away I can tell you there is no reason to starve!

We don't drive, but found it really easy to get around - Train from Malpensa to Como via Saronno, Bus from Como (C30) to Lezzeno, and to Bellagio, and boats - either from Bellagio, or there are some which run from Lezzeno too at certain times of day, depending on where you want to go (we reached Lenno, and Como straight from Lezzeno, to Varenna from Bellagio). Another point - the trains and buses are really good, smooth, clean, quick, and cheap. The road around the lake is certainly twisty, but beautiful, and not as narrow as the ones we have here in Hebden - though it puzzles me as a complaint, as if you don't like twisty roads why go to a mountain lake! A large straight road would not only be impossible but would spoil the view.

Anyway. in short - fantastic holiday, with a wonderful setting, and lovely people. If there were one thing to improve it it would be tea / coffee making facility in the bedroom (not sure if this is not the norm in europe as in uk) and/or a little fridge so you can keep something cool to drink on the balcony at night.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms in the villa have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandoraspages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked this hotel as part of a mad holiday adventure which we drove from the UK to Lezzeno and spent 4 nights at the hotel Aurora, also staying at various hotels along the way, some i don't wish to visit again. From the very start the staff were friendly and helpful, from Margherita to the chamber maids who cleaned the rooms they always had a smile and greeting. When we wanted to visit local towns they suggested bus and boat timetables and explained what we could do in the time we had available, these two modes of transport are best when hubby has driven 900 miles to get there and has the return journey to go. Prices were cheap for the bus and the boat was more, but still reasonable.

The food could not be faulted especially the pear ravioli, (to die for). We ate at hotel every night and tried the local dishes and house wine which we found very enjoyable. We stayed in the villa in a suite with a private balcony, view of the stunning lake and large terrace where we could relax and drink wine. The hotel provides free parking which was rare on our trip as we were paying up to €16 a night in Belgium. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and would definitely visit again the hotel and its surroundings with the snow still on the mountains make for a stunning view. In one word the hotel is FABULOUS.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked our hotel room the day before our stay, a last minute decision to go to Lake Como after a friends wedding in Chamonix. We briefly read a few comments on tripadvisor and thought it sounded like a nice hotel. We were wrong, it is actually a wonderful hotel!
Everything is perfect, the decor is simple but beautiful (very Laura Ashley!).
The lady that checked us in was one of the most helpful hotel staff we have met, recommending trips, restaurants etc. Breakfast was delicious, with lots of choice, my husband was even made a freshly ground espresso from the kitchen.
I have read one of the previous reviews that says the rooms are small and that the hotel location isn't as advertised as it is across a road from the lake. Well firstly im not sure how big they want a hotel room to be, we stayed in room 12 which was a corner room and it was huge with ample storage, toiletries and towels, and yes the hotel is across the road from the lake but as they also pointed out the road isn't big enough for 2 cars so it isn't that far really is it (i would like to add the road is small but as long as you are careful there is no problem, in fact my husband loved it) We could see the mountains from our bed which was a great view to wake up to!
We ate at the restaurant which was amazing value for money and is on the edge of the lake, we had 2 main courses, a glass of prosecco each and 1/2 a litre of red wine for 36euros - unheard with such a good view.
The only thing we could fault about our stay here is that we had to leave!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmabradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lezzeno
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.7 mi away
Filario Hotel & Residences
4.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Aurora

Property: Hotel Villa Aurora
Address: Frazione Sossana, 2, 22025 Lezzeno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Lezzeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lezzeno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Aurora 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR SERVICES- Restaurant Pizzeria- Wine & Snack bar- Breakfast Room- Private & free garages and parking- Beach towels- Baggage Store- Equipped sun deck with sun beds and beach umbrellas- Free use of canoes, kayaks and trampolines in the water and on the ground- Packed lunch on request*- Organization of guided trekking/hiking tours*- Tourist information- Storage for bicycles- Transfer with private cars on request*- Internet station and wifi throughout the Hotel- Laundry room with washing machine, dryer and ironing board*- Water ski , wakeboarding school banana & doughnut** Paid Services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Lezzeno
Hotel Villa Aurora Lake Como/Lezzeno, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing