We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Place”
Review of Contrada Lunga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Contrada Lunga
Buenos Aires
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Cozy Place”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

The B&B is cozy and Ana Lisa a very nice person.
The place is far from the nice Como attractions, and if you have heavy luggage there ar too much stairs
The house owners are pleople use to mountain, so ask for turning on the heater if you are feeling cool.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    11
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
54
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This was the first B&B we stayed at in Italy in September this year. Annalisa picked us up from the train station at Lecco at midnight. I was most impressed! She is very arty as well as professional in her approach. The B&B is about 20 mins drive from Lecco in a little village called Abbadia Lariana. It's situated at the very top of a hill. The village is just incredible. The two rooms are both very spacious and well decorated. The breakfast is served just outside the room and I even had a selection of tea! I was delighted. Annalisa recommended their local restaurant, ILL Vicollo and we ate there every night. It's about 20 minutes walk from the B&B. The ferry is also walking distance. Annalisa used to be a photographer by profession and at the end of the stay, she took a photo of us and added it to her guest book along with photos of all her guests and we get to write a comment about our stay. Great idea. We stayed for 3 nights. Annalisa also kindly went to Lecco to book our next train trip. And she took us to the station very early in the morning plus helped carry my bag all the way to the train. Thanks a million Annalisa, you are a very thoughtful host and you run a great B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Contrada Lunga, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
hello Sherinda, how are you? thank you very much for your detailed report, i hpe to see you in australia! ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Thank you Annalisa and Luca for a lovely time in Lake Como. We had read many great reviews about Contrada Lunga and our visit verified this. The location is great it's a short walk to the beach, nestled on a hill top it has great rustic charm. The hosts were wonderful, they went above and beyond to make out holiday great. They just took care of us in every possible way. We have many fond memories of our trip and highly recommend this lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Contrada Lunga, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
ciao Katy, we alsoare proud of you, thank you very much for your coming, we hope to see you again! ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here for two nights on a recent trip to Lake Como, and from the moment I spoke to Annalisa on the phone when confirming my reservation, I knew we would be in good hands. Warm, effusive, and helpful, Annalisa picked us up from the train station and brought us back to the clean and quaint B&B which sits perched on a hill in Abbadia Lariana, a sleepy Lake Como village that sports a few restaurants and amenities. We soon also met Luca, with whom we had some really great conversations about traveling. My travel companion has some serious food allergies, and Luca was so generous in making accommodations from his own kitchen so my friend could get something to eat. He showed us a nice walk we could take from the B&B and drove us to the ferry when we were ready to leave. You can tell that for Annalisa and Luca, this really is a labor of love. They are absolutely adorable and so attentive to their guests. The sweetest touch is the guest book photo. Annalisa, a former professional photographer, takes gorgeous portrait shots of her guests (with their permission) when they leave, to memorialize them. I highly recommend this B&B if you are going to be in Lake Como and want to be somewhere away from the throngs of tourists, yet close to a ferry to get to all the sights of Lake Como. Bellissimo!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanRafaelChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I just spent 2 days in this amazing bnb built in 1600's and decorated with nuance and whimsy. The hostess was extremely kind and welcoming, I had a choice of rooms w private bath. Very quiet except for good sounds like occasional church bells. The breakfast was served in charming open air area. The meal included fresh squeezed juice and home made preserves. The area is very beautiful and the people are extremely nice to visitors. I highly recommend contests lunga!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SplofthOuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The place, the hosts, the village (the cats). We could not have asked for better on our stay in the lakes.
Annalisa and Luca went out of there way to look after us, allowing us to cook in after busy days of sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTERSHIRE
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We felt so welcome from the moment we arrived at Contrada Lunga, the refreshments were just what we needed after a hot journey and this set the tone for a wonderful two nights in this delightful, comfortable and characterful B &B. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and we left feeling we had made new friends.
The outside temperature was over 25 degrees when we were there but the bedroom was still cool.
Abbadia is hilly so not a place to stay for the infirm but for a true taste of Italy and for walkers it is unbeatable.
We had a car, and the parking in the car park above the B&B was no problem.
Thanks Annalisa and Luca for the stay which gave our break at Lake Como such a great start.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F0REVERY0UNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbadia Lariana
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Abbadia
Park Hotel Abbadia
#1 of 1 in Abbadia Lariana
173 reviews
7.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,048 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mamma Ciccia
Mamma Ciccia
#1 of 12 in Mandello del Lario
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
B&B Frontelago
B&B Frontelago
#2 of 12 in Mandello del Lario
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alla Torre del Barbarossa
Alla Torre del Barbarossa
#3 of 12 in Mandello del Lario
39 reviews
16.5 mi away
Alto Lago di Como
Alto Lago di Como
#3 of 12 in Gravedona
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contrada Lunga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contrada Lunga

Property: Contrada Lunga
Address: Via Alla Chiesetta 10, 23821, Abbadia Lariana, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Abbadia Lariana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Abbadia Lariana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B "Contrada Lunga", an ancient house situated in Linzanico, halfway over Abbadia Lariana. If you are looking for a special place, wich is off the beaten tourist track , you have to stop here. You will find an interesting medieval and pedestrian village, quite, cool and relaxing, with exclusive atmosphere. Let the car on the main street and reach the house on foot. The house is in the hart of Linzanico, between other houses, we are waiting for you!We will take care of you so you can have fun and keep a good memory. THE ROOMS The three rooms, each has a different size, host a maximum of 6 people. The internal architecture, while respecting the original size of the house, is characterized by massive walls that are whitewashed and by small niches, wood floor and roof: simple furnishings that give the guest a cozy, familiar feeling.Every room has a private bathroom characterized by stone floor, WC, lavabo, shower, towels, shampoo, shower gel and water heated by solar panels.Internet connection and WiFi available ; television and telephone are intentionally lacking. THE KITCHEN Breakfast is served out of the kitchen on a covered balcony where a single large table allows all our guests to meet one another, or in the court yard in the cool breeze of the morning. SURROUNDING'S In Abbadia Lariana there's a unique silk museum, where you can see the original silk wood twister, with guided tours, to explore the history of the silk and it's workings.There is also a very long beach to take unfogettable baths and eat special organic ice-cream.There are many attractions around here, romanic churches, small villages as Varenna, Bellagio, Menaggio, Colico...and the very famous lake Como Villa's.Daily boat cruise around the lake start from Abbadia Lariana.But don't forget we are closed to Grigna mountain, one of the favorite destinations for mountain lovers.And for the motorbike enthusiasts there is also the Moto Guzzi museum nearby, at Mandello del Lario.We can give you all the touristic information.RESTAURANTSOn foot you can easly reach a tipical trattoria, where you can eat traditional italian and lake specialities.HOW TO REACH USBy train from Milano Centrale/ Garibaldi: destination Sondrio/ Tirano Stop in Abbadia Lariana.By car SS 36 uscita Abbadia Lariana SP 72 We want you, come to our B&B Contrada Lunga and you will fall in love with us and lake Como as well, see you soon, ciao Annalisa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Contrada Lunga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contrada Lunga Abbadia Lariana, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing