We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meina
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“2nd Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We rarely return anywhere but we had stopped here Easter 2012 and wanted to take my husbands elderly parents for a 50th wedding anniversary treat. We knew they would like the traditional room and food so rebooked to come back late May this year.
We had booked independently so I emailed the hotel before travel - they sent back a lovely response and gave us a table in the convervatory overlooking the lake. They also did a cake for my husbands parents which they loved.
The table you are allocated is your table for the duration of your stay - breakfast and dinner. We found the food very good although we were only there for 3 nights. Breakfast is fine with adequate choice and the dinner in the evenings was freshly prepared and of a good quality. I don't think for the money you can complain about the food. The coach parties are seated in the proper restaurant next door so the noise level is not too bad
The bar is fine and the drinks good value. You get little nibbles with the beer and wine and biscuits with coffee and tea!
The rooms are large and we had booked lake view which is lovely. They are quite dated but very clean and have all you need. Shower is very powerful although there was a small issue with the water temperature in the mornings - i think all the coach guests get up and ready at once and so it puts pressure on the water system!
The hotel is on a busy road but in an elevated position so you are not disturbed by traffic noise and this does enhance the view from your room and dinner table.
I would say that if you stay here you do really need a car - public transport is limited - a car will give you freedom and flexibility and there is ample free parking at the hotel.
Staff are very friendly and will do their utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant
This was an ideal choice for us

Room Tip: Pay extra for the lake view room - the view is worth the small extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    47
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
74
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Travelled to the Paradiso on a Thomson discovery tour package, but discovered Thomson appeared to have sub-let the tour to a company called Cristal, who didn't measure up to previous Thomson experiences.

Our small room had an excellent view of the lake, the beds were very comfortable and cleaning staff kept it really clean throughout our stay. The room had a tiny en-suite bathroom with no bath and space at a premium in the shower - not really enough room for a couple to stow all their gear. Menu was limited with little choice and the evening meal had to be ordered at breakfast! Got the impression that there weren't enough staff on duty to cope with workload at mealtimes. Tour customers ate in a conservatory annexe and meant you felt a bit like second-class citizens. Free WiFi was great, but codes had to be renewed by reception every 24 hours, so became irritating. Staff very friendly and did their best to be helpful.

Hotel a bit isolated and located on a busy road that is dangerous to walk on and public transport appeared to end at 19.30 leaving an expensive taxi (€30 to Stresa one way) your only option. The bar was a dull and gloomy affair that didn't seem to get a lot of use, so with no public transport it was usually an early night after dinner! However, it is a small hotel so very quiet.

Some internal wildlife prevalent at the hotel, Lots of spiders, mozzies and ants in eating area and en-suite bathroom.
Air con in room, but had to ask for it to be turned on.

Tour Rep pleasant, but obviously new and under informed: didn't know trains would be on strike: bus times on a Sunday and wrote wrong times on excursion tickets. The excursions: Zermatt, long journey with very early start; anticipated railway trip up mountain never happened so spent three hours in Zermatt, which was way too long; guide Barbara excellent and showed us Fuchs restaurant which was very good; 3 Lakes, another 7 hours on coach but three nice stops and Barbara a mine of information again; Milan, a good day out.

Overall, an enjoyable holiday but the hotel does have some shortcomings and so not quite paradise.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maccoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our holiday to the Italian Lakes was booked from Thomson Lakes & Mountains brochure as a discovery package to Lake Maggiore. We flew from Manchester airport to Milan and with a one hour transfer to our Hotel - the Villa Paradiso.

I had chosen to book through Thomson Holidays as had had two lovely holidays through them in Sorrento. Unfortunately it appears they have sub contracted this holiday to Crystal and the whole experience was not of the same standard.

On arrival at the resort on a sunny Saturday lunchtime, we were totally blown away by the gorgeous setting of the hotel which is by the Lake. The main road around the lake is very busy, the hotel on one side of the road with the lake just on the other side. Unfortunately there is very little in the way of pavement, meaning any attempt to stroll anywhere within a 100 yards of the hotel is not only impossible but could be positively dangerous. And there lies the main problem. The hotel, whilst situated in a beautiful setting, is very isolated for any traveller without their own transport. Buses are close enough to safely reach and Stresa is about 15 mins bus ride away and well worth a visit, BUT the last bus back is at 7.30pm so realistically you have to stay put in the evening in the hotel.

The hotel is a small, family run hotel that is a little tired. Our room, 332, was small with en-suite shower and toilet and a lake view. Despite the noisy road, the room was remarkably quiet and had air conditioning, fridge and safe. The hotel does offer free wifi but you have to get a login password for a maximum of 24 hours at a time.

On a positive note, the room was kept very clean, the beds are really comfortable, towels changed daily and all the staff were very keen to help in any way.

The food was very limited though. Breakfast was fine, the usual fare, cold meat and cheese, cereals, yoghurts, eggs, toast and cakes. The UK guests dine in a separate area, from the French and German coach parties. The menu appears to be more restrictive for UK travellers as well and this all makes you feel a bit like second class citizens. We were asked to choose our evening meal at breakfast time, which is a little odd as were the choices. If you like fresh lake carp, you are in luck as that is the option at least 3 times a week. Variations on courgettes appear on many occasions including courgette omelette one night. Escalope of veal and chicken are regular favourites with a non descript sauce. The menu offers three choices of starters and main courses, but in truth the choices are so repetitive we ended up having the pasta starter as our main course and avoiding the other options.

Having had your meal, almost everyone disappears to their rooms as the bar area is a dark gloomy and unwelcoming area. The veranda is lovely, looking over the lake but the weather wasn't kind enough for us to do this.

The tours we went on as part of the discovery package were interesting, informative but very tiring. We arrived on a Saturday and on the Monday and Tuesday we had 12 hour coach trips starting at 7am. We had an excellent guide, Barbara for the trips but timings weren't always the best, with either too long on the coach eg 3.5 hours at a time or too long in some of the stop offs. Overall though we saw some gorgeous places and can highly recommend Fuchs Restaurant on the trip to the Matterhorn! On our last day we went to Milan, which was another great trip. Beware of coffee prices outside the cathedral though, we were stung for 18 euros for 2 cappuccinos!

Overall, I did enjoy my holiday because Italy is such a gorgeous place to visit and the Italians so welcoming and helpful. If I was to return, I would prefer to stay in Stresa I think as Villa Paradiso is just too isolated for me, but this is a very personal view.

Room Tip: Top floor lake view rooms will be quietest but choose garden view if you don't want any road noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
679 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

... there was a four-star-hotel at the coast of the Lago Maggiore in Meina. But "tempora mutantur", times change, and today, most of the guests are not Englishmen in an Aston-Martin or Italians in an Alfa Romeo but groups in buses for which two parking places are marked. Not only, this patronage is not quite suitable for a luxury villa, even worse, tour operators don't like to pay for their guests. So, the hotel has to save money, wherever possible. For breakfast you get fruit salade based on canned fruits, orange juice declarated "Juice, water, sugar" and a list of additives, eggs coded "3" which means they are from hens housed in outlawed cages. As a goody, there is homemade Lemon marmalade - but the jam, it's a pity, is industrial. The evening meals are plain fare.

The staff attempts to speak the language of their guests, so when a german group is here, the menu is in German - which means the Minestrone becomes a "Gemüsesuppe nach Gärtnerin Art". Why do these people go to Italy? At least could the menu be in two languages.

When you look in the internet, you see a magnifique view to the lake - but, unfortunately, between hotel and lake is SS 33, the main road to the Simplon pass. At the back, there is the respective railway main line. In the evening, a stroll at the lakeside is not to recommend, as you would have to follow the main road without pedestrian pavement.

Don't forget your bathing cap, if you would like to frequent the hotel pool.

Wifi is free, and depending of the receptionist, you get a 6-hour or a 24-hour allowance.

All in all, it's a difficult situation for the owner to juggle too many balls at once.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Faber689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel itself is lovely! Everyone is friendly, food is brilliant, the rooms are superb! What more could one ask for? However this is a trip for people not looking to travel to the main cities in the South like Rome or even the East like Venice. To make up for it there are great transport routes and excursions to Milan and Switzerland and other lakes up north!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hemal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel Villa Paradiso is a superb hotel on the edge of the town of Meina in a stunning position looking out over Lake Maggiore. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and there was a pleasant mixture of humour and formality from the waiters in the dining room. Our room was on the third floor on the front with a wonderful view of the lake. The food was excellent with plenty of variety, both for breakfast and for dinner. We chose the main course for dinner from 3 options at breakfast. At the back of the hotel is a walled garden with a swimming pool with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas around it, and across the road at the front of the hotel, it has its own beach, again with sunbeds and umbrellas. We found the terrace at the front of the hotel to be a very pleasant place to relax for pre dinner drinks. I would mention 2 negatives: the busy road which we had to cross to get to the beach at the front and the lack of pavements meant that it was virtually impossible to have a stroll after dinner and prevented us walking to the next village during the day – great hotel if you have your own transport but there is a lack of alternative eating places if you haven’t. Train station and bus stop close by – unfortunately both stop running at 7.30pm so a taxi back from Stasa will cost you £30+ compared to 3 euros on the bus. You cannot fault the hotel for this and would stay again if I had a car!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EHB0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

On the whole, we had a lovely holiday to the Villa Paradiso. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even booking our transfer bus from the airport to the hotel, which drops you only about 100 meters from the hotel and was a very reasonably priced.

We asked for and paid a small supplement for a lake view. Although our room didn't have a balcony, we still enjoyed the view and the room was a very good size, with a good sized en suite including bath and shower.

The ferry only goes from Meina once a day, but as long as you don't mind fitting in with that and bus and other ferry timetables, we found it easy to get around and saw most of what we wanted to see in and around Lake Maggiore, including a trip up to the swiss part of the lake, Lake Orta and Lake Varese which we cycled to hiring bikes from Stresa and Ispra (the cycle shop in Ispra I would certainly recommend).

The dining room was wonderful having views right across the lake so you could see the sun going down each evening. There was a great mix of young families, couples and older people in the hotel.

The downside we thought was some of the food. The first night we ate like kings. The salad buffet covered the table and included meats and cheeses, as well as eggs, coleslaw and other salad. The second night, we were down to just salad and eggs and half of the table. From then on in, it was just salad and not a great choice of that. The soup or pasta and rice courses dishes we thought were excellent and some of the nicest I've ever had. The main courses however, were often warm and an omellete I had one evening was cold. The puddings, however, were first rate as was the choice at breakfast.

We too were bitten, although this was when we were out and about, as well as in the hotel.

Overall, yes I would return and yes I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsELeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meina
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Hotel Villa Carlotta
#2 of 3 in Belgirate
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
6.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
6.1 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
6.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Conca Azzurra
Hotel Conca Azzurra
#2 of 2 in Ranco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Paradiso

Property: Hotel Villa Paradiso
Address: Via del Sempione 125, 28046 Meina, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Meina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing