We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
56
21
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
21
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake como wedding reception beautiful location breakfast buffet wedding venue regina views giorgio switzerland
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 86 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2011

My husband planned our European honeymoon which included just one night's stay at Lake Como. We didn't do much research but found this amazing Villa to stay at on a whim. We had a hard time finding the place (our first day behind the wheel of a rental car in Italy) but eventually found it tucked away off a side street. The owner and manager happily stayed up quite late (after 11pm) to welcome us and make sure we were comfortable. Our first impression was that the staff was incredibly hospitable and provided everything we needed. I saw a reviewer post that it felt more like staying at the Villa of a close friend and we totally agree.

They placed us in one of 2 rooms on top floor. We were immediately impressed by the charm, character and surprising modern convenience of the hotel. Our room was quite spacious with a desk, wifi access for our laptop, a small sofa and a separate room for the bed and a spacious bathroom with an amazing shower. Because we were in the "attic" the roof was slanted which only added to the charm of it all, despite my husband's 6'3" height. The windows were on the slanted roof and opened to a beautiful, unobstructed view across the lake.

The weather was cool and damp but we could see that during the warmer months, this would be an amazing escape for someone with the means to enjoy it. We got a fabulous off-peak rate and immensely enjoyed our stay and the delicious complementary breakfast (which was one of the more impressive assortments of all the hotels we stayed at during our 3 week European trip). Had we the time, we would have loved to stick around, exploring Laglio and spend another serene night here at the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMitch0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Our stay at Relais Regina Teodolinda was truly magical! Having just stayed at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo, we were worried that we'd be underwhelmed. But we actually preferred our stay here. Entering the grounds, my husband and I were both impressed and enchanted by the old-world charm of the building and the grounds. It almost felt like you had stepped back in time, only with modern conveniences. Our large suite was three rooms, beautifully decorated with a captivating view of Lake Como. In fact, it was so beautiful that we decided to stay put for 2 days, reading and sipping wine by the lake until dinner time when we ventured out for a local meal. Lake Como can be a bit touristy and crowded, so we really cherished the fact that RRT was a bit tucked away and quieter than some hotels. It really allowed us to take in the beauty of the lake. We would return in a heartbeat! It is a MAGICAL place (and a good deal for Lake Como). Nicole & Gavin

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ntbaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Perfect service, without being intrusive, excellent food and facilities. I really could not find anything to fault. The owner and her manager were delightful and nothing was too much trouble, everything was made to feel effortless. Like staying at the villa of a very good friend.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoria17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Don't be fooled, there is not a ton to do here. However we travelled with our 5 & 7 year old children and we truly had the most enjoyable three nights out of a month long vacation in Italy. If you are looking for a calm and quite spot to simply relax for a few days, then this is it. The setting could not be any ore picturesque. The restaurant recommendations were spot on. Lagio itself is not big, but is central enough to other towns so that you don't feel like you are "stuck". A car is absolutely necessary. Hands down the most memorable part of our whole trip to Italy was jumping in that refreshing lake with our children!

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachbella6905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at the Regina Teodolinda in June. The hotel is wonderful, really quaint gorgeous rooms and it is right on lake como. Unfortunately, when we arrived, the owner had decided to invite all her friends over for a pool party, so it was manic and we felt like we had invaded a private party.
We also didnt hire a car and I would highly recommend you do. The bus is really infrequent to the next town and if you do catch it, you will need to buy a ticket beforehand! We waited for an hour for a bus and then when we didnt have a ticket the bus drove straight past us. There are no taxis in the immediate area either, we had to get a kind chap in a restaurant to drive us back or we would have been stranded - what a lovely man!
If you dont have a car, as well you are restricted to eating in the same restaurant every night - as this is the only one recommended in the village.
We had a lovely stay but it would have been so much better if we had had a car :-)

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews