We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overbooked, left us stranded”
Review of Vista Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vista Lago
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brunate
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We booked through laterooms.com and traveled to Italy for 1 night in Milan followed by 1 night in Como. Upon arriving in Milan, we received an email from laterooms saying that Vista Lago had overbooked and we had to call during business hours (Monday - Friday) for help. Instead of traveling up to Como for a relaxing weekend, we spent Saturday morning scouring the internet for somewhere else to stay, but by this time all other reasonably priced rooms were taken and we had to give up on Como completely. Despite supposedly not having any rooms, we noticed that Vista lago was still advertising rooms on laterooms.com. We have heard that some hotels now do this, keeping bookings like ours on hold up to the last minute in case somebody else cancels, it is a truly despicable way to keep people hanging on. Destroyed our weekend away, 300 Euro wasted on travel and other expenses. This is the second time in 2 years that we have had such an experience booking through laterooms, in both cases it has been hotels run by small-minded amateurs who seem to think they can pick and choose their guests up the last minute.

Room Tip: don't stay here and don't use laterooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank objective_feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Vista Lago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 104 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great view of the lake and valley from our room on the second floor. The staff were very friendly and helpful - they even opened the restaurant to make us dinner on a Monday night when everything in town was closed. Yes, the safe didn't work (as indicated by previous guests) and there isn't WiFi, but there is wired Internet in the rooms. It was warm, but we were provided with a fan when we asked. Yes, the church is next door, but the bells are beautiful and 7 am isn't too early to get up when it is hot in the summer. We couldn't hear anything from the neighbouring rooms. The room was extremely clean, and when we came back at the end of the day, all of our belongings were neatly organized for us (almost like Mom cleaned up!). Driving to Brunate is a bit of an adventure, but we had no problem leaving our car at the hotel and taking the furnacular into Como (although it is hard to buy tickets early in the day, so we recommend buying what you need when the shop is open). Of all of the places we stayed in Europe, the service here was by far the best and the rooms are a really great value for the money. I would highly recommend. This hotel was the best part of our trip to the Lake Como area.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank SurfinCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

rooms reasonable, ikea style furniture, basic. v dusty under the bed and dust and hairs in the wardrobe. no air conditioning so you will fry. if you open the window, the church bells next door will wake you up nice and early at 7. ask for top floor rooms as lake view not exactly accurate, there is a large house in front that obscures most of the view. safe doesn't work, blocked by previous guest, staff not interested to help. bathroom v small, why install a bidet to stop you getting into the shower? corridor to the lift is somehow weird. no interesting features to remind you this is an old building. staff don't speak english and misled us. breakfast ok at first but then same cake and old salami meats appeared again and again. some fruits ok some just v tired. Will I go back? No!

Room Tip: ask for top floor
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestCountryFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We booked 2 nights here on our way home from Ukraine, and paid in advance for a lake view room. When we arrived there were no lake view rooms available, and the room we did get had no fan, no working refridgerator, and no wireless internet as they previously advertised. Glad we only stayed 2 nights as we really got ripped off.....I thought this level of dishonesty only happened in third world countries, but vista llago established a new standard. This place should be called vista no vista.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Vista Lago in Brunate because we wanted somewhere different. This area certainly offers that, overlooking Como it has views that stretch for miles.
To get to the hotel from the train station it is best to get a taxi to the funicular if you don't have your own transport as it is quite a walk with luggage (we know from experience!). I would also recommend getting anything that you may need from the supermarkets or shops before heading up to Brunate as we could not really find any grocery type shops up there.
The funicular runs reasonably frequently and is incredibly steep, if you are nervous of heights (as I am) it is is a bit daunting. Why did we book it then you may ask.....well I didn't really think it would be that steep! Der!
Anyway once you get to the top Brunate and the views are spectacular and it is so much quieter than Como. The Hotel is a short walk and the owners son (maybe) was there to greet us, our room was small for three, but the view made up for it.
The restaurant was not open for dinner and we had a bit of trouble finding something that was at about 7.30-8pm. But we did and it was OK.
Breaky was OK nothing too special but filled us up.
Brunate and the Hotel were a really wonderful place to stay, I would certainly recommend going for a walk around Brunate to see all the amazing Villas on the hillside. Truly wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gypsies3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Now I don't want to set your expectations, as this hotel is far from the most amazing hotel I have stayed in but........

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here back in September on Monza GP weekend. We travelled straight up to Como on the Train from Monza itself, easy, pleasant and cheap....

Arriving in Brunate after having a hectic few days was fantastic, as it is a totally different world from the GP! This hotel was the perfect place to base ourselves and unwind in the mountains. We had a room with a view which is probably the best view I've ever had from a hotel, especially one costing the price of a travellodge back home. Admittedly the standard of the rooms are basic; but everything is clean, tidy, works and the beds are comfy.

This is all the normal hotel stuff, but you also get an owner who is very passionate about his hotel and it shows. We came back from a long day out and he insisted that we sat with him and had a glass of Prosecco! Even though he cannot speak barely any English and we could not speak a word of Italien! Our breakfasts and cappucinos were great too!

You just have to remember that the price of this hotel compared with the others in Como is miniscule, yet the rewards for staying here are great!

Room Tip: The higher the better!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We arrived at Vista Lago by car which is a treat in itself as the drive up the hill to Brunate from Como is an amazing experience. The views from anywhere and anywhere are amazing. The hotel is just what we wanted, friendly, small, quaint, and relaxed. The rooms, restaurant, bar, and facilities were excellent. An amazing experience. The proprietor and chef of the restaurant was very friendly and accommodating. He took to the challenge of our requiring gluten free meals and created an amazing dinner for us both. We enjoyed our room and the balcony looking out over the lake. The hotel is a great staring place for hiking up into the hills above Brunate. Excellent, well marked trails. Don't for get to see the Volta tower!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake with a balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldMillSchool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunate
0.2 mi away
Locanda Milano 1873
Locanda Milano 1873
#2 of 3 in Brunate
111 reviews
2.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#9 of 32 in Como
289 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Il Nibbio
Hotel Il Nibbio
#1 of 1 in Magreglio
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante National
1.3 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#11 of 32 in Como
259 reviews
1.4 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Lago

Address: 25 Via Roma, 22100 Brunate, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Brunate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brunate
Price Range: $79 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vista Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Lago Brunate, Lake Como, Italy
Vista Lago Hotel Brunate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing