We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel - I highly recommend it!”
Review of Hotel Villa Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Aurora
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lezzeno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I highly recommend this special family-run hotel. It was very very good value for money. Breakfast was the best continental breakfast I have ever had in Europe. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The service was impeccable and we especially enjoyed Margherita's warmth and hospitality.

I recommend a lake view room.

There is a restaurant in this hotel and the food and ambience was AMAZING. We ordered the pear and cheese ravioli every night and the steak with green pepper sauce twice. Sensational.

Lezzeno is a good spot and I would say don't drive while you are in Lake Como. Take the boat to the little villages along the lake as the road is very windy and the Italians drive very fast and recklessly. If you get car sick easily, brace yourself for the roads along the lake.

Be aware that there is a reasonably busy road between this hotel and the restaurant which is on the lake shore. The road is very small and it is no big deal but if you have kids or are absent-minded, you need to be very careful in crossing this road each time you need to get to the lake.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Aurora
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 785 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is the one hotel that we still reflect even after1 1/2 years.. We were right on Lake Como, and the owners that actually run the business were so attentive, frankly phenomenal.... We thought we would leave the town for dinner every night and found ourselves at their waterfront restaurant all 3 nights enjoying their views and menus. They make a TiraMisu that will knock your socks off. They offered free kayaks which we took advantage of and the views were breathtaking. The view of the Swiss Alps and every little town was a unique and wonderful experience. At the end of each day, we found home again at Hotel Aurora, Enough said....

Mark and Diane from Aurora, Illinois...

Room Tip: No pool, but they have a wonderful breakfast area as well as parking which is a premium in Italy...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent four nights in a room with views over the lake. The service was perfect. They helped us to decide where to go around the lake and advised us how to get there and what places were the best to go.
We had hired a car and it turned out being a very good idea because it helped us to go everywhere and enjoyed the road at the edge of the lake.

But, must of all, we enjoyed the local pizzas of the restaurant. Incredible. The best pizzas ever. To be honest, the bests I have ever eaten. Congratulations.

We expect to go back again, but in summer, in order to enjoy the wide amount of activities that the lake offers.

Thank you very much for the way you treated us.

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room with views over thelake. It´s worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCO76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent four nights at the Hotel Aurora in July, 2012. While the room was small and dated the view of Lake Como was spectacular. The staff at this family owned hotel and restaurant were great as I have found is usually the case when folks who work there take service personally. The breakfast spread was very good, and dinner at their restaurant was the best we had in our three weeks in Italy. We wound up eating there every night. Water sports are available the waters edge in front of the restaurant, swimming, water skiing, power boat rentals etc.. While the rooms in the front of the older building are hard by the road we didn't find it much of a problem but be aware folks drive at high speed on those very narrow roads and you can hear them.

Room Tip: Building on water side of road would be quieter
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greatlakesdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at this property at the end of September, and were extremely pleased in our choice. This really is an exceptional family run hotel providing excellent service and true friendly hospitality. We stayed in the newer Villa Aurora which is right on the waterfront with amazing views of the mountains, and other towns across the lake. Our room was very spacious, bright, clean pleasant and private. Great comfortable bed, and super bathroom with shower.
Breakfast in the main hotel was very good offering a wide selection of choices to suit most tastes, and get you set for the day. The hotel staff were always very helpful, and provided great information on things to see and do, lake ferry schedules, restaurants etc. The hotel also has a nice lakefront restaurant, and pizzeria/bar in the main hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer Villa Aurora building are very spacious and comfortable, all named after flow...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CandCofBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Thank you for this most lovely and beautiful place! The staff was very accomodating, the views superb, and we would definitely return to this fabulous and peaceful place. The local bus stopped right outside the door! Excellent!

Room Tip: Wonderful!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpmullady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff can't fault them at all.
Good restaurant with a wide choice and price range, good service.
Decent public transport links to Como and Bellagio, I would advise a car though, it's quite a long bus journey to Como and the water taxi is expensive.
Our room was very small, quite dated and "mountain view" means a view of the foliage up the side of the mountain.
The breakfast is a standard buffet served in the hotel (not restaurant) it's ok, the coffee machine is terrible though.
A perfectly decent place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IG0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lezzeno
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
813 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,103 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
7.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Aurora

Address: Frazione Sossana, 2, 22025 Lezzeno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Lezzeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lezzeno
Price Range: $114 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Aurora 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR SERVICES- Restaurant Pizzeria- Wine & Snack bar- Breakfast Room- Private & free garages and parking- Beach towels- Baggage Store- Equipped sun deck with sun beds and beach umbrellas- Free use of canoes, kayaks and trampolines in the water and on the ground- Packed lunch on request*- Organization of guided trekking/hiking tours*- Tourist information- Storage for bicycles- Transfer with private cars on request*- Internet station and wifi throughout the Hotel- Laundry room with washing machine, dryer and ironing board*- Water ski , wakeboarding school banana & doughnut** Paid Services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villa Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Lezzeno
Hotel Villa Aurora Lake Como/Lezzeno, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing