We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cannobio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cannobio
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cannobio
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Situated on the lake, with great views up and down maggiore. We stayed in room 102 which had a large balcony. (only about 4/5 rooms have balconies- well worth the extra cost though). Very friendly staff and made you feel special and welcome, although sometimes hard to get hold of!
The bulk of the restaurants and bars are situated on the cobbled road 50-100metres from the hotel. No problems with noise.
Private parking for eur15/day. A god send! The public parking is busy and quite far from hotel. We stayed Saturday-Monday, so thankfully avoided travelling on the Sunday when there was a VERY busy market lining the streets. Don't arrive/leave on a Sunday without checking this first.
A word of advice in general though, as wonderful as Cannobio is, the sun is lost behind the town at about 4pm... Those wanting longer evenings and sunsets might want a town on the east coast.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hensio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    34
    8
    3
    9
See reviews for
17
61
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Location is everything and this Hotel is on the perfect spot. Few meters from the lake and in the middle of this amazing historical city of Cannobio, Lago Maggiore, Piemonte, Italy. Pricy, yes, but they can…with this location... Is also well maintained and the personnel very nice and charm.
Best moments are the dawn, when you open your window to the lake and realize where you are! And then, the breakfast place, same as the restaurant for lunch and dining, that is right at lakes. You will feel like Marcello Mastroianni in one of those epic Italian films.
Careful! Not all rooms are the same. I took 2, and some are much better designed and decorated , even if over watching the lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zaspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Amazing place , just on the lake. Great staff and wonderful breakfast.Only one negative - a lot of ants in the rooms. When i told at receiption about ants they were not surprised ( so they knew!!!)
For 200 E one night and 4 stars hotel it is not suitable!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Hotel Cannobio joins all the best of Italy: taste, design, charm, and the warm of the people. Everything makes you feel to be in the right place. The service is excellent, starting from the reception (thanks a lot Mariana for your kindness), the restaurant, the parking. The rooms are tastely decorated. The view to the Lago Maggiore are extraordinary.
Besides, Cannobio is one of the most charming villages in the lakes.
Excellent experience.

Room Tip: Reserve with time, for rooms with a view to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

This hotel was not cheep but we really enjoyed. The views to the lake and the main street are magnificent. Many rooms seem to have balconies or windows overlooking these great views. The rooms are very modern, recently renovated with a nice touch and unique atmosphere. Clean and comfortable.
The rich breakfast is served on the lake shore. The staff was friendly (they even parked our car which is not custom in Italy). I am really happy we did not compromise and selected this hotel. If you value nice places, beautiful setup and good service choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for views to both the main street and the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bafi009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We happened on this hotel by mistake, but can't wait to go again. A small village. The hotel is right on the piazza with Lake Maggiore practically beneath your window. Huge room with a double bed, desk, couch, table and chairs, bench, two big windows. Big bathroom with a fab shower. People very sweet and welcoming. And the price was great,.

Room Tip: But don't expect a swimming pool. In the right season, the lake will do just fine. Ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erch32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Didn't stay at this hotel as we were staying elsewhere in Cannobio but we went for dinner on Saturday night. Most of the restaurants in town were really busy, mainly due to the fact that everyone had to sit inside because of the weather.

We turned up at the Hotel Cannobio and they were very accommodating, laying up a lovely table for us. The food was excellent - my husband and I both had risotto with porcini mushrooms and it was delicious. My ma and brother had the chicken with sage sauce and they thoroughly enjoyed it too.

Not the cheapest place in town to eat but definitely worth it for the quality of food and great service. And their coffee was good too.

Would definitely go back to eat there if I was in Cannobio again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MallorcaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannobio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pironi
Hotel Pironi
#2 of 10 in Cannobio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Belvedere
0.1 mi away
Antica Stallera Hotel
Antica Stallera Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cannobio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Il Portico
Hotel Il Portico
#5 of 10 in Cannobio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Cannero
Hotel Cannero
#1 of 6 in Cannero Riviera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Rondinella
Hotel La Rondinella
#6 of 6 in Cannero Riviera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cannobio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cannobio

Property: Hotel Cannobio
Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele III 6, 28822 Cannobio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Cannobio
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cannobio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cannobio 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cannobio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cannobio Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing