We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Ristorante Meridiana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellano
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

First time relying on TripAdvisor ratings. They were perfectly accurate. This is a charming small hotel situated in one of the best sites on Lake Como. Amazing gracious service. Good breakfast. Excellent dinners.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are just a few feet from the surface of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
119
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great hotel with warm friendly staff. Very romantic location right on side of Lake Como. Food was excellant in restaurant , sitting in the garden watching sun set over the lake. Breakfast was very generous. Happy to cater to vegetarians delightful stuffed zucchini flowers and magnificent light lasanga.
Rooms 7 and 8 are the pick only meters above the lake with delightful balconies. Rooms well appointed , beds comfortable .
Ballano is a town with access to the lakeside and a great path that goes from the hotel into town and around the lake for a couple of kilometres great to stretch your legs after dinner lots of places to stop and enjoy the lake.
We stumbledon this hotel late one evening and stayed an extra night because we liked it so much , we will definately scedule it into future trips to Italy and highly recommend it to friends, it would make a perfect honeymoon location !

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 are the pick we had room 7 1st night but had to move to room 9 next night (we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GayleAndJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

My mother and I spent three nights here. The Meridiana lives lakeside toward the north side of Bellano. The hotel is staffed by a friendly set of people, but only a couple of them have conversational English. For this reason, we felt we needed to sort out any excursions and information for ourselves, as we have little Italian and the English speakers (I assume the owner/managers) were mostly away from the front desk. However, the hotel is a very pleasant place to stay in the Lake Como area, and benefits from being less expensive than nearby Varenna. Bellano is probably not the prettiest town on the lake (Varenna gets that gong in my book), but the ferries and local road access make it very easy to reach other points on the lake with minimal difficulty. The ferry jetty is a 5-10min walk from the hotel door. We had to buy tickets on board, a friendly test of australian/italian relations. A day ticket for the main towns (Bellagio, Varenna and nearby) was about E15/ea. To Como, a bit more. Don't bother with Menaggio, it's very dull.
Rooms: Well fitted out, on the compact side but not uncomfortably so. Keyed safe available. Wired internet available (wireless in reception/lounge areas). We had a lakeside balcony, with the water lapping pleasantly on the cobbled beach about 2m from the rail. Unfortunately, this is also popular with the local fisherfolk at night, and their quiet conversation and crunching up and down on the cobbles into the small hours can be disturbing for light sleepers (ie. me), so the double glazed windows were closed and the effective, if a little drafty, air-conditioning used to solve this minor hiccup.
Bathroom: Clean, modern fittings, good hot water. Shower over bath (a bit slippy - be careful).
Beds: Firm mattresses, pillows are very soft, I ended up using a chair cushion instead.
Breakfast: Very good and comprehensive range of food on offer. You won't go hungry (and we're both vego. so ignored the meats). Barista coffee made on arrival to your requirements.
Access: If arriving by car, don't try and turn left into its very compact driveway, do a loop and come back the other way. I'm not sure how far it is from the rail station, but it would be a cheap taxi fare as Bellano is not large.
Restaurant: Very good! Clearly run by a chef who takes pride in the food she(?) produces. I can recommend you try it at least once. We only had one chance - it's closed Tue/Wed, two of the nights we stayed. A pity. About E80 for two including entree/main/dessert/wine and pre-dinner drinks. We ate on the lakeside terrace in the pleasant late evening sunlight (through the inevitable lake haze).
Overall: A pleasant and well priced place to stay (E130/nt for us, incl. brekky) in the pricey Lago di Como area. I'd go back! Definitely would visit the restaurant if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netizat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

What a delightful hotel! When we arrived, we were shown to our room and then offered a cool beer to welcome and refresh us. The garden was the perfect place to cool down after a hot day of travelling. Our room had its own balcony which was a few feet above Lake Como and you could lie in bed and look at the mountains. Kettle with a selection of teas and coffee was provided, there was a little fridge and in the bathroom were robes and slippers. The breakfast was delicious with freshly cooked food to order, big jugs of coffee and warm frothy milk, eaten on the terrace above the lake. The hostess is a lovely lady and nothing is too much trouble for her. Absolutely great restaurant for evening meals, eaten outdoors if the weather is warm and the food is out of this world. I certainly intend to come back here - as soon as possible!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Fantastic hotel with excellent service and superb location by the lake. The food was great and we enjoyed a nice glass of wine on the restaurants balcony. It can't get any better than this.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FourSwedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewZealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

When the shutters of our room were opened to show the lake lapping our deck we could not wait to dive into the fresh clear water. The robes provided meant we delayed enough to walk through the jasmine filled garden to dive off the steps. Divine after a hot hot day touring on our rented bmw 1600 bike. A rest to update emails on free wifi then a walk through the gorgeous alleys of the village. The end of a big lake day out for many italians from the city it fortunately became quiet as the day wore on. The restaurant next to Arnolds bar on the end of town closest to the Meridiana of town - I will go back tommorrow to check the name but be sure to tell them you will not eat or drink there because of this review. We went in at 6.30pm to ask for a bottle of red wine and were basically told to get lost as the proprietor could not be bothered with our english. As New Zealanders we were not amused. Returning to the sanctury of the Meridiana the garden deck to watch the sun set, fabulous service with very knowledgable wine waiter. Food suberb, atmosphere to die for. Thank goodness town was so bad! Best place ever to stay here.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wildguys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

What a lovely, lovely hotel. Our room had a balcony literally 10 feet away from Lake Como. The hotel was in a great location; we loved Bellano for it's simplicity and non touristy feel. The owners were full of suggestions on where is good to see. Great breakfast; lovely staff; yes the room we stayed in was small (as described on booking.com) but perfectly situated. Absolutely loved it!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0JamesHarpenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellano
6.0 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#3 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ristorante Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Meridiana

Property: Albergo Ristorante Meridiana
Address: Via Carlo Alberto 22, 23822 Bellano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Meridiana occupies part of a villa directly overlooking Lake Como and has its own independent entrance surrounded by the greenery of weeping willows and cypress trees. Hotel Meridiana offers you all kind of comfort including a very nice restaurant. All the rooms, each with its own lake-view terrace, have air-conditioning, a refrigerator-bar, a private safe and internet connection. Guests can go sight-seeing or visit the nearby cities, rich in art and history, or practice some of the many sports this area offers, ski, mountain-biking, trekking, sailing, windsurfing, kite-surfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Meridiana Bellano, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing