We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What an amazing view!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vista Lago
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brunate
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What an amazing view!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Vista Lago in Brunate because we wanted somewhere different. This area certainly offers that, overlooking Como it has views that stretch for miles.
To get to the hotel from the train station it is best to get a taxi to the funicular if you don't have your own transport as it is quite a walk with luggage (we know from experience!). I would also recommend getting anything that you may need from the supermarkets or shops before heading up to Brunate as we could not really find any grocery type shops up there.
The funicular runs reasonably frequently and is incredibly steep, if you are nervous of heights (as I am) it is is a bit daunting. Why did we book it then you may ask.....well I didn't really think it would be that steep! Der!
Anyway once you get to the top Brunate and the views are spectacular and it is so much quieter than Como. The Hotel is a short walk and the owners son (maybe) was there to greet us, our room was small for three, but the view made up for it.
The restaurant was not open for dinner and we had a bit of trouble finding something that was at about 7.30-8pm. But we did and it was OK.
Breaky was OK nothing too special but filled us up.
Brunate and the Hotel were a really wonderful place to stay, I would certainly recommend going for a walk around Brunate to see all the amazing Villas on the hillside. Truly wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gypsies3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    31
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
59
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Now I don't want to set your expectations, as this hotel is far from the most amazing hotel I have stayed in but........

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here back in September on Monza GP weekend. We travelled straight up to Como on the Train from Monza itself, easy, pleasant and cheap....

Arriving in Brunate after having a hectic few days was fantastic, as it is a totally different world from the GP! This hotel was the perfect place to base ourselves and unwind in the mountains. We had a room with a view which is probably the best view I've ever had from a hotel, especially one costing the price of a travellodge back home. Admittedly the standard of the rooms are basic; but everything is clean, tidy, works and the beds are comfy.

This is all the normal hotel stuff, but you also get an owner who is very passionate about his hotel and it shows. We came back from a long day out and he insisted that we sat with him and had a glass of Prosecco! Even though he cannot speak barely any English and we could not speak a word of Italien! Our breakfasts and cappucinos were great too!

You just have to remember that the price of this hotel compared with the others in Como is miniscule, yet the rewards for staying here are great!

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We arrived at Vista Lago by car which is a treat in itself as the drive up the hill to Brunate from Como is an amazing experience. The views from anywhere and anywhere are amazing. The hotel is just what we wanted, friendly, small, quaint, and relaxed. The rooms, restaurant, bar, and facilities were excellent. An amazing experience. The proprietor and chef of the restaurant was very friendly and accommodating. He took to the challenge of our requiring gluten free meals and created an amazing dinner for us both. We enjoyed our room and the balcony looking out over the lake. The hotel is a great staring place for hiking up into the hills above Brunate. Excellent, well marked trails. Don't for get to see the Volta tower!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldMillSchool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We had reservations to stay here but then didn't get to because of the fenicular schedule and an early flight. BUT, we took the fenicular up to Brunate and had the owner tour us through the hotel. It's nothing too fancy, but very well kept and clean. Small rooms, but AMAZING view from the front of the hotel, all the way across Lake Como, looking onto the Alps. Amazing! We were "crying" that we hadn't made a way to stay there. Next time for sure! Would definitely recommend it if you like being away from the craziness of Como city and like a quiet, quaint stay. Brunate is a quiet, tiny little town that's fun to roam around and get yet another taste of awesome Italy's small towns!

Room Tip: Request a room in the front of the hotel, with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank owamibuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

A good 3 star Italian hotel. Personally we didn't find the drive too bad, a few hair pin bends but nothing untoward. The rooms are on the small side but very comfortable and with fabulous views and the owner could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Brunate is a lovely little hilltop town, the cable car to Como is just minutes from the hotel. We only had one night and a day to make the most of it and from that location is was both very easy and a lovely way to get down to Como and take a boat onto the lake.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

As other reviewers have commented, this hotel's primary asset is its view - perhaps one of the most beautiful in the world. Ask for a top floor room to see it at its best - the twin bed option has an enormous terrace with room for sunbathing and simply enjoying the visage.

The hotel itself is somewhat dated. My room lacked air conditioning , although the hotel provided a useful fan, and mosquitos were an issue. The bathroom, whilst clean, was small and dark. Service was very good and the staff polite and welcoming.

Despite its shortcomings, I would recommend this hotel on the basis of its magnificent view. It may also be worth looking at other options in Brunate.

Room Tip: Top floor for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acf90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The funiculare is being repaired for July sothe only way to go to Como is by bus.
The breakfast was below average, but the staff is helpfull and the rooms were clean. .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rostedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunate
0.1 mi away
Locanda Milano 1873
Locanda Milano 1873
#2 of 3 in Brunate
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
2.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#5 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante National
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bellavista Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 32 in Como
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mirabeau
Mirabeau
#1 of 1 in Civenna
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Lago

Property: Vista Lago
Address: 25 Via Roma, 22100 Brunate, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Brunate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brunate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vista Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Lago Brunate, Lake Como, Italy
Vista Lago Hotel Brunate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing