We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot...close to perfect, just needs a bit of tweaking!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Regina Teodolinda
Ranked #2 of 6 Laglio B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We just returned from lovely Lake Como and I wanted to write a review about our time here. The location of the hotel is quite good, right off the main road in a nice little spot close to Cernobbio and other nice little lakeside villages. Our room was simply beautiful, we couldn't have been happier with the decor and size, the view was stunning and we enjoyed the fresh air coming through our windows. The only issue we found was the noise - we could clearly hear the guest above us (loud footsteps which woke my fiancee repeatedly and a loud barking dog nearby who woke me every morning before 7:00am!) Otherwise, it was a great spot. Breakfast was standard, nothing over the top, but of course totally fine. Would recommend this hotel based on the location and the loving way it was restored/decorated. We had a fun stay despite the little noise issues.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlliLloyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 80 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2011

My husband planned our European honeymoon which included just one night's stay at Lake Como. We didn't do much research but found this amazing Villa to stay at on a whim. We had a hard time finding the place (our first day behind the wheel of a rental car in Italy) but eventually found it tucked away off a side street. The owner and manager happily stayed up quite late (after 11pm) to welcome us and make sure we were comfortable. Our first impression was that the staff was incredibly hospitable and provided everything we needed. I saw a reviewer post that it felt more like staying at the Villa of a close friend and we totally agree.

They placed us in one of 2 rooms on top floor. We were immediately impressed by the charm, character and surprising modern convenience of the hotel. Our room was quite spacious with a desk, wifi access for our laptop, a small sofa and a separate room for the bed and a spacious bathroom with an amazing shower. Because we were in the "attic" the roof was slanted which only added to the charm of it all, despite my husband's 6'3" height. The windows were on the slanted roof and opened to a beautiful, unobstructed view across the lake.

The weather was cool and damp but we could see that during the warmer months, this would be an amazing escape for someone with the means to enjoy it. We got a fabulous off-peak rate and immensely enjoyed our stay and the delicious complementary breakfast (which was one of the more impressive assortments of all the hotels we stayed at during our 3 week European trip). Had we the time, we would have loved to stick around, exploring Laglio and spend another serene night here at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMitch0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Our stay at Relais Regina Teodolinda was truly magical! Having just stayed at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo, we were worried that we'd be underwhelmed. But we actually preferred our stay here. Entering the grounds, my husband and I were both impressed and enchanted by the old-world charm of the building and the grounds. It almost felt like you had stepped back in time, only with modern conveniences. Our large suite was three rooms, beautifully decorated with a captivating view of Lake Como. In fact, it was so beautiful that we decided to stay put for 2 days, reading and sipping wine by the lake until dinner time when we ventured out for a local meal. Lake Como can be a bit touristy and crowded, so we really cherished the fact that RRT was a bit tucked away and quieter than some hotels. It really allowed us to take in the beauty of the lake. We would return in a heartbeat! It is a MAGICAL place (and a good deal for Lake Como). Nicole & Gavin

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ntbaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Perfect service, without being intrusive, excellent food and facilities. I really could not find anything to fault. The owner and her manager were delightful and nothing was too much trouble, everything was made to feel effortless. Like staying at the villa of a very good friend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoria17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Don't be fooled, there is not a ton to do here. However we travelled with our 5 & 7 year old children and we truly had the most enjoyable three nights out of a month long vacation in Italy. If you are looking for a calm and quite spot to simply relax for a few days, then this is it. The setting could not be any ore picturesque. The restaurant recommendations were spot on. Lagio itself is not big, but is central enough to other towns so that you don't feel like you are "stuck". A car is absolutely necessary. Hands down the most memorable part of our whole trip to Italy was jumping in that refreshing lake with our children!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachbella6905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at the Regina Teodolinda in June. The hotel is wonderful, really quaint gorgeous rooms and it is right on lake como. Unfortunately, when we arrived, the owner had decided to invite all her friends over for a pool party, so it was manic and we felt like we had invaded a private party.
We also didnt hire a car and I would highly recommend you do. The bus is really infrequent to the next town and if you do catch it, you will need to buy a ticket beforehand! We waited for an hour for a bus and then when we didnt have a ticket the bus drove straight past us. There are no taxis in the immediate area either, we had to get a kind chap in a restaurant to drive us back or we would have been stranded - what a lovely man!
If you dont have a car, as well you are restricted to eating in the same restaurant every night - as this is the only one recommended in the village.
We had a lovely stay but it would have been so much better if we had had a car :-)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

My partner and I loved this hotel. It is in a really quiet, quaint and charming town on the lake which comes as a complete rest-bite to the over busy Belagio full of tourists voices. The breakfast location on the terrace overlooking the lake is breathtakingly beautiful - a magical place.

The staff are all knowledgable about the local area but don't bombard you with info - they leave it up to you to decide what you would like to do and then they help with recommendations and bookings restuarants, arranging boats etc etc.

We really hope to go back soon as it is the perfect antidote to living in a busy city - an ideal place to kick back and take a few days out. I couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharby72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laglio
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
849 reviews
4.3 mi away
Filario Hotel & Residences
5.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
902 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Belvedere
Villa Belvedere
#1 of 4 in Argegno
275 reviews
0 mi away
Relais Villa Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Regina Teodolinda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Regina Teodolinda

Address: Via Vecchia Regina, 58, 22010 Laglio, Italy (Formerly Relais Regina Teodolinda)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Laglio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Laglio
Price Range: $163 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Regina Teodolinda 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some say it is the house that George Clooney couldn't get. Hardly surprising, considering Villa Regina Teodolinda is situated in the enchanted lakeside position in the famous village of Laglio, on Lake Como, a location often frequented by movie stars. The lakeside access of this stunning Villa allows the travelling to and from the property by water, which makes it the unique, romantic and ideal place for a wedding celebration, birthday party, business event or just for a quite and romantic holyday with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Regina Teodolinda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Regina Teodolinda Hotel Laglio
Villa Regina Teodolinda Lake Como/Laglio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing