We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel at good price, staff really helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Sit Hotel-Ristorante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bel Sit Hotel-Ristorante
Ranked #2 of 6 Meina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice hotel at good price, staff really helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed only one night. It was comfortable, very clean and I thought good value for money. It is a smaller boutique place. Breakfast was very nice.

Location wise it is right on Lake Maggiore at the front and a busy road at the entrance. Its handy but a pity you can't actually walk along the lake's edge, but that is not the Bel Sit's fault. None the less it was great to sip on a drink and watch the boats go by.

Marcos was very helpful, he speaks Italian and French well, but we improvised on the English. The restaurant he suggested was a winner.

Final comment- it was magnificent to watch the sun rise over the lake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMPAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
44
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a small, family-run hotel right on the side of Lago Maggiore. It is actually owned and run by the same family who run the Hotel Villa Paradiso about 300m further up the SS33, a fact that was bizarrely not made known to us. There is no mention of the connection on the Hotel Bel Sit website or in any information available at the Hotel Bel Sit. This is very strange because the Bel Sit only offers breakfast whilst the sister hotel offers a full meal service. Meals taken at the Hotel Villa Paradiso can be charged to your Bel Sit bill; we only found this out accidentally on our last day!

We had a first-floor room overlooking the lake with a small balcony. However, the balcony opens up to a first floor terrace which is accessible to all guests. This means that you can't leave your room door open to let in fresh air while you are not in your room. The 2nd floor rooms are a little smaller but have more privacy.The room was a good size with adequate facilities. Overall, we were very happy with our room and with the hotel but it was let down by a few very minor details. For example, the mini-bar said that it had local beer which was 50c cheaper than export beer but was only stocked with export beer. We were provided with 2 plastic cups for drinking from the mini-bar..... plastic cups for a 4-star hotel?? A cup broke and was not replaced by cleaning staff. Free wi-fi was available but a code had to be obtained which expired anything from 24 hours to 3-4 days later. The code could only be used on one device (as there is no logoff feature) so you couldn't use one code for a phone and a laptop or tablet, for example. No English-speaking TV channels other than BBC World News, despite the hotel providing Sky services. The air-conditioning didn't seem to work properly.

However, despite these small "issues", we really enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts were great with an excellent selection and superb breakfast staff member. The weather was not warm enough for lake swimming but the hotel has its own lake access.

As other reviewers have noted, the hotel is right on the main SS33 road so a lake view room is essential to avoid traffic noise. Similarly, Meine is a very small town with almost nothing to do there and public transport is not brilliant with buses stopping in the early evening. The train station is a 10-minute walk away with trains to Stresa north and down to Milan south. A car is essential; the hotel has free parking. A visit to restaurant La Locanda dei Fiori is a must. They speak very little English and the menu is only in Italian but the Sicilian-style food is excellent.

Room Tip: Larger rooms on 1st floor but balcony opens onto public terrace. Avoid front of hotel overlooking ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rammblings101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The view of the lake from the hotel is absolutely stunning. Ensure you book a room with a view as everyone says. The breakfast is lovely and well presented. The staff are all very friendly but Barbara is the real star. She is receptionist/barmaid & room service - and all with a smile.

Our only disappointment for a hotel called Bel-Sit Ristorante is there is no restaurant in the evening. Meina itself is very quiet with not much choice for eating.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshinegirlmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We (=two couples) went to this hotel for 4 nights. had a wonderful time there, I only can recommand it!

The breakfast was delicious, self made cakes, fresh, fruits, etc. Even after 4 mornings not boring. The staff was really nice and spoke great English. They helped us with all our questions, gave great restaurant recommendations and provided us even with wine glasses when we wanted to drink our own wine at the room.

Don't look too much at the pictures - in reality the hotel is even nicer - and since it is directly at Lago Maggiore it is worth way more than what we paid for it...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore Hills, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Bel Sit is right on Lago Maggiore with a lake access. Beach is rocky with small pier. Flotsam was around the water, while the rest of the lake looked clear. Two good restaurants in walking distance (one pizzeria at the Palma Hotel and a full scale, top service restaurant with lake views at the Paradiso Hotel). Otherwise, you need a car to try other very good restaurants nearby in Arona, Lesa and Stresa.

Great breakfast with variety on the patio overlooking the lake. We booked the standard room but were able to upgrade to the superior room which had a patio and beautiful views of the lake (otherwise the view was the road and businesses across the street). Both types were nicely sized and appointed rooms.

The staff was very friendly, immediately responsive and helpful in finding good restaurants.

Good location to visit the Angera castle, Arona and Stresa, but you need a car. No charge for parking.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SagamoreMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a gem of a place! The rooms were spacious and comfortable with lovely bathrooms but as everyone else has said, you MUST get a lakeview room to fully appreciate the place. The staff were great and the breakfast was very good. The bathing area and sunbeds were lovely and all the rooms had small balconies or terraces. Meina is not like Stresa, the town is very quiet and certainly not suitable for anyone looking for nightlife though there are a couple of restaurants in the vicinity. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a holiday with a bit of serenity in a beautiful location. Don't let the front of the hotel put you off!!

Room Tip: Lake view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileyGlenbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Hotel Bel-Sit has to be one of the most pleasant hotels on Lake Maggiore. Our extremely comfortable, spacious and quiet room had beautiful lake views. The hotel is very convenient for exploring the western side of the lake,the friendly and helpful hotel staff really helped us to enjoy our four night break. The tasty and varied breakfast is served on the terrace overlooking the lake. For a peaceful restful holiday you wont do better than the Hotel Bel Sit.

Room Tip: Do book a room with a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FourCrazyIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meina
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
6.6 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#3 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
6.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
4.4 mi away
Relais Casali della Cisterna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Sit Hotel-Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Sit Hotel-Ristorante

Property: Bel Sit Hotel-Ristorante
Address: Via del Sempione 76, 28046 Meina, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Meina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bel Sit Hotel-Ristorante 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Bel Sit Hotel-Ristorante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing