We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and friendly place to stay”
Review of Villa Vinicia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Vinicia
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Domaso
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and friendly place to stay”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed five nights in Villa Vinicia. We had a nice two bedroom apartment with well equiped kitchen. The apartment was clean and nice and the view was towards mountain and inner court. Service was very good and friendly. They have own barbecue place in garden and you can pick some herbs directly from garden too. We enjoyed and hope to be there someday again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarkko17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I am so glad that I happened upon this accommodation as it was in the perfect location for our needs. My sister was getting married at the Commune in Domaso and it was a 5 minute walk away from our apartment. The apartments are all beautifully decorated and it is a beautiful old villa with bags of character. Jimmy was more than helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juniperjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We booked into Villa Vincia for the first time this August, following a family member's recommendation from a stay last year. My first visit to Lago di Como in 30 years, could it match those childhood memories?

No, instead it bettered them in every way.

The Villa is set back from the main road, on a narrow approach path that will have your width sensors screaming on your hire car. But you can park and unload easily before you head off to the car park.

The main door and outside look impressive and gives you a flavour of the history of this 17th century building before you get inside. It is warming, with high ceilings and lovely decor. yet it is modern enough to allow families or couples to stay without compromise.

The rooms are varied, we had room 3 with views over the garden, but because we booked late, had to spend 3 nights in room 6. The garden view is preferable, but both were beautifully appointed with good cooking facilities for self catering.

The garden itself has a pool and lovely seating area with loungers and a BBQ which you can book for in villa dining!

There's even a childrens play room with plenty of toys for 1 - 7 year olds to amuse themselves when the sun gets too hot.

If you are travelling without a car you'll be glad to know that the bus from Como/Colico stops on the main road 5 minutes walk to the villa, or if you want to really arrive in style, the fast ferry is 10 minutes walk.

What really makes this place, however is the team that run it. They really do care that your stay is first class and were always there to help out if we had questions, both about the place itself but also the local attractions and trips.

It really is a very special place, yes, you are ideally better off with a garden view, but the position of this villa does make it a perfect base for a Lake Como holiday. Oh and if you do eat out there are lots of great local restaurants.

To conclude - I booked for another 2 weeks straight away next year. Is there any better recommendation?

Room Tip: ask for a garden view ideally
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitchurchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Vinicia for a week at the end of June, 2013. Although it was built in the late 1600's, it has been lovingly restored. The owners have kept the old doors and high painted ceilings, with tall glass doors that lead off into the walled garden. The rooms, however, are totally modern. The kitchen was brand new, with full cooker, fridge, freezer and a everything you would need to create a gourmet meal. The bathroom was also new and of good quality, and the upstairs bedroom was spacious, with air conditioning and remote controlled blinds. Everything was spotless and comfortable. Bedding and towels are provided.
The garden is very pretty and relaxing, with flower filled terraces, ample loungers, umbrellas an above ground pool, as well as tables and chairs on the the terrace. Everything here is also ver clean and well maintained.
What makes the villa special is the owners. Jimmy and Sonia couldn't be more kind and helpful. They bought in food for our arrival from a shopping list we provided. Jimmy arranged for us to hire bikes to tour the lake, and you can order bread, croissants and rolls, which will be waiting fresh and warm in the morning. Any questions you have or help needed and they are there for you.
Domaso is a lovely village with two supermarkets and a shop selling local gourmet delights. There are lots of restaurants. We had a great meal at Lui on the waterfront and the gelateria near the Post is to die for. It is easiest if you have a car. We didn't and found the buses didn't run that often. Neither did the ferries. Biking around the lake is great fun, because it is mostly flat, though the drivers can be a bit scary. If you want to get the ferry across to Bellagio, the car ferries run every 30 minutes from Cadenabbia, but far less often from Tremezzo and Menaggio.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Aquila, Italia
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This villa is a really good choice to spend couple of days visiting the lake of Como. Domaso is next to the lake and the view is amazing. Just need to walk 50 meters far from the villa and enjoy the wonderful panorama

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Panagiotis1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here for 1 night on our trip through Europe. The apartment is very modern, clean and tidy. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful and he went out of his way to answer any questions, he also did a load of washing and drying for free! The views down on the beach are awesome with the mountains in the background. There is a supermarket about a 10 minute walk away so if you want to cook a meal there is plenty of selection, there is a nice gelati place on the way to the supermarket. We took advantage of having fresh croissants delivered to our room in the morning. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5KiwisinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked this apartment almost last minute and it was a great choice. The apartment was big, clean and had all the facilities that you need. They also provided us with a baby cot and a baby chair. There is a children room downstairs filled with toys, making it a great place to stay with children.
I know they also have a pool in the summer (we were there in the winter)
I'd recommend this place especially to families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureGalIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Domaso
0.2 mi away
Hotel Camping Europa
Hotel Camping Europa
#1 of 1 in Domaso
25 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#1 of 7 in Gravedona
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vischi
Hotel Vischi
#1 of 2 in Domaso
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Como Beach Hostel
Lake Como Beach Hostel
#5 of 22 in Domaso
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Holiday Resort
Lakeside Holiday Resort
#3 of 22 in Domaso
35 reviews
3.0 mi away
B&B Zia Lina
B&B Zia Lina
#1 of 3 in Dongo
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vinicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vinicia

Property: Villa Vinicia
Address: Via Regina 135, 22013 Domaso, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Domaso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Domaso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2007, this 17th-century villa offers stylish and modern self-catering apartments, an outdoor pool and a lovely garden with mountain views, all just a few metres from Lake Como.Villa Vinicia is an elegant property with a rich garden. Here you will find the above-ground outdoor pool, sun loungers, tables, chairs and Wi-Fi access. Use the Villa’s barbecue facilities or rent a bike to explore the lake area.All apartments at Villa Vinicia are individually decorated with modern furniture, new kitchens, large flat-screen LCD TVs, and free internet access. Bedrooms feature air conditioning and romantic wrought-iron beds.You will find a children’s playroom and a bicycle storage area. Take advantage of the nearby car park and garage.Admire the historic setting with original terracotta stairs and archways, frescoes and vaulted ceilings. You will be within a 200-metre radius from public transport and the tourist harbour.Friendly staff will assist you with tourist information and excursions. You can choose from motorboat tours of the lake at sunset to wine-tasting tours, walking tours and helicopter tours. Railway and airport transfers are available on request at an additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Vinicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Vinicia Domaso, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing