We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again and even better”
Review of Antico Verbano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Antico Verbano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here twice last year, see my review for those stays, and this year made a spontaneous decision to return again for a few days. Being a last minute booking we were content to take almost whatever was available, but ended up with what must be the best apartment in the place, 16B. On arriving the staff remembered us from last year, so a nice warm welcome. She suggested not the apartment that had been reserved for us but another one, slightly smaller, but she thought we would prefer, she was not wrong. This one was at the end of the lakeside wing of the building, windows on 3 sides, 3 balconies, 2 right on the lake front, one overlooking the gardens and terrace of the restaurant. The living area was indeed slightly smaller than in the other apartments we had stayed in, this was a 3 person apartment, but there was plenty of room for the two of us, and the location and balconies made up for any reduction in space. Bedroom was good size, nicely furnished, kitchen compact with all the necessities.

Once again a great stay, early stroll to the baker in teh village to buy fresh bread for breakfast on the balcony overlooking the lake, watching the morning ferry come along, idyllic. We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Apartment 16B, for 3 people maybe a squeeze but perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJCNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residAV, Direttore generale at Antico Verbano, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

thank you very much!!! Very kind! We hope to see you again... next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 80 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our extended family stayed here for several days in June 2013. We had an absolutely wonderful time and were very happy with this place. Out of 3 destinations on a 10-day trip to Italy, everyone agreed this was by far the best.

Between all of us we had 3 rooms. My family of 5 was in a 2-story 2-bedroom loft on the 3rd floor, a sister and her family was in a 2-bedroom flat on the 2nd floor and another sister with her husband and our mother was in a 1st floor flat. Our living space and kitchen were the most spacious so we tended to hang out and cook there. Every room on the 2nd floor and above has a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs with INCREDIBLE views of the lake. We could see the Rocca Borromea di Angera perfectly from where we were. Really, the views are spectacular. In our loft, we also had a 2nd floor patio with openings in the roof that you could look out from as well. We had 2 single beds put together in one bedroom and two singles in the other. They were firm but comfortable. There were also 2 couches upstairs with pull-out beds. Each bedroom has a wardrobe or a dresser. We also had another wardrobe near the couches upstairs. The rooms are decorated in white, and it is a very clean and simple look. The stairs had beautiful dark wood. The building is L-shaped and all the rooms have lake views.

I want to point out that this is a RESIDENCE, not a HOTEL. They do book for shorter stays, but many people we met there (including Americans) were staying for several months on business. Because it is a residence, they do not clean your room daily. Also, they bring fresh towels only every 3 days, and there is not always someone at the front desk. But the staff at the front desk is helpful and friendly --- just not there 24/7.

I loved our bathroom. It was very high-end with a nice, roomy shower stall and all updated fixtures. Plus marble tile and counters. Very elegant and functional. Lots of hot water and really a joy showering.

The kitchen is well stocked with plates and utensils. There are 2 electric burners, a good-sized fridge and freezer, a microwave/convection oven, and a dishwasher.

There is a TV with satellite, although we didn't really use it. The free wifi was spotty. It comes from the lobby, so I think the distance matters. We could get it on the lower floor but not upstairs. And when we did get it it was fairly slow. There is an elevator.

The garden is lovely, with several tables and a covered area with couches and easy chairs. The pool was very nice. It has a gravel bottom, which was a first for me. There is a shallow wading area for small kids next to the main pool. Plenty of chairs and umbrellas and towels at the front desk. And the pool deck is right on the water with an area where you can jump in and out of the lake. I saw a paddle-boat tied up, but we didn't use it.

Next door is a small park and parking lot, a ferry terminal, and a small cafe. You can easily walk to a bank, grocery store, bakery, etc.. Meina is slower-paced than many of the towns on the lake. You won't find crowded piazza's and upscale shops and grand promenades. But everything you need is close by without tons of tourists.

There is also private gated parking about a block away (the lot near the ferry terminal can fill up). There is a restaurant on the main floor. We didn't eat there. It appeared like they cater to parties and large groups, although I did have a drink at the bar. It can be a little noisy at times, but never to the point where it interfered with us sleeping.

The only negative thing we can say is about the laundry. It is incredibly slow --- about 2 1/2 hours per load. So many times you have to just leave your clothes to queue if someone else is doing theirs. Also, you are on the honor system to pay $5 Euro per load. There is a dryer, and the rooms also have drying racks you can use.

I honestly cannot recommend this place enough. We had a wonderful time here, and the place is very nice with a stunning view. Very relaxing, and it was always easy to drive to one of the nearby bigger towns with all the shopping and strolling. This was a relaxing, quiet place that fit us perfectly.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the lake, but if you like leaving windows open choose the 2nd floor or above. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CT_Programmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residAV, Direttore generale at Antico Verbano, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

thank you very much, we hope to see you and your nice family again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just spent one week in this residence conveniently located right on the shore of Lake Maggiore between Arona and Stresa. The location is great, the overall quality of the building is excellent and the personnel is welcoming and ready to solve any problem. Still, a few details could be better: Neither on the web page nor during the booking process it was pointed out to us that all one- and two-bedroom flats are on two floors, with a steep staircase connecting the living and sleeping room. If you happen to have a couple of little kids prone to tumble down stairwells, your holidays will be considerably complicated. Also, on arrival (and in spite of the hefty price) the cleanliness of the flat was somewhat superficial. Finally, those who furnished the flat had no eye for details: There is no point in having an outdoor table on the balcony if it interferes with the facile opening and closing of the shutters; the bathroom on the first floor was unfinished; we had plenty of towels for the bathroom but very few hooks to hang them on; there were no extra blankets in the bedroom (just in case the weather turns crazy and night temperatures are much lower than the season average…as it was the case for us).

Room Tip: Beware that all one- and two-bedroom flats are on two floors, with a steep staircase connecting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pignolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful appartments, very well equiped. We actually stayed twice, it was so good we returned! The first time we had one of the appartments on the second floor, this was a better layout for 2 people with kitchen bathroom and living with balcony on one floor then stairs up to a large bedroom with terrace on both ends. Be aware that if 4 people were staying (the living room has a sofa bed) the balcony is for 2 people only!

Some have complained that reception is not always open, I don't see the problem, we popped in to the attached restaurant, there are always staff there who are happy to help you. The staff were delightful, so pleased to see us back for the second visit! The village is a real and non-touristy place with a baker and gocery store, friendly little cafe on the waterfront, the ferry calls once a day in each direction and there are 4 or 5 trains a day from the local station. What more do you want? Not cheap but we found it value for money for the location and standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJCNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Antico Verbano is set right on Lake Maggiore and is a fairly new apartment complex with a restaurant and, most importantly, a swimming pool overlooking the lake. The apartment was extremely spacious, modern and very well equipped. We had a small balcony with a view of the lake. Meina is a good base for exploring the Piemonte countryside and we visited Biella from there. We dined at the restaurant on our last evening and were rather miffed that the table we had booked at the front was not available and we seemed to have been "fitted in" right at the back. However, the food was very good - nouvelle cuisine though, which was fine for me. Special mention for Valentina at reception who was most helpful to us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had the most beautiful spot of the residence wherein the lake is almost within reach. We really liked the kitchenette complete with all the cuttleries and plates and not to mention the modern electric stove and the mini fridge. Our room was very spacious and bed was really comfortable, our son even had his own bed without added fee. Very close to Stresa and Arona where we enjoyed strolling around. We had a very pleasant and relaxing stay in this residence. To think that we just saw this promo with an extremely convenient price for 3 nights and i was more than contented to have availed of their offer...highly recommended for families like us! Pity that the pool wasn't working yet as the weather was still a bit cold. Insignificant detail though.

Room Tip: ask for the room that's at the end of the building, facing the lake...stunning view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Rose Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel with our family of two adults and two children (ages 3 and 11). We were given a two-floor room with two bedrooms (one with queen size bed and the other with two twin beds). Since the hotel was very recently renovated, our room still did not have bathrooms upstairs :-( Otherwise, the room was lovely, with wood floor and built-in kitchen with a large dining table for six persons. We were positively surprised at how quiet the hotel was. There is no breakfast included and finding decent breakfast in Italy is really difficult. The pool was wonderful with rocks in the bottom although the water didn't appear very clean. A small swing set kept our little one busy for a while. The town of Meina is very small and doesn't offer much, so if you want shopping in the evenings or just more action than a dead town, then stay at Stresa for example. We were really disappointed when on Saturday morning, a guy cleaned the streets outside the hotel with a VERY LOUD leaf blower. I wish they would still use the good old brooms to sweep the streets. Otherwise, for honeymooners that just want to enjoy the Dolce Vita, this hotel is perfect!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view to the lake, it really is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meina
6.7 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,429 reviews
6.7 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 35 in Stresa
1,379 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
6.8 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
4.5 mi away
Relais Casali della Cisterna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Verbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Verbano

Address: Via del Sempione 60/62, 28046 Meina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Meina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Meina
Price Range: $72 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Verbano 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Antico Verbano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing