We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pironi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pironi
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cannobio
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We spent three night here in the middle of August. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room lovely and spacious (beautiful four-poster bed, pretty tiled bathroom), and the breakfast very good. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Cannobio.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    43
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
259
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

A really great 3 star hotel right in the centre of the old medieval town of Cannobio [in the main a pedestrianised town where real people live and work etc..] close to the Swiss border.

We stayed 3 nights in mid September - and found the resort quiet and peaceful but with a good choice of bars and restaurants. A really relaxing place even on market day where the whole waterfront area is temporarily transformed by a huge market , busy with tourists and locals alike.

The hotel is easy to find -approach from the northern end of the resort , drive along the lake front road and then turn right at the signpost for the hotel. You can't miss it unless you're captivated by the scenery as we were one evening !. It's up a steep narrow road but you can park outside just to load and unload. We pre booked a secure underground parking space @ 10EUROS per night a 2 minute walk from the hotel and a receptionist escorted us to and from the car park and showed how to operate the doors and gates. Easy and convenient access 24/7.

The hotel is an odd wedge shape and very quaint really unusual and extraordinarily designed and decorated which means that every room in the hotel is a different shape size and design. Hats off to the architect and interior design team- it’s quite special.

Although it has a lift the elderly and infirm may well have difficulty not only with the hotel itself [which is all on different levels (not all served by the lift) ] but with the surrounding cobbled streets.

Our room was on the top floor facing south with a small balcony and a view over the lake. Its not lakefront - the view although quite elevated is initially over rooftops but its really charming as its a medieval village . The balcony had a table 2 chairs and a folding canopy - great for sipping that bottle of Gavi from the minibar.

The bedroom was very comfortable internally the sleeping area was down a steep flight of stairs with bathroom above. The ceiling as a result was tall with a large picture window and glass door leading to the balcony. The room was well appointed , bed comfortable and very clean - not large and the bathroom was newly renovated – but again not suitable in our opinion for elderly or infirm guests. Chatting with the receptionist we were told that not all the rooms have new bathrooms – they renovate a few each year.

The hotel is not airconditioned but on one hot sultry night they provided [without our asking] an electric fan although we chose instead to sleep with the window open and slept really well.

The breakfast room is amazing and breakfast very good - big choice ,excellent service unhurried , eggs cooked to order and great coffee.

There is a comfortable lounge with TV and internet access which we didn't use it.

The hotel doesn't have a bar as such although there is a wine bar open to the public [we think in the same ownership as the hotel or maybe licensed out] in the basement which we tried to use just once just for a pre dinner aperitif but found them very unfriendly so we simply walked out. Really the only negative experience we had in Cannobio – but there loads of other friendly good bars very close by.

We found the hotel staff friendly and extremely efficient and highly recommend it

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoAlbertella, Direttore at Hotel Pironi, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for your very positive comment on our property. The bar hosted in the old cellars is actually not part of the hotel and is run separately, but we will let the manager know your remarks in order for him to take care of these lacks as soon as possible.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Pro's:
1. the hotel is indeed beautiful, rooms are memorable. we saw about 4 different rooms and chose the one we liked the most. it's interesting that each one of the rooms is different from the others.
2. the building is old styled, yet, renovated and feels like a luxury hotel.
3. breakfast is very good and includes high standard products and personal service (in addition to the buffet). you can get your fresh omelet and good fresh coffee. besides, breakfast is served in an amazing dinning room.
4. bicycles can be taken for free from the hotel- very nice.
5. service was good- we got good recommendations regarding what to see, where to eat, and where to go in addition to good advises regarding driving routes.
6. location- very good- exactly in the center of the charming alleys.

Cons:
1. we called the day before in order to make the reservation and were offered room for 150 Euros per night. I would have expect the hotel to run some "last minute" offers, especially when the hotel isn't fully booked. (this was the case here)
2. the parking lot is located about 5-10 minutes walking from the hotel, and includes a path that which isn't so convenient to pass through with a trolly (a flagging with small boulders). I would have expect the hotel to offer some assistance, or alternately have some concierge service. especially when rate for BB is 150 Euros for a couple.
3. in order to use the internet one have to be in the lounge. no signal in the room. in addition the password is half an hour based, i.e. one has to renew it every half an hour. very inconvenient!
4. Due to the high price we paid, we were quite disappointing that there was no bath, only shower.

overall it's a very nice hotel, good location, feels like a luxury hotel, yet, based on our experience, a bit overpriced.

if some of the disadvantages aforementioned would have been fixed, we would have rate this hotel as excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reliabletraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoAlbertella, Proprietario at Hotel Pironi, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
We thank you for your comments on our hotel, we have appreciated both your positive remarks and the critics, that help us improve our service.
We just want to underline the following: the hotel is situated in the pedestrian zone in the historical centre of the town, the parking is located 200 metres from the building, for our guests it is always allowed to drive along the lakeshore up to the hotel to load and unload luggage.
Due to the particular structure of our property (a XV century building that has been recognized historical monument) the wifi service has been guaranteed till now in the common areas only. It is possible to use the service both in the salon on the first floor (hotel’s internet point) and using your own laptop/smartphone. If you use our internet point we give you a 30-minutes-connection, this in order to let also the other hotel guests take advantage of the service. If you have your own laptop/smartphone the password given is valid for your whole stay. The service is free of charge.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

The hotel is situated just off the front; it can initially be quite difficult to find being up a small side street that has a steep climb. Quite imposing if you are driving a car. The hotel car park is situated about a quarter of a mile away and is only accessed by obtaining an electronic key from the hotel. It is left to you to carry your bags up to your room using the single lift.. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and given a choice of rooms to choose from; the rooms are characterful, clean and spacious; however the one downside is that they lack air conditioning which can make them quite stifling at night. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, and gave excellent advice on where to go (restaurants and exploring the town). Cannobio has a delightful lakeside vista. A very nice breakfast is provided which compared well with the more pricey hotels that we stayed at. All in all, the hotel represents good value for money and we have no hesitation in recommending it to others .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John2571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is a treat, the rooms are light and airy, well furnished and comfortable. Excellent situation a very short stroll to the lakeshore and in the old town streets. The garaging is excellent, easy to access ,secure and really close to the hotel. The staff are superb and cant do enough to help. Thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We had some wonderful days. Very customer oriented hotel. Everybody of the crew was helpful. Cleaning, breakfast and reception were really nice people. We will recommend this hotel to everybody without any doubt!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Pironi for our honeymoon in July 2011. From the moment we arrived all the staff went out of their way to be helpful - any question we had was answered straight away in almost perfect English. The room we stayed in was fantastic - beautifully decorated in a style that was in keeping with the age of the building, but with a luxury modern bathroom. We also used the pool at the sister hotel, which was lovely - peaceful, clean with excellent facilities, and a really nice little extra. In short, we would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: The hotel is in the middle of Cannobio, a popular resort, so for rooms on the front of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickpj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannobio
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Belvedere
2.8 mi away
Hotel Cannero
Hotel Cannero
#1 of 6 in Cannero Riviera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cannobio
Hotel Cannobio
#4 of 10 in Cannobio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
13.9 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#1 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
15.9 mi away
Relais Casali della Cisterna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pironi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pironi

Property: Hotel Pironi
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 35, 28822 Cannobio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Cannobio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cannobio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pironi 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Pironi is a charming boutique hotel housed in a 15th century palazzo, once a Franciscan monastery, located at the heart of the old town, just a few steps from the lake. With its unique history and atmosphere, the Hotel Pironi is sure to surprise and delight its guests, none of whom will be able to resist its magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pironi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pironi Hotel Cannobio
Hotel Pironi Cannobio, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing