We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was extraordinary”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa La Ruga

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
121 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Argegno, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
SibelL43
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“It was extraordinary”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We did see the pictures of the Villa at time of booking but the actual house was even better than the pictures. It was a great weekend with family and friends. We will definately revisit the Villa. Francesco welcomed us the first day although we arrived late and advised us tips about the area. He also helped us organise a boat trip by the lake which was very convenient. Overall, it was a superb vacation. Thank you Francesco for everything!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia D
1 review
“Unforgettable experience!”
Reviewed May 3, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Francesco was a great host, very responsive and in a good mood!
Villa is on an amazing location, with great views on the lake and mountains.
The access by boat makes it feels so special and enables you to enjoy fully the natural and architectural beauties of the Como lake.
We were a bigger group, 2 families, and 2 more couples, the organisation of rooms was just perfect.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THaushalt...
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best of the best on Lake Como”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Villa La Ruga with my mother and father and just can't say enough great things about it! The ease of booking it with the host Francesco was impressive since I booked at 10PM and wanted to arrive the next day. This villa is right on the lake with a massive yard, covered and uncovered decking, lots of parking space, and a very well-laid out home. It even has a bocce ball court and boat dock. The house is wonderfully private, yet an easy walk up the street and there are many restaurants, boat rentals, etc. We were greeted upon arrival and shown everything we would need to know by Francesco, who also was happy to arrange private chef and many other nice services for us.

It is hard to impress via this review how special of a place Villa La Ruga really is, but if you get the chance do book this place as a treat to yourself. Enjoying places like this is why we all work so hard. If it is an option for you - do it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the home and the on-lake location
Liked least: Going home.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelmm...
United States
1 review
“Fabulous Lake Como Getaway!”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our family spent about five days at this lovely Villa. Francesco is a very warm and welcoming host. He greeted us at the house with a wonderful basket of local Italian goodies as a welcome package and was quite helpful with local activities. He also checked up on us during our stay to ensure that everything was perfect. The villa offers a unique, elegant, and private lake front experience of Lake Como. The grounds are a lovely bucolic and private retreat to relax and play. The villa is also a very short walk away from the beautiful village of Argegno with its typical Italian cafe's and restaurant. Everyone of our family members truly enjoyed their stay and we will certainly be back again. We would highly recommend this lovely villa and Francesco.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sciencefo...
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
1 review
“Wonderful Easter Weekend hunting easter eggs and playing boccia in a beautiful garden overlooking lake Como”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Francesco was a great host and made us feel welcome. We were able to enjoy the view and the amenities of the house in spite of the early time in the year. The house is really beautiful and worked for the three generations of our family who visited. We cooked our own pasta and had Umberto cook a wonderful meal for us. On our third night we went to the Isola de Comacina for a meal. The garden is wonderful and you cannot help but relax in it on a beautiful sunny day.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macarena...
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Amazing location with great host”
Reviewed March 8, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at Villa La Ruga for a party this month. The property is adjacent to the lake and the views are amazing. It is very spacious and the rooms overlook the lake. Francesco was an amazing host and was always available to provide assistance with directions, access and questions about Como.

The management of the party was also very well taken care off and everything worked smoothly during the event, with guests very comfortable and amazed by the property. Will definitely recommend it for a holiday visit. Our time spent there was impeccable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
priscilla...
1 review
“Amazing villa!”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have stayed at this wonderful villa last weekend to celebrated my birthday. The villa is extremely beautiful and the view of lake Como is unbeatable!. Above all, I would like to say that Francesco who is the manager of the villa is extremely dedicated, helpful, friendly and easy going!. He helped us with the organization of the party and coordinate all details in a excellent manner!

Francesco, thanks so much for helping us to make my birthday so special and wonderful!

We will definitely come back!
Priscilla and Luca

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing