We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please Visit this place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda del Dolce Basilico

Locanda del Dolce Basilico
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Brunate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Please Visit this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Don't make the mistake we nearly did and walk past this place thinking it was closed or even derelict. Walk round the back and check our the gorgeous outdoor eating space and the awesome dining room.

Staff were really cool (poss family?) and yes they took their time as some previous bad reviews have mentioned but its Italy on a Sunday not EAT in Shoreditch. They were lovely all round and the vibe is very much Italian families with kids.

The set anti pasti was deep fried lettuce dumplings (trust me, awesome) local meats, the best tortilla ever and some little bruschettas. It was all absolutely perfect. I have eaten in a heck of a lot of Italian resturants both in and out if Italy and I honestly enjoyed this more than anywhere I've ever been. The trofi Pasta pesto was as good as it gets too.

Bottle of wine and 3 courses for 3 was 70 quid.

Don't know if the ambience got to my head or if it all was as magical as it seemed. Either way go and see for yourself

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidBianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    90
    22
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, view and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great place recommended by a local. There are several other restaurants in the immediate area, but this is said to be the best.

Quite an inexpensive place too.

Make sure you also enjoy the views from the lighthouse just up the hill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlisonH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Very Italian atmosphere. Sitting under trees, enjoying The view and eating realt Good food. The staff is friendly and helpful. Cheerful atmosphere

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leneflensborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Un posto particolare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The restaurant is located in a very scenic place above the city and lake Como, before reaching the Volta lighthouse.
As in many restaurants in Italy, the lunch and dinner time is strictly defined. We arrived a bit late, and had to content ourselves with sandwiches and cookies.
We were served by the restaurant owner. She's very interesting and friendly woman.
We were in the restaurant at sunset. It was divine to have a coffee while watching the sunset!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“beautiful view with beautiful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

had a delicious meal (the house's starter followed by tortellini with the nut sauce and grilled octopus with oven potatoes) on the terrace while overlooking a breathtaking view.
afterwards, a nice walk up to the lighthouse with another breathtaking view.
Will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonia1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda del Dolce Basilico also viewed

 

Been to Locanda del Dolce Basilico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing