We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Too expensive for what one gets....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Margherita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Margherita
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oggebbio
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what one gets....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Although it's late writing this review, I felt compelled nevertheless to share my views. Longer than june 2013......

We stayed 3 nights at a rate of 250euro a night, whilst attending a friends Wedding. The luxury doubleroom was small! the jacuzzi (bubbly bath) didn't work for the whole time we were there, there were stains on the headboard which for 250euro a night is totally unacceptable. Also, our room was not serviced/cleaned the second night of staying! again unacceptable. We had to ask to dress our bed and clean the bathroom. The church bells at some unearthly hour of the morning destroyed my dream of having a sleep in! All in all the experience was one that I swore I would never return and I have not!

On the positive side the gardens are lovely and the breakfast is nice...but at 250euro it is so overpriced! There are so many other hotels nearby which are much better value for money.

AND we had to pay the full price 750euro!!!!!!! even with all the mishaps because we were WEDDING GUESTS and had to pay month in advance!! we did get 3 bottles of wine as a sorry! But I personally wanted half my money back to be honest, but didn't want to cause a scene on the day as it was my lovely friends wedding....

And I don't want to comment on the Wedding Food, as this would take another A4 sheet of writing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelly-Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    13
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed one night in May in a double room for 215 Euro, breakfast cost extra 12 Euro per person. The view from the room over the lake was great. In general, a lovely family-owned villa with 18 guest-rooms located in a very quiet and small village. There is a private parking in the hotel, however there are far too many steps up to the villa, so it is better to unload the luggage in front of the reception. Despite full renovation there is no elevator in the hotel, so heavy luggage might be a problem anyway. The room was very clean of a fair size with huge bathroom. What was definitely missing was some decorative touch to personalize the room. As it was the room appeared somewhat cold. By the way, there is no central heating system, so it was really very very cold in the room. Under the windowsill some portable AC was installed, but it is not clear whether it only cools the air or also heats. I failed to find it out, because the reception was closed during the night. In fact, if anything happens or something is needed, then there is no one to get in touch with on the premises. The breakfast was good enough for the price paid. The service at the reception and at breakfast was extremely welcoming and touching. If only they had a 24-hour reception, the price would be right. As it is 215 EUR was just too much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elena076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We turned up an hour early and were sent away. Unable to leave luggage. We returned to find our lake view room had been given to someone else. Ended up in a tiny room with no view, only had the smell from the kitchen. The air conditioning had been turned off as they had had two cooler nights in a row and they thought the heat had gone for the year. It was 32 degrees!!! Had to sleep with all windows open which left us exposed (in our bed) to other guests using the stairs. The breakfast in the garden was shared with hundreds of wasps.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
309 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We lashed out and booked what we thought was a lake view room for 185€ per night. Turned out it was a 'partial' lake view. Partial was right! We could see a tiny bit of the lake in the far distance if we stood on one leg and leaned out the window. Our actual view was the side wall of a Grotty run down villa. Very disappointing. We wouldn't stay here again.
Also the trip with luggage up though the garden was strenuous to say the least, then there's the stairs of the villa itself.

Room Tip: If you want to pay for a lake view check that you will actually get one. A partial lake view is like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank ozzie5melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Not a place to go for a wedding, better for a honeymoon: choose it to stop with your girlfriend/wife and enjoy the spectacular view and cosy place, Nice rooms, good food,clean gardens and swimming pool. It is a family runned place so service is limited to essential, but enough. Around 200 euros for a room is not overrated at Villa Margherita. Only 20 rooms in total.
If you come from abroad and wish to discover the authenticity of lake Maggiore you probably do not need a superbig hotel with lots of rooms and a team of valets.Good location to visit the west coast of Lake Maggiore from Pallanza up to Switzerland.

Room Tip: A lake view room is a must, park in the church square, better to go in sunny days, all lakes are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto14023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Lovely villa on a steep slope. Great view, restaurant, room and exceptional service. Highly recommended. Tip: when you arrive park on the municipal square located a bit further up the hill than the villa's own parking. It saves you a drag with the luggage. The steep road is no problem at all, with any car.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dutchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had chosen Hotel Villa Margherita for summer 2012 as our wedding venue, due to problems the management of the Hotel Villa Margherita has, it has been canceled and will not take place. And it looks like that our wedding is not the only one which will not take place.

Besides the problems we had with the management, we have loved the location of the Villa, which is perfectly situated in the pictoresque little village Oggebbio. Especially the terrace garden with it's great view over Lago Maggiore, the flowers, the pool and the wedding pavillon.

The dream of exchanging the vows in Oggebbio is over, but we are sure to find another great venue for 2013.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lake Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oggebbio
9.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
9.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
9.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Belvedere
9.7 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
5.0 mi away
Hotel Pironi
Hotel Pironi
#2 of 10 in Cannobio
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Margherita

Property: Hotel Villa Margherita
Address: Via Giovanni Polli 11, 28824 Oggebbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Oggebbio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oggebbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Margherita 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Villa Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Italy
Hotel Villa Margherita Lake Maggiore, Italy - Oggebbio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing