We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Traditional Italian Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Portico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Il Portico to your Saves list
Hotel Il Portico
Piazza Santuario, 28822 Cannobio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cannobio
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights from 30th August, location of hotel right in the centre of Cannobio, we hired a car in Switzerland and drove over the Simplon Pass, very scenic route, bad points lots of roadworks and hold ups. Plenty of parking at hotel. Hotel is typical Italian style, our room was in the villa behind the hotel, we had a large ground floor room, with huge bathroom, an outdoor terrace facing the gardens with table & chairs also 2 sunloungers. Room was very comfortable and clean. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK, we did not eat in hotel in evening as there are so many restaurants nearby on the lakeside. There is a lovely large beach with lots of facilities on the lake, also lovely walks by the river. Nice shops in town.

Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: pay for a superior room, it is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianaswim74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Got a mountain side room for 130 € but it probably should have been a bit cheaper. Nothing to actually complain about, all up to standard but not special. Other, cheaper places I'd rather stay next time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vught, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
156 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Fabulous place, lovely view of the lake from our hotel room, very close to the main street,
friendly personnel, very pretty village.
The sunday market at Cannobio is something to experience!
small critique: their breakfast could be better! And the servers at breakfast are all young but speak hardly any english.
Also, the WiFi is only restricted to the lobby and is not available in the rooms, which is a bummer.
But this would not stop me staying at this hotel again, as it was a great value for money.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony and lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rsars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraza
Level Contributor
244 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Perfectly located in this little town, almost on the lake, with great views. Even the back rooms are nice, with the great garden/park. The rooms are nice and some even have a terrace. Easy and safe parking in the hotel lot. The restaurant, under the church, is worth a visit. It serves best Italian food a reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UbErich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had a spacious room overlooking the lake with a nice terrace. Staff were very helpful and parking was plentiful in the hotel car park at no extra costs. Because the main road which runs along the lake is well set back at Cannobio you can walk along the front of the lake in peace and there are plenty of restaurants in addition to the one at the hotel. there are more upmarket rooms which do not overlook the lake but have a bit of a garden.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I came here last minute. We were fortunate enough to be able to book a lake view room with a small balcony for 129Euros. The room itself was very functional - not too big, but perfect for 2 persons. We were in a handicapped accessible room, so the bathroom was bigger then usual. It was clean and perfect. The hotel itself has free parking and is located right in the heart of town. Breakfast was simple, but very lovely. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBiird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The main building of the hotel is at an unbeatable location, on the seaside promenade, but there are no rooms with lake view and this building is bland, with unappealing neon-lit common spaces. Contrary to what is the case in most hotels, the "annexe" in the back has much more charm, it is a restored patrician mansion overlooking either a pretty courtyard or a nice garden. Prices are very reasonable for such a prime location
It is a shame that breakfast cannot be served "al fresco" on the promenade

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannobio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pironi
Hotel Pironi
#2 of 10 in Cannobio
5.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Belvedere
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cannobio
Hotel Cannobio
#5 of 10 in Cannobio
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Antica Stallera Hotel
Antica Stallera Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cannobio
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
1.1 mi away
Del Lago
Del Lago
#6 of 10 in Cannobio
4.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Giardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Portico

Property: Hotel Il Portico
Address: Piazza Santuario, 28822 Cannobio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Cannobio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cannobio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Il Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Portico Cannobio, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing