We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven for body and soul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago
Ranked #2 of 8 Brunate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Travelling alone and looking for cool, peace and quiet after an exhausting week in Florence at an international conference, I happened on this modest hotel in an interesting little village high above Lake Como. Just perfect for what I needed. The room was plain but comfortable and who cared anyway when that superlative view of sky, mountains and lake filled every window - even the bathroom windows. A quiet read, a stroll down the mountain tracks, or, when feeling more energetic, a funicular ride into town. The quiet of the night and the low sound of the wind was very soothing. The hotel will definitely be on any future itinerary in Europe.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rovinglibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 184 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2009

I have stayed in many Bed and Breakfasts in various parts of Italy, but this one takes first place for location and view - absolutely breathtaking! The drive up from the city of Como involves a (at times) narrow road, requiring the willingness and ability to reverse if necessary (whilst marveling at the near-motorway speeds of the local vehicles!) But when you arrive in the piazza of the hamlet of St Maurizio (3 km above Brunate) where Il Paradiso is situated, and take your first look at the incredible view of Lake Como, you will want to stay at this Bed and Breakfast for ever! There is plenty of parking in the piazza and the B and B provides you with a parking pass which entitles you to a reduced charge of 2,50 euros per day, payable to the B and B at the end of your stay. My room had a lake view, mini bar, safe, satellite TV, plentiful storage space, a desk/table and chair and a well-equipped bathroom (also with lake view). Breakfasts were help-yourself buffet-style with lots of choices. Andrea was most welcoming and friendly and he speaks excellent English. After a day's sightseeing, it was very pleasant being able to buy a cool drink at the bar and enjoy it whilst sitting out on the terrace, enjoying the tranquillity and stunning views of the lake. If I ever revisit Lake Como, I will definitely stay here again - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SignoraPMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We, a couple from Switzerland and our friends stayed for two nights and were very impressed with the location, the Hotel and especially with ther service Andrea, Paola and their staff offered. If you like a peaceful place with an amazing view, with hiking opportunities and pure nature this is the place to be in Italy!!!
With the cable car it is just some minutes to Como and if you like, Andrea offers also fabulous tours on the Lake Como. He also told us, that he will offer soon a Sauna and an Indoor Pool - even more reasons to stay with this very friendly Family Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiss_Travel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

The hotel is in an amazing setting with wonderful views over Lake Como. Andrea, Paola and staff were marvellous. The room was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a really good buffet, and very good coffee. Andrea is the perfect host, nothing fazes him and he was very obliging, being able to collect us from the funicular, even when he was busy,as we had no transport of our own. He also researched outings for us and other guests, with suggestions to make any trips easier.There are several restaurants within walking distance and would particularly recommend Locanda del Dolce Basilico, and Il Bettolino.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We traveled to Brunate with our daughters aged (28,23) and our son (17). It was heavenly! Andrea was a wonderful host. Just the perfect spot for relaxation and a low key vacation. One tip, however-don't use Garmin for directions-Andrea's way is much better.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acook2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Freshly redone with new furniture, sheets and the latest in radiant heat! Mini kitchens in rooms and the most comfortable beds that can be turned in suites vs. the standard hotel rooms. Perfectly bilingual host with the most helpful of staff for English speaking guests. Unbelievable location with fantastic views in the most interesting of villages.
The airline lost my luggage for 4 days. My host was ever so persistent in dealing with them 24 hours per day in trying to obtain. It finally arrived only because of his efforts.
The breakfast buffet was lovely and the best coffee in the world and chocolate filled croissants the were out-of-this-world.
Can't say enough wonderful things about the magic of this place and the good nature of the host and wait-staff. The complete new of the room with tiled individual balconies with flowers were beyond comfortable and charming. The location of the village reached by an easy funicular make it far more wonderful and affordable than staying in Como. Be sure and eat at Carlo's restaurant - the most delightful of hosts with the best food in Italy - ask the host at the hotel where. This is a great location, also, for catching the start of hiking trails in the most beautiful location of Italy. Please consider staying here - you will never regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JDTSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank vanesammiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunate
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellavista Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Locanda Milano 1873
Locanda Milano 1873
#2 of 3 in Brunate
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
884 reviews
12.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,118 reviews
15.4 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago

Address: Via Giovanni Scalini 70 - 74 | Frazione San Maurizio, 22034 Brunate, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Brunate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Brunate
Price Range: $116 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small eco-friendly family hotel Paradiso sul Lago, existing from 1908, is located at 900 metres a.s.l. in a wonderful panoramic location with view on the nicest area of the Lake Como from Moltrasio to Laglio where George Clooney owns Villa Oleandra. There are several possibilities for boat tour or hiking from the hotel and for your relax you can use the big swimming pool and solarium on the lake view terrace. At walking distance there is the Volta Lighthouse tower with a unique view on the Alps and the Lake Como. The hotel and its 12 rooms have been renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Paradiso Sul Lago Hotel Brunate
Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago Brunate, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing