We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER GO TO THIS HOTEL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Di Frino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castello Di Frino
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ghiffa
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NEVER GO TO THIS HOTEL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We would like to make a statement about rude and unacceptable behaviour of personal at this hotel!!!
We were in Castello di Frino 17-18/08 and after we showed a Smartbox gift package equivalent to a payment we were attacked by an aggressive behaviour of the receptionist there!!! She was humiliating us with racist offences and personal mental issues!!! Additionally to this humiliation that we had the swimming pool din't worked and they didn't informed us about it when we made a reservation before. We will complain to tourist office in Ghiffa and police office about this accident. We highly recommend everyone to avoid this horrible dirty hotel with inappropriate hotel staff!!!

Room Tip: Rooms were dirty with unmaintained furniture condition!!! Area around hotel was ugh and with a real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainfall103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Comrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We drove for the first time from our property in Abruzzo back to the Uk and found this wee gem on tripadvisor. Run by a lovely sister and brother it has to be one of the most romantic hotels I have stayed in and I have been in many a hotel. The views were spectacular, the food exquisite, breakfast wonderful and the hosts so helpful. I can say if you are in the area you should only consider this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caledoniantrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bologna
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

I first stayed at Castello di Frino 20 years ago and have always dreamt of going back. It's the sort of place you can't forget...for various reasons!
The position is enchanting, the views superb and the castle is full of charm. It's like sleeping in a museum! The rooms are enormous and furnished with antiques. Large windows offer magnificent views of the lake.Bathrooms are very basic. The lounge and dining room are comfortable and pleasant. The food was good and a pleasure to take breakfast in the garden.
Unfortunately the swimming pool was out of order and probably has been for quite some time. The only television on the premises was also broken ( not a huge problem). The general feeling was of neglect or perhaps lack of resources, the rooms in the dependence are very disappointing and far too expensive ( same price as in the castle) but in spite of everything I would definately reccommend Castello di Frino to anyone looking for an unusual place to stay, bursting in by gone day atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cagioiosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ghiffa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ghiffa
Hotel Ghiffa
#1 of 3 in Ghiffa
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Margherita
Hotel Villa Margherita
#1 of 2 in Oggebbio
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#1 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Pallanza
Hotel Pallanza
#4 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#2 of 3 in Premeno
3.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
2.3 mi away
Il Chiostro
Il Chiostro
#6 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Di Frino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Di Frino

Property: Castello Di Frino
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 8, Ghiffa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Ghiffa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ghiffa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castello Di Frino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Frino Ghiffa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing