We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, but needs a refurb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plinio Au Lac
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Laglio
Certificate of Excellence
Baar, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice people, but needs a refurb”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Read reviews and booked here. People were nice and was clean, but hotel needs some investment, beds are like canoes! Also quite a few interesting smells downstairs, kind of like staying at your grandparents house.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
18
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent a night at this hotel. The smell as you walk in is awful. The decorations are cluttered and dated. Rooms are very dated. Once we had aired the rooms, the smell improved. However, if you can get past all that, the linen was clean and bathrooms although dated, where clean with good shower pressure.the view from the room is beautiful and peaceful. Being off the main road, there was very little noise at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

You can't go wrong with Lake Como, Italy. But you need to say at this charming, accommodating hotel filled with antiques and clever, creative decor by Director Donatella. She is a wonderful hostess and makes everyone feel right at home. The room I stayed in was not just charming but had a brand new bath, towel warming rack, plenty of cabinet storage and EVERY room has a view of the lake. Just steps from the sweet town of Laglio which is in itself a place to cherish. Then, jump on a bus to Cernobbio for some of best shopping in Italy. Yes, this hotel is the one for me> Maybe that's why I have returned there for the 7th time!

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. In seven years, I have been very happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0bsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I love staying at this cute, comfy hotel. It is so Italian and captures the spirit of hospitality. The owners are wonderful, gracious people. I have been recommending it to business as well as pleasure travelers. And EVERYONE has loved it. Come, visit and you too will return there again and again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night and were massively disappointed. The town of laglio is stunning and local restaurant was amazing but hotel itself is a 70s dated disaster. It was not worth (anywhere near) the 115euros and felt more like a 1 star not a 3. We had a blacony and the view of the lake is magnificent but is obscured by a concrete block! The staff were not helpful or friendly and we had a terrible smell arising frequently from the bathroom drains. Much nicer towns too but hyped up by the house of George Clooney.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahstilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

It's my second visit and I liked it even better than the first. it's a great spot for resting, and easly reached by car. The place is very clean, the staff friendly, the athmosphere special and the price reasonable. ... now go and enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66evi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I am a fussy traveller I would say and this is by far the best 3* hotel I have stayed in! Definitely sad to leave after such a good trip!

The rooms were very clean and the towels fluffy and white ...always a good sign! Shower was hot and powerful, always. Bed very comfortable and I have a bad back... I actually preferred their pillows to mine and wish mine were as squishy and comfortable...where do they buy them I should like to know?! We also had a truly stunning view!

Breakfast was taken with a good view of the lake as well and there was plenty to choose from including croissants, fresh bread, meats, cheeses cereals and typical Italian juices. We were staying for 4 nights here as my friend's wedding was up the road. The Plinio Au Lac was so accommodating to all of our needs and the staff were always a real pleasure to see.

There are two fantastic restaurants a very short walk away (3 minutes approx) where we enjoyed some excellent local cuisine and wine. There seemed to be good opportunity to try the local fish and the risotto served at the two establishents, well worth a try. If you need supplies for your room or a picnic the little shop almost next to the hotel has a good selection....we did not have a car and so this proved useful. We were able to order sandwiches from this shop.

I would certainly go back to this picturesque, secluded spot and would recommend to friends and family to stay here, yes. A very relaxing and memorable stay - Thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna_aq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laglio
1.8 mi away
Hotel Orso Bruno
Hotel Orso Bruno
#1 of 1 in Carate Urio
207 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ristorante National
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Marino - Laglio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
776 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
800 reviews
7.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#10 of 32 in Como
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plinio Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plinio Au Lac

Property: Hotel Plinio Au Lac
Address: Via Regina 101, 22010 Laglio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Laglio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Laglio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plinio Au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Plinio Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plinio Au Lac Hotel
Hotel Plinio Au Lac Lake Como/Laglio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing