We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bel Sit Hotel-Ristorante
Nearby Hotels
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
61
32
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
32
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanlake viewbalconynoisestresawifi
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 100 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here one night. Located directly on the lake our room and balcony had a wonderful view of Lago Maggiore. Room was clean, quite modern, bed comfortable and the staff, esp Marcos, were very helpful. I thought good value for money. Only downside is Meina is a small quiet town and Aroona is either a car ride or taxi away.

Complimentary breakfast had a good range to choose from.

Room Tip: Ask for Lake view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMPAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed only one night. It was comfortable, very clean and I thought good value for money. It is a smaller boutique place. Breakfast was very nice.

Location wise it is right on Lake Maggiore at the front and a busy road at the entrance. Its handy but a pity you can't actually walk along the lake's edge, but that is not the Bel Sit's fault. None the less it was great to sip on a drink and watch the boats go by.

Marcos was very helpful, he speaks Italian and French well, but we improvised on the English. The restaurant he suggested was a winner.

Final comment- it was magnificent to watch the sun rise over the lake.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMPAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a small, family-run hotel right on the side of Lago Maggiore. It is actually owned and run by the same family who run the Hotel Villa Paradiso about 300m further up the SS33, a fact that was bizarrely not made known to us. There is no mention of the connection on the Hotel Bel Sit website or in any information available at the Hotel Bel Sit. This is very strange because the Bel Sit only offers breakfast whilst the sister hotel offers a full meal service. Meals taken at the Hotel Villa Paradiso can be charged to your Bel Sit bill; we only found this out accidentally on our last day!

We had a first-floor room overlooking the lake with a small balcony. However, the balcony opens up to a first floor terrace which is accessible to all guests. This means that you can't leave your room door open to let in fresh air while you are not in your room. The 2nd floor rooms are a little smaller but have more privacy.The room was a good size with adequate facilities. Overall, we were very happy with our room and with the hotel but it was let down by a few very minor details. For example, the mini-bar said that it had local beer which was 50c cheaper than export beer but was only stocked with export beer. We were provided with 2 plastic cups for drinking from the mini-bar..... plastic cups for a 4-star hotel?? A cup broke and was not replaced by cleaning staff. Free wi-fi was available but a code had to be obtained which expired anything from 24 hours to 3-4 days later. The code could only be used on one device (as there is no logoff feature) so you couldn't use one code for a phone and a laptop or tablet, for example. No English-speaking TV channels other than BBC World News, despite the hotel providing Sky services. The air-conditioning didn't seem to work properly.

However, despite these small "issues", we really enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts were great with an excellent selection and superb breakfast staff member. The weather was not warm enough for lake swimming but the hotel has its own lake access.

As other reviewers have noted, the hotel is right on the main SS33 road so a lake view room is essential to avoid traffic noise. Similarly, Meine is a very small town with almost nothing to do there and public transport is not brilliant with buses stopping in the early evening. The train station is a 10-minute walk away with trains to Stresa north and down to Milan south. A car is essential; the hotel has free parking. A visit to restaurant La Locanda dei Fiori is a must. They speak very little English and the menu is only in Italian but the Sicilian-style food is excellent.

Room Tip: Larger rooms on 1st floor but balcony opens onto public terrace. Avoid front of hotel overlooking road.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rammblings101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The view of the lake from the hotel is absolutely stunning. Ensure you book a room with a view as everyone says. The breakfast is lovely and well presented. The staff are all very friendly but Barbara is the real star. She is receptionist/barmaid & room service - and all with a smile.

Our only disappointment for a hotel called Bel-Sit Ristorante is there is no restaurant in the evening. Meina itself is very quiet with not much choice for eating.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshinegirlmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We (=two couples) went to this hotel for 4 nights. had a wonderful time there, I only can recommand it!

The breakfast was delicious, self made cakes, fresh, fruits, etc. Even after 4 mornings not boring. The staff was really nice and spoke great English. They helped us with all our questions, gave great restaurant recommendations and provided us even with wine glasses when we wanted to drink our own wine at the room.

Don't look too much at the pictures - in reality the hotel is even nicer - and since it is directly at Lago Maggiore it is worth way more than what we paid for it...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews