We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class once again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Ristorante Meridiana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellano
Certificate of Excellence
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“First class once again”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is our third visit to the Meridiana and each time it has been really lovely. Fantastic location right on the lakeside. As soon as we arrived we were given a refreshing beer and small snacks before settling into our room. Just an example of the hospitality and care shown by the owners. Breakfast is delicious with fresh bread, eggs cooked to order, a jug of fresh coffee and steamed milk, and more! There is a garden on the lake side for sunbathing. Air conditioned bedrooms. I can't praise it highly enough, it really is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
119
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Wonderful family run hotel! Had a family get together for 3 perfect days in Bellano. Can't say enough about Piera, Donata and all of their staff. Made us feel like it was OUR beautiful home in which to entertain our family. Very accommodating even coming in an hour early to set up breakfast for those that had to leave early. Piera also very helpful in giving us train, ferry schedules to meet our needs. Dinner menu very unique and prepared to perfection. Breakfast was delicious and even eggs prepared as desired. They are now family to us and hope we are able to stay again at this most picturesque hotel again in the near future!
Christina, Crystal Lake, IL

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Based on past reviews by others, we chose room 7 and are happy we did. While only a small room with a high tub that is hard to climb in and out of (for the half shower), having a private deck that is literally on the edge of Lake Como, with a view across the upper lake toward snow-capped peaks in Switzerland, was priceless. Unfortunately, the couple on the adjacent private deck (with a privacy wall in-between), for room 8, smoked a lot and that chased us inside on a few occasions. We did not have the sound issues that some other reviewers have mentioned, which I suspect is because we were in room 7 rather than elsewhere. No matter what room you are in, everyone gets to enjoy the spectacular views and peaceful setting from the dining area, with both inside (big glass windows) and outside (garden) choices. We ate in the hotel's restaurant all three nights (plus three free breakfasts) and the food served ranged from good to great. Piera, the owner-manager, is so gracious; she took care of some special needs of ours, including going out and getting soy milk for our breakfast cereal. This is a great place to go to relax. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_Vicki_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We visited Lake Como over three days in April, staying at Meridiana for two nights. I've read other reviews that state more picturesque locations on Como than Bellano, but I can't comment on that. We went to Milan one day, and the other days that we expected to tour the area, we encountered rain and so our touring was curtailed. I can speak for the hotel however, and I recommend it highly. Family owned, warm and gracious, they take great pride in making their guests as comfortable as possible. We stayed in Rm. 8 which I think is the largest out of the nine rooms - we were three adults and were comfortable in a cozy, welcoming room. We had two sets of French doors opening up to a wrap-around terrace right on the lake. The views of the alps are breathtaking and the sound of water right outside the doors lulls you to sleep. The restaurant is everything that you see in the reviews. An unexpected surprise, everything was unique and delicious. How convenient to step out of your room and walk a few feet to a gourmet meal. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. Eggs and pancakes were prepared to order. I was actually asked whether I wanted my scrambled eggs cooked for 3, 4 or 5 minutes which was a refreshing change from the usually soft scrambled eggs so common in Europe. We were very happy with our stay and would visit again.

Room Tip: If more than 2 people, ask for room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marially
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had stayed here before and this time found it just as good as before. Room right by the edge of the lake, lots of well-appointed public spaces both inside and out, and the staff are so helpful. This time we had been robbed on our way out of Turin and they arranged for us to go the police station in Bellano on the following day, and the young lady of the house was there with me for nearly two hours, interpreting and being very helpful. Couldn't have managed without her. You probably won't have been robbed, but it shows how helpful they are. Incidentally don't forget to have a look at the town of Bellano (just a few minutes' walk away): very interesting narrow streets running up the hillside.

Room Tip: I think they're all on the lake edge, on the ground floor, and I think all have balconies. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anselm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at The Meridana Hotel for a week at the beginning of October 2013.
The Hotel is located within an easily walkable distance from Bellano and has wonderful views up and down Lake Como. Indeed many of the bedrooms, public rooms and garden make the best of this view.
We had a lovely 'large' corner room (No.8) with spare sofa bed, which was infact quite small by European standards and which would have been cramped had the sofa bed been used. We we had a disturbed night's sleep on 3 of the 6 nights we stayed due to noise from the adjoining room (Water system, moving around and conversation). The room had a small veranda with table and chairs and a hospitality tray. The tray was placed on a small shelf above the sofabed as there was insufficient table space elsewhere in the room. Had the kettle been used, as was expected, in this position there was a real risk that boiling water would end up on whoever was sitting on the sofa below. There was only sufficient milk for 2 drinks. The bed linen and towels were changed daily and bathroom and bedroom lightly cleaned, but it needed a thorough clean and dust.
The breakfast was a nice spread of fresh meats, pastries, cheese, juice etc and we were offered a boiled or scrambled egg each morning - this never changed. Pancakes and bacon were often left on two warming plates, but we always found that these were cold as the heaters had extinguished.
Staff were excellent and very friendly.
Price - Euro 75 pppn for summer - Euro 70 pppn 1st Oct onwards. We had 2 hours of sunshine in the week we stayed, so couldn't make use of the hotel garden or veranda and some of Bellano and the tourist services had closed for winter, so we felt that the Hotel was very overpriced considering we stayed during the low season and given the hotel facilities.

Room Tip: Room 8 is considered to be a 'larger' room and has wonderful views up an down Lake Como. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmigueldeallende
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

First, the proprietor and staff of the hotel are darling and highly competent. I thought the dinner menu was quite good and reasonably priced. The room & bathroom were spotless. The single best feature of the hotel is rooms right on the water--leave the window open at night and hear the waves lapping 10M from your window.

The rose, though, does have its thorns--Bellano is less picturesque than Varenna & Lenno and felt a bit like the business end of the things. Perhaps 'real' locals live in Bellano, perhaps it's the only town with locals--this might be a better feature in highest season rather than mid-October when I visited. But in shoulder season those towns didn't seem overly crowded and Bellano felt like the poor cousin to these more glamorous spots. The lake at Bellano is less awe inspiring than farther down at Varenna.

On the particulars of the hotel: the pillows were very thin, the morning coffee thinner, the cold cuts a bit tired - though eggs were prepared nicely. The decor was a bit too homey and a tad dour for my taste e.g. painted plaster singing angel candle holders festooning the hallways and burgundy table clothes in the dining room. Also, there was a short-looped sound track that played Muzak'd classical music in the dining room at breakfast and dinner to the point where I'd heard so much of the '70s pop version of Orff's Carmina Burana and my old friend Ludwig Van that it all felt as queer as a clockwork orange.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdlgto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellano
6.0 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ristorante Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Meridiana

Property: Albergo Ristorante Meridiana
Address: Via Carlo Alberto 22, 23822 Bellano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Meridiana occupies part of a villa directly overlooking Lake Como and has its own independent entrance surrounded by the greenery of weeping willows and cypress trees. Hotel Meridiana offers you all kind of comfort including a very nice restaurant. All the rooms, each with its own lake-view terrace, have air-conditioning, a refrigerator-bar, a private safe and internet connection. Guests can go sight-seeing or visit the nearby cities, rich in art and history, or practice some of the many sports this area offers, ski, mountain-biking, trekking, sailing, windsurfing, kite-surfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Meridiana Bellano, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing