We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good hotel but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antica Stallera Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antica Stallera Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cannobio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Not worth the 100 euro we paid.
The TV don't have english spoken channels.
The sun was directed to us in the morning with no shade available.
Breakfest was regullar.

The location of the hotel is good, but it is a small city so everting is close to one another.


Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Smadar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
worcester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Good hotel, well positioned about 50m away from the lake front. Good large, very clean room with nice view over the terrace/restaurant. Reasonably modern fittings. Car parking in front of the hotel.
It was exceptionally hot (34C) while we were there and the room would have benefited hugely from a fridge and even a fan (I think one or two of the rooms have air-con but unfortunately not the one we had).
Staff were mostly very friendly, although a little off-hand when we asked to chill a bottle of wine in a fridge (neither ice nor fridge in the room).
The restaurant was very good - we enjoyed a very good breakfast on the terrace every day and ate in the restaurant one evening and the food and service were excellent

Room Tip: ask for a room with air-con if it is going to be hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

There is no category for the restaurant for Antica Stallera so I am posting this here. The hotel looks lovely. But, in our 3rd and final visit to the restaurant, we once again confirm that there is an "attitude" problem with the staff that makes the visit unpleasant. There are many options to choose for dining in Cannobio and we would suggest any of the other options.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed 4 nights B & B in this friendly hotel and ate in the restaurant one evening. We arrived by boat, found the hotel easily enough, it is just back from the lake front although it is also conveniently located if you were to arrive by car. Our 2nd floor room had a lovely view of the surrounding mountains, and the lake itself. We had previously stayed on Lake Maggiore, but not in Cannobio. It is a very attractive town, the lake front is very quiet because the main road does not go through it, popular with German-speaking tourists, as it is very near the Swiss border. The hotel is an old building which has been added to several times over the years, the most modern extension (at the back) is for a lift and staircase. There is a lovely front garden in which meals can be taken, but not in rainy April!
Our room was quite large with a big bathroom as well, which had its own window. Staff were very friendly and attentive, I had no problems booking by email. Breakfast was very good indeed, our dinner in the restaurant was likewise very good, we would have eaten there more often but there are plenty of other alternatives nearby.
All in all one of the best locations and hotels we have stayed in in Italy, or anywhere else for that matter. Special mention to the staff at reception.
(A note on getting to Cannobio by train and boat, basically two ways of doing it from Milan Malpensa, either train to Stresa (change at Busto Arzisio) and then boat, but you can also go directly by train from Malpensa to the other side of the lake (Luino or Maccagno) and get a boat across from there. The almost brand-new trains in the latter case are vastly superior to the run-down, smelly carriages we had to endure on the way back from Stresa to Busto Arzisio, where you have to change (which you don't going the other way). Check the boat timetable VERY carefully though either way.)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimEFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
593 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 595 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

The hotel is easy to find, just off the main road which encircles the lake. There is free parking which is a real boon and there is also a lift to all floors. The view from the rooms which overlook the garden restaurant terrace are quite pretty, with Maggiore visible over the rooftops. The rooms are reasonably modern, with a T.V., a good shower and a hair drier. The staff have little English, but we received a warm, courteous welcome.

We ate in the restaurant one evening, and were very pleased with our meals. We had ravioli, and a platter of lake fish, all tasty and reasonably priced. We ate at around 8:45, by which time, our fellow guests, 80% German had either finished their meals or were on coffees. We finished off virtually alone. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

Cannobio is a good centre for walking. We only stayed 2 nights, and it is a picturesque little place with a good bathing area. There seem to be several good restaurants in the vicinity. We also ate at the Ristorante Grotto Sant’ Anna, about 3 miles out of town. That was spectacularly good. We think that Cannobio is a good base for Maggiore, particularly if you have your own transport.

Lake transport is very poor on Wednesdays, with most boats heading to reputedly the biggest market in Europe across the lake.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Idler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

I had dinner at the restaurant(didn't stay at the hotel). Everything very good.Very friendly staff.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank volubilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

Antica Stallera is a restaurant with rooms/small hotel in Cannobio.
Cannobio is our favourite place to stay on the lakes....beating Torri del Benaco on Lake Garda where we have stayed on a number of occasions.We enjoyed a week in July in this refined <but not stuffy>town.Perfect balance between a relaxing ambience but with plenty of things to do.Cafes and restaurants of all price ranges.No need for a car to get around.The buses are cheap comfortable and reliable and supplement the lake steamers.We flew to Malpensa...taxi to Gallarate....train to Luino....ferry to Cannobio...took three hours in total from touching down in Malpensa.Do not attempt on Wednesdays when huge market in Luino and ferries full to/from there.Ferry schedule changes 21st Sept.
The restaurant at Antica Stallera is excellent and eating in the beautiful garden a pleasure
The accomodation fits the bill perfectly for a stay in Cannobio at a resonable price.Clean comfortable and well appointed 50 meters down a traffic free lane to the promenade/lake front.If you feel the Cannobio Hotel or Pirioni outside your budget Antica Stallera will not disappoint.
Book by email..hotel website is clear and accurate

Helpful?
7 Thank johngwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannobio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pironi
Hotel Pironi
#2 of 10 in Cannobio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Il Portico
Hotel Il Portico
#4 of 10 in Cannobio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residenza Patrizia
Residenza Patrizia
#9 of 10 in Cannobio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cannobio
Hotel Cannobio
#5 of 10 in Cannobio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Belvedere
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Enoteca del Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Stallera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Stallera Hotel

Property: Antica Stallera Hotel
Address: Via Paolo Zaccheo 3, 28822 Cannobio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Cannobio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cannobio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ANTICA STALLERA 3* is located in the city centre of Cannobio, on the Lake Maggiore, just a few steps from the lake promenade. Our 18 double rooms are personal oases, featured by Mediterranean and warm colors and modern design. They can offer you garden view or city view and are all furnished with flatscreen TV, desk, safe, wellness products and private bathroom with shower. Free parking and free wi-fi connection are at disposal of the hotel guests Enjoy your very own oasis of retreat and well-being at the Lago Maggiore. The hotel restaurant is featured by an interior and quiet garden, the right place to enjoy your breakfast or your perfect dinner. Restaurant Antica Stallera, a bit more pleasure... Let be pampered by the Italian and regional fish and meat specialties. Don't miss out the Pastas and typical risotto delicacies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Antica Stallera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Stallera Hotel Cannobio, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing