We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
54
20
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
20
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshour drivelake comowedding venuewedding receptionreginasuiteroadvillaviewsgiorgio
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 83 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Our experience of Regina Teodolinda couldn’t contrast more starkly with the previous review which is strange as our stays overlapped! We have visited many charming places and hotels over the years, particularly prior to starting a family, and this one combines many key features that put it high up on the list.

It’s on the road because it’s by the lake – a location for which Hollywood stars pay top dollar. Sounds of birdlife and views of distant hillside towns across the lapping water create an untrammelled tranquillity, despite the weather, which in our case was best described as mischievous.

The staff could not have been more helpful from responding to e-mail requests for making bookings in local restaurants to arranging the Prosecco in our room on arrival. The wedding was discussed in one of these communications and mitigated by an offer of a meal in the neighbouring hotel. Three staff members met us on our (forewarned) arrival despite the imminent appearance of the aforementioned wedding party. In the event, it was hard to stray away from our spacious and airy front room overlooking the lake, as we enjoyed the sounds of the wedding until evening before heading off for dinner.

Yes, it felt like we were staying at the bequest of Daniela and her family and re-assuring to share dining space with their own guests. The restaurant options in the neighbouring hotel are terrific: a terrace overlooking the lake or a picturesque cluster of tables in a stone exposed cellar with glass frontage, reminding us of a similar restaurant in Siena.

The hotel staff worked hard to ensure our stay met our expectations. We planned the following day’s travels, using lake transport, by pouring over the timetables with the help of the receptionist, Federica. The arrangements worked a treat. I find it hard to recognise the previous reviewer’s impressions.

The abundant breakfast included squeezing your own fresh oranges and boiling your own egg, in addition to the meats, cakes and cheeses typically offered on the continent. Yet all was conducted under the low key but careful attention of the staff. Cappuccino merited a second and the service, like the restaurant, was performed with that gentle restraint which entices us to Italy again and again.

It may be expensive but I understand from other reviews that off season prices can be negotiated. In the end, I am prepared to pay for charm and quality, especially when my time is short in a place that is a welcome relief from more impersonal, ‘corporate’ style destinations.

In essence, thanks to Daniela and her staff we had a lovely time. My advice would be to prepare your holiday, communicate well, relax in a lakeside room and enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m_p_fromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Two girlfriends and I went to Lake Como during the first week of June 2011.

The good: Laglio, Cernobbio and the neighboring villages are beautiful. Very picturesque. The Regina Teodolinda sits RIGHT on Lake Como - the views are fabulous! In the last couple of weeks, the hotel's owner has opened a sister property, right next door. Both hotels have pools and the grounds are perfectly maintained. Each hotel has between six and 12 rooms I believe. The hotels are gorgeously decorated in a boutique-y, shabby chic, rustic sort of way. The suites (I believe that all of the rooms are actually suites) are very spacious and clean. Breakfast each morning is very good - eggs/croissants/cereals/cheeses/fruit, coffee, tea, juices, etc.

The bad: first, both hotels sit immediately ON the road. The roads in Lake Como area are extremely extremely narrow and traffic comes fast and furiously down the roads. People often beep their horns to alert drivers who may not see them coming (because the roads are so windy/curvy). So if your hotel bedroom faces the road, it is going to be very very loud. We had good-ish weather and liked sleeping with the hotel windows open. But with ear plugs. There is air con which seemed to work well too.

Second, it is really hard to describe the staff. The hotel is, at best, minimally staffed. Several days during our five night stay, there was no "front desk" staff available before 11 am or after 4 pm (really! and on a couple of days, no one worked at all).

The owner seems to have a big family. She communicated very well in English with us over email when we made our reservations. However, she never once acknowledged us during our stay even though she was present at least 50% of the time. Which was sort of awkward given there were sometimes only one other couple/group/person staying at the hotel. In fact, we never saw her working at the hotel. We saw her entertaining her large family many times throughout our stay. They were always at the pools, etc. We also saw them out at dinner in the village one night.

On the day that we arrived, only two hotel staff were working, and one of them grew increasingly inebriated as the day went on and she was entertaining the owner's family or her own friends.

The whole situation is really bizarre. In the mornings, we would see one person "working" breakfast, making coffee etc. We also observed a housekeeper/woman who cleaned the bedrooms. And then once in awhile, another woman would work a couple of hours a day in the office. But the owner seemed to just hang out with her family and do nothing.

RT does not have a restaurant at all though it does serve breakfast in the mornings on the patio overlooking the lake. The new sister property does have a restaurant. We had one very very mediocre lunch and then one fabulous dinner (but extremely expensive) during our stay. The restaurant and its small staff are friendly and gracious.

I mention all of this, because despite the good (and there was definitely some of it), the bad was so weird. We definitely felt like we were intruding by staying at someone's house. I should also say that there were a couple of weddings during the five nights we were there. Which is nice but again, b/c the property is so small, you may definitely feel like you are intruding.

I have no idea if the owner and her family live at either of the hotels but she and her family seemed to take full advantage of the properties, at the very least.

As for others' comments, I agree 100% - you absolutely need a car and the whole Lake Como area is very, very, quiet. Which is very nice if you are looking for some R and R! We spent a day in Milan which was great - an easy quick trip and one day driving over to Bellagio which was very challenging due to the very narrow winding roads - much easier to take the car ferry, which we did on the way back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We just returned from lovely Lake Como and I wanted to write a review about our time here. The location of the hotel is quite good, right off the main road in a nice little spot close to Cernobbio and other nice little lakeside villages. Our room was simply beautiful, we couldn't have been happier with the decor and size, the view was stunning and we enjoyed the fresh air coming through our windows. The only issue we found was the noise - we could clearly hear the guest above us (loud footsteps which woke my fiancee repeatedly and a loud barking dog nearby who woke me every morning before 7:00am!) Otherwise, it was a great spot. Breakfast was standard, nothing over the top, but of course totally fine. Would recommend this hotel based on the location and the loving way it was restored/decorated. We had a fun stay despite the little noise issues.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlliLloyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

My husband planned our European honeymoon which included just one night's stay at Lake Como. We didn't do much research but found this amazing Villa to stay at on a whim. We had a hard time finding the place (our first day behind the wheel of a rental car in Italy) but eventually found it tucked away off a side street. The owner and manager happily stayed up quite late (after 11pm) to welcome us and make sure we were comfortable. Our first impression was that the staff was incredibly hospitable and provided everything we needed. I saw a reviewer post that it felt more like staying at the Villa of a close friend and we totally agree.

They placed us in one of 2 rooms on top floor. We were immediately impressed by the charm, character and surprising modern convenience of the hotel. Our room was quite spacious with a desk, wifi access for our laptop, a small sofa and a separate room for the bed and a spacious bathroom with an amazing shower. Because we were in the "attic" the roof was slanted which only added to the charm of it all, despite my husband's 6'3" height. The windows were on the slanted roof and opened to a beautiful, unobstructed view across the lake.

The weather was cool and damp but we could see that during the warmer months, this would be an amazing escape for someone with the means to enjoy it. We got a fabulous off-peak rate and immensely enjoyed our stay and the delicious complementary breakfast (which was one of the more impressive assortments of all the hotels we stayed at during our 3 week European trip). Had we the time, we would have loved to stick around, exploring Laglio and spend another serene night here at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMitch0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Our stay at Relais Regina Teodolinda was truly magical! Having just stayed at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo, we were worried that we'd be underwhelmed. But we actually preferred our stay here. Entering the grounds, my husband and I were both impressed and enchanted by the old-world charm of the building and the grounds. It almost felt like you had stepped back in time, only with modern conveniences. Our large suite was three rooms, beautifully decorated with a captivating view of Lake Como. In fact, it was so beautiful that we decided to stay put for 2 days, reading and sipping wine by the lake until dinner time when we ventured out for a local meal. Lake Como can be a bit touristy and crowded, so we really cherished the fact that RRT was a bit tucked away and quieter than some hotels. It really allowed us to take in the beauty of the lake. We would return in a heartbeat! It is a MAGICAL place (and a good deal for Lake Como). Nicole & Gavin

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ntbaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews