We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Villa Vittoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Relais Villa Vittoria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at the Relais Villa Vittoria for 2 nights to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. After we finally found it (it has a very small sign outside, but this sort of adds to the feeling of exclusivity!) we were very pleasantly surprised at just how wonderful it was.

The building has the feel of a house, so you feel instantly at home. There is a lounge area downstairs with a wonderful baby grand piano, I wonder if anyone ever plays this.. :) Outside in the grounds, there is a balcony area, perfect for sipping prosecco and contemplating the lake, and further down there is a gorgeous glass fronted swimming pool. One thing I would say is that I don't think this is a great place for kids. But it is a fabulously tranquil and relaxing adult hideaway??

Our room was right at the top of the building, and I believe we had a "cosy" room. It was huge! We had a fantastic view of the lake and didnt even miss having a balcony. The bathroom was massive, with really nice little touches. There was a kettle and tea and coffee, basically everything you might need to make yourself comfortable.

We ate in the restaurant on one night, and I was apprehensive as I had read some dubious reviews on here. Well, it was AMAZING. The food was well considered and put together, and the atmosphere in the restaurant was really romantic with the lights and all the bottles of wine. We had 3 courses and thoroughly enjoyed all of them.

Breakfast is also served in the restaurant, but you can take it outside if the weather is nice, which we did on one morning. Blissful.

We really loved this place, and whilst we don't usually go back to places as there are so many others to see, I think this one is going back on the list!

Thank you to all the staff that made our stay and our wedding anniversary so magical.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misstiny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    48
    21
    1
    3
See reviews for
23
116
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

After 3 weeks in Italy, we chose the Relais as our last stop and we were delighted

We were the first guests of the season and were given a complementary upgrade.

The room is large, sunny, with a balcony to enjoy morning coffee and a large bathroom... Heaven.

The staff are quietly efficient, breakfasts are sumptuous and can be enjoyed overlooking the lake

The restaurant is good, although the balance between cost and quantity is not a typical Italian balance, but enjoyable all the same.

Great place to enjoy lake Como

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Les_Sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Yes, the service is definitely lacking and the food leaves something to be desired, but if You are looking for a quiet, boutique hotel with incredible views of Lake Como, this is it. The rooms are lovely, although not that comfortable to hang in. We had a suite on the third floor (walk up - the elevator is truly ridiculously slow) with a balcony. It was very spacious, but had virtually no closet space, the mattress is not very comfortable, the room service non-existent for all intents and purposes (I hope U don't want ice) and there is nowhere to put your luggage, so the room gets messy real fast. It is also very hard to find, even with an Italian GPS (leave your U.S. GPS home) and parking is a nightmare! That said, the vanishing edge pool is to die for, the hotel is convenient to small towns where you can catch a ferry, Villa D'Este is few minutes down the road for a spectacular dinner and, hey, if Llaglio is secluded and luxurious enough for George Clooney (he lives a few doors down from the hotel), then this hotel should put a smile on your face and provide for a lovely vacation. God willing, this is a hotel to which we will return. (Leave the children at home! There is nothing for them to do and the pool is too small for them to do anything but annoy the guests!).

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JudeSh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Generally we prefer smaller boutique hotels so Villa Vittoria seemed perfect for our needs. We were greeted warmly and checked in, after initially pulling into a driveway nearby and walking back to access the parking in front of the property. There is another parking area for the hotel just a short distance away and across the road, which we also used at times. But with a GPS, and directions from the website, we had no difficulty finding the property.

The grounds and the villa are lovely, as you can see from the website photos. The villa sits above the pool which is lake side but there are stone walks that are very easy to negotiate that take you down to those levels. The pool itself isn't heated so being there in late September meant it wasn't all that warm----not an issue for us. Relaxing with a view of the infinity pool, lake and hills and villages beyond was quite enough! While it is true that the jacuzzi was cool and the gym quite small, that did not impact our stay in the least.

Our lake view room with balcony met all our needs for the 3 nights of our stay. It was spacious with lots of storage areas, had a beautiful view, wi-fi, comfortable bed, well laid out bathroom and was very quiet. With a small fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, it was very well equipped. But of course the highlight of staying on Lake Como is the view......and we made good use of the balcony, not only for drinks but even a casual "picnic" dinner one evening with two place settings kindly provided by the staff.

Breakfast on the terrace every morning overlooking the lake was a treat and we felt the offerings of fruit, cheeses, meats and pastries were quite good, with a boiled egg station also set up outdoors. Overall platters were freshened and plates cleared quickly, though if all the tables were full it naturally took a bit longer. But we found service was always friendly and courteous.

We did have dinner in the restaurant downstairs on two evenings and though a bit uneven in terms of both service and food, overall we found it pleasant. Driving and negotiating winding roads in the dark or paying for taxis didn't appeal to us after busy days seeing sights, so it was fine. The restaurant is the one place there could be definite improvements made though.

Our day trips included Bellagio and Como but should we be lucky enough to stay here again, we'd definitely just spend more time soaking in the wonderful views and relaxing at the Villa!

Room Tip: Choose a Lakeview with balcony......perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying 4 nights at this picture perfect establishment on Lake Como for our son's wedding to the love of his life in mid September 2013.

We were delighted with the friendly staff, the casual breakfasts in the sunshine on the terrace, the fantastic 'fairy tale' views, and the way that the Hotel was able to deliver such a beautiful setting for the actual Wedding Ceremony and for the Wedding Dinner that followed.

Even a few drops of rain on the Wedding day failed to dampen the spirits of any of the Wedding Guests. The happy faces in our photos prove that it was a truly wonderful place to celebrate a Wedding.

Len & Jean Jackson

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Len J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Not impressed at all. This is the type of place that rates appearances over any type of customer service or satisfaction.

About an hour after arriving, we went to use the ‘Spa’ and were told we would need to give 2hours notice to use the Turkish bath. Fine, so we tried the Jacuzzi…it was cold. This place promotes itself as a haven of relaxation yet when we mentioned about the Jacuzzi they didn’t seem too bothered and said they would turn it on. 20mins later there was no change in temperature so we gave up. When we went to complain about this at reception, we were told that the Jacuzzi was only open until 6.30pm and that we should have read this on the website.

Firstly, it was 6pm when we went down but secondly it doesn’t say any such thing on the website. If you go as far as to download the spa treatments brochure from their website it tells you that the Jacuzzi and spa are open until 8pm.

There’s more I am not particularly in the habit of complaining so don’t want to go on…

On the plus side, the food was delicious (although breakfast is nothing to write home about) and dinner was in a gorgeous ‘cave’ downstairs. Slept like a baby in comfy bed with lovely sheets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaMcQuaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I chose this beacuse of the location. I wanted some peace and quiet away from the crowds.

I would agree with the points raised by the other reviews, as they give a good indication of what to expect. I stayed for one night on a tour of the lakes.

Arriving at night is not recommended. I didn't use GPS coordinates or the directions from the hotel website. It was very tricky to find without these.

The lake view room was very nice, but the en suite was a bit of a let down. I found it a bit dated and the shower was stained slightly. The room could do with a bit of tlc. The view is fantastic and it was nice to have a balcony.

Dinner was okay. The food was fine but it was let down by slow and clunky service. It was expensive compared to the other meals during two week holidays. I didn't like the hand written note on the bill suggesting 'tips in cash only'.

The hotel was quiet during the night. The sound of staff and guest the following morning was noticable. The bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast was fine, the selection was good. I had cereal, croissants and coffee. I didn't like the idea of cooking my own eggs etc, so I skipped that. It was relaxing to sit on the terrace after breakfast with another coffee. the terrace has the same lovely view as the room.

It is a nice place to stay and I would stay again but I wouldn't eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank threehens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laglio
8.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
7.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Vittoria

Property: Relais Villa Vittoria
Address: via Vecchia Regina 62, 22010 Laglio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Laglio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Laglio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Relais Villa Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa Vittoria Lake Como/Laglio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing