We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, good food, nice location”

La Locanda del Cantiere
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Laglio
Price range: $17 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly, good food, nice location”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very friendly local Locanda with a good and varied menu. My friends who had the sirloin steak raved about it. It's not cheap but then nowhere right on Lake Como is! We paid around €40 a head, though were quite light on the drinks as we'd had a heavy one the night before!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PtheP56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    81
    36
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Amazing, brilliant food, wine is incredible and staff are so warm and welcoming!

The staff also speak English which was a big bonus - only thing is that if you want to pay with a card you need to pay at the bar area - as they haven't got a machine to bring to your table.

Loved everything about this place (although a little pricey but the food really was worth it). - (I paid around 45/50 euros for 3 course), and would gladly do it again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Skydiving T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nearby great little restaurant”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Ask for their delish pasta and tomato sauce. The atmosphere is really charming and authentic with antiques of the lake including large wine barrels and boat accessories.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank D0bsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A gem of a find”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The portions were quite large. Sauces were delicious, but done so as not to drown the food. The dishes were inventive and unusual. My salad of tomino cheese with apple and walnuts was fabulous, and the mini wheel of cheese could have been a meal on its own. Risotto with perch or black truffles was fantastic. The pasta was cooked to perfection with fingerli mushrooms, and the wine recommended by the waiter was local and an unexpectedly great surprise. Eating outside in this converted boat house was beautiful, though I recommend a later dinner, as the traffic can be a bit noisy. The wait staff were very attentive and it was the perfect place to catch up with an old friend and chat for hours.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KL2Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Following the advice of our host, we went to this restaurant located right in front of the lake outside of Como.

Service was ok but we were disappointed by the quality of the food. Bread was not fresh, meals expensive and pasta of average quality.

I would not recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xLBOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda del Cantiere also viewed

 
Carate Urio, Lake Como
 

Been to La Locanda del Cantiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing