We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pironi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pironi
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cannobio
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I rarely rate hotels through business and laziness, but this one was just outstanding. For a start, it's as beautiful in 'real life' as in their promotional photos and our room was beautiful. There are bright colours everywhere, and the whole space is light and airy and kept perfectly clean. Breakfasts are outstanding - buffets can be kind of sad affairs, but this one was incredible, especially for a small hotel. I loved the courteous, helpful staff; the location was perfect - a very short distance from the lake shore - and I was sorry to leave. I was delighted that we had a bath in our room, an unexpected bonus, and I wouldn't hesitate to go back there, or to recommend it to others. And how amazing that a hotel on a tiny cobbled street would turn out to have spacious parking! Brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joss P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    43
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
259
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown
Level Contributor
203 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I don't usually rate 3-star hotels as excellent, but this one is an exception. This is a very charming hotel with a lot of character. Our room had a balcony overlooking the old town. It was just beautiful!. The breakfast is served in an elegant setting, eggs are made to order, and the buffet is plentiful. One thing I don't like about 3-star hotels is the quality of their towels. The towels here were big and thick. A word of caution: many rooms here (including ours) have lofts, and the bathrooms are upstairs, so if you have problems walking up and down stairs, it might be an issue. Also, there is an elevator, but to get to the elevator you need to take a short flight of stairs, which is a little hard if you have big suitcases. Also, since the hotel is on a pedestrian street, you will need to haul your suitcases from the hotel's parking lot on cobblestone. That said, I would stay at Pironi again and highly recommend it for the charm and the lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very nice hotel in an old stone building, full of charm. Very convenient parking for the car, nice room. Great location. Very enjoyable, highly recommended. Excellent breakfast.There is no restaurant for lunch or dinner but the restaurant next door (same building) is nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This a fantastic little find. Situated in a great location in Cannobio, the rooms are well sized and immaculate. The staff is extremely helpful and polite, and the breakfast is delicious. I literally can't think of a single negative - very highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a great little hotel. The attention to detail was amazing. The breakfast was exceptional. Free parking, internet available, a lift, beautiful rooms and superb location. I'm not sure how another reviewer could find fault with parking not being directly at the hotel. I guess if one wants that one should not stay in the old part of the city in ancient European towns. The parking was VERY close and VERY convenient. Our little room was well worth every euro cent we paid. Can't wait to return to the hotel and charming Cannobio. Beware: restaurants close at 10pm in Cannobio (which is very unusual for Italy) and there are really no bars or pubs or nightlife.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotbreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had both a double and a single room at Hotel Pironi for two nights and enjoyed Cannobio very much. Our double room had a lake view and in early July was quite hot. The fan provided did move some air around but we had to leave the window and balcony door open. The bathroom was at hall level, so up some steps, and was quite humid after showers. Also not ideal for any level of handicap (wife recovering from foot surgery). The single room on the street side was much cooler due to the shade on that side of the property.
Arrival by car was a bit convoluted since we didn't know we could drive on the Strand - that would have been nice to know ahead of time. Also, the parking, though quite nearby, was a bit of a hassle.
The breakfast was fantastic, front-desk service was great. One restaurant that was recommended ended up being closed for the duration of our visit, but the Strand has plenty to chose from. Don't miss the sunset/moonrise with a Spritz on the Strand!

Room Tip: As stated, the lakeside rooms get morning sun and get pretty steamy, the street side rooms stay cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommyk770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

This was the third time my wife and I have stayed here. We absolutely love this gem on Lago Maggiore!! The location is perfect, a 2 minute walk to the Piazza on the lake. The service is first rate and the owners and staff are extremely friendly. We always include breakfast in our stay and it did not disappoint. The rooms are wonderful. My wife and I stayed in room 10 which was great - a King size bed with a small balcony with a view of the lake. My sister and 2 friends stayed in room 7 which was a perfect set up with a loft. The hotel set up reservations for us at local restaurants each night. I recommend this hotel to anyone that is planning a visit to Lago Maggiore.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KSchultz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannobio
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Belvedere
2.8 mi away
Hotel Cannero
Hotel Cannero
#1 of 6 in Cannero Riviera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cannobio
Hotel Cannobio
#4 of 10 in Cannobio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
13.9 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#1 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
15.9 mi away
Relais Casali della Cisterna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pironi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pironi

Property: Hotel Pironi
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 35, 28822 Cannobio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Cannobio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cannobio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pironi 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Pironi is a charming boutique hotel housed in a 15th century palazzo, once a Franciscan monastery, located at the heart of the old town, just a few steps from the lake. With its unique history and atmosphere, the Hotel Pironi is sure to surprise and delight its guests, none of whom will be able to resist its magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pironi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pironi Hotel Cannobio
Hotel Pironi Cannobio, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing