We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
55
20
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
20
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour drive lake como wedding venue wedding reception regina suite road villa views giorgio
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 84 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2009

My husband and I, together with our two sons [in their 20"s] stayed for 5 days. Although I had seen photos on the internet, the actual hotel and setting far exceeded our expectations. Without asking, we were upgraded to the romantic suite and our boys were also upgraded to a double bedroom.
Yes, the swimming pool is on the small side but we chose to swim in the lake every day. With a hire car, it was a real bonus to have such great off-street and secure parking. Admittedly, there is no evening dining, but there are such great little restaurants 5-10 minutes along the road. We were also a little confused about lunch as it was not mentioned to us. It was only when we saw other guests with a menu that we clicked. Elena was brilliant. By mistake I left my camera at the check out desk and she arranged for it to be brought on to London with another departing guest - what service !

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

I traveled last spring with my husband to the Como Lake. We were fascinated with the scenery of the Lake as well as, with most of the villages around. The specific guesthouse was also one of the main reason that this trip was so romantic and special.

Relais Regina is located in a very quite and beautiful road near the lake. It is a beautiful relais that is old, but very stylish renovated. We stayed at the attic room, that the ceiling was really low, though it was a very cosy and romantic room. The furniture and the decoration was well fitted to the old building, but at the same time was very pleasant and joyful. The view from the room was also fabulous towards the lake, through a roof window.

The breakfast, was served at tables on the garden overlooking the lake once more. The view from there was just great. The breakfast was made of high quality products in a wide variety.

The reception lady was very helpful, giving as information for restaurants and sightseeing, though the owner lady was not very interested in talking or even smiling to visitors, I would described her rather snob. We found the room prices overrated, so we asked for a better price and they accepted.

There was also a swimming pool, that was really small and not so clean, I think it was more as a decorative element rather than for swimming.

The internet access was a problem, because was not available in the rooms and the only place you can access it was on the patio.

Concluding, I would describe the guesthouse very stylish (in contrast to most of the guesthouses of the area), quite private, romantic with best view of the lake (exactly on the lake).

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haraAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

I was there with my wife and we loved the place, though we expected to find more for the price we paid. Breakfast was good but pretty standard. There was nothing stating if lunch or dinner was offered, however, we saw a couple eating lunch. Nobody explained to us that only upon request and for certain guests, lunch would be provided. When we asked the reception, she explained we had to make a reservation for lunch or ask the staff. We are not sure how this system works. For dinner, we were told to dine out.

Pool wasn't a pool but a bowl, which was nice when there wasn't anybody in it but sometimes the owners and their friends were there to hang out and we couldnt swim; it was pretty disappointing and rude.

Staff was nice but seemed overworked because we saw the same two faces all of our stay and they were yelled at by the managers.

The "bar" closed very early at night and every time we got back from dinner there was nobody at reception receiving us. Unfortunately, we had to disturb the custodians living there.

Though the idea of the magnetic badge to open the gate and to the rooms was nice and worked out pretty well.

Location was nice and really relaxing, not to far from Como and Switzerland.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyingasert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Como lake is the best place to sleep and to get married. I have tried the first and seen the second - both were fabulous!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KseniaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

What a fabulous introduction to lake Como. We were so lucky to discover the hotel. From the moment we arrived we fell under the magical spell of the Lake and the venue. Elena warmly welcomed us and provided local information. We adored our room, windows opening out on to the Lake and overlooking the garden. There was a small wedding when we were there, the family were very thoughtful, our room was filled with wedding roses. We spent a lot of time relaxing in the garden, it really didn't get much better than that! The excellent location provided us with a good base to visit other places on the Lake, however we were both delighted to return to the sanctuary of the garden. The excellent breakfast was even more enjoyable sitting on the terrace overlooking "that" Lake.
Daniela has done a fabulous job of creating a very special place that we can all share.
Thanks Daniela and Elena, we fell under the spell of the the Lake we were totally captivated an enchanted, we were so lucky to have found you.
Mille grazie. Same time next year!
Ciao

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews