We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Cannero”
Review of Hotel Cannero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cannero
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cannero Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2008

We stayed at Hotel Cannero in August 2008. It is a beautiful hotel, could not fault it in anyway at all. Our room no: was 217 which overlooked the swimming pool and the mountains, we had our own gate on our balcony which allowed us to go straight down to the swimming pool. Our room was spacious and clean, the room was cleaned daily, bedsheets and towels changed daily too. The bathroom was spacious, my only complaint would be is there is no stand alone shower, it is a hand held one and there is no shower curtain or door.

From previous reviews I had read before I arrived at the hotel I thought it would be difficult to have a sunlounger around the pool but this was not the case, there was always ones available anytime I used the pool, they also have another roof terrace which has sunloungers if all the ones at the pool are taken. The pool itself was great.

Breakfast was great, lots of fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, breads etc... Staff were very friendly too. We didn't use the restaurant in the evening so I cannot comment on dinner.

If using the internet I would check with them that it is free, the welcome book says it is for hotel guests but I was charged everytime I used it, it was only 2 euro a time but when you think you are getting it for free it's a bit annoying when you checkout and there is a charge on your bill for it.

There is a ferry point directly outside the hotel which is great, I would recommend Cannobio on a Sunday for their superb market and Cannobio is a lovely town, bit more too it than Cannero.

Finally, although I had a relaxing time at the hotel and the hotel itself is beautiful we did check out of the hotel early as there is not alot to do in Cannero. We had originally booked for 10 days, we checked out 2 days early although if I was allowed I would have checked out about 5 days early. It is a very small resort with only 2 small supermarkets, 2 bars, about 10 restaurants, some of which are in the mountains so if no car they are not accesible. Most restaurants stop serving meals in the evening at 9.30, there is a bar called Sano Banano which you can get a take away Pizza from although you wouldn't want to be doing this evey evening. If looking for a change from the hotel restaurant I would recommend Ristorante Magnolia which is a couple of minutes walk from the hotel, overlooking the boat harbour.

I would only recommend this hotel and resort for 3-4 days at the most if you are a young couple. We moved to Stresa at the bottom of the lake as this was more lively, I would recommend Stresa if you are a young couple looking for a bit of life while in Italy.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MacSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 543 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2008

Whilst agreeing with most of the previous reviews and without overly knocking the hotel I would like to add comment to some of the items.
The rooms.
Firstly the web site gives an over grand impression of the rooms.
We booked a superior room with a lake view and whilst this was reasonably spacious and clean it was very basic and not what I would expect for £125 per night.
The furniture was tatty with the dresser drawer knob coming off each time it was opened. This was fixed with tape on a daily basis by the cleaners but could not survive one opening.
No bedside cabinets were provided but just two very low little stools one of which was completely filled by the telephone.
No comfortable seating was available but two upright dining style chairs were provided. I would expect some form of more comfortable seating in a superior room.
If considering a superior room with a sea view be aware that if you leave the balcony doors open at night it gets quite noisy from 0630 with delivery vans unloading.
Although staying for seven nights in extremely hot weather, the bed sheets were not changed once during our stay

The bathroom
Again spacious and clean. An over bath shower is provided on the side wall, but no curtain or screen and it is quite easy to turn it into a wet room when showering.
The knob was missing from the sink drainer control.
The towels were changed on a daily basis.

The balcony
Very small with just room for a small table and 2 metal chairs. No cushions were provided making sitting vey uncomfortable for any length of time but some of the other balcony chairs did have cushions. Maybe it is pot luck.
The balcony is open and in close proximity to the one for the next room and it is not possible to have a private conversation if the next balcony is in use.
The cleaners used to leave the balcony/room doors open after cleaning and although I requested this not to be done for security reasons (only a 1 metre rail separated it from next door) they continued to do this.This was not necessary to keep the room cool as it negated the effect of the air conditioning.

The restaurant

Very good although the a la carte menu was a little pricey but the set menu for hotel guests offered good value for money.

Staff
Could not fault for help and friendliness except one of the head waiters could be a little pompous at times.
I arrived after midnight and the night porter was extremely helpful and suggested I leave my car in the hotel garage for the night instead of taking it to the guest parking.

The pool
Clean and well kept but suffering from the normal guest problems of claiming the loungers early morning and disappearing until mid afternoon.
Clean towels always available.
These are relatively minor points which could easily be overcome therefore overall a good hotel but a little pricey for the facilities in a superior room and requires a bit of attention to the minor points and I think I would choose this hotel over others if revisiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We spent 3 great nights at the charming Hotel Cannero at the beginning of our recent Italian holiday. We enjoyed a lovely, relaxing stay, and rank this hotel as among our favorites anywhere. The staff was superb, the location was great, and all the little touches amounted to a true gem of a hotel.

We like to stay in historic properties when possible, and this one has benefited from a high-quality restoration. The integration of the former convent to the adjacent villa is really well done. Our room was lovely -- a corner room on the top floor -- with a stunning lakeview from the balcony.

Unlike another reviewer, who described breakfast as "standard continental cold fare", we found the breakfast to be much better than typical breakfast offerings: lots of fresh fruit, high quality meats and cheeses, multiple breads, and even homemade jams. We did not end up eating in the restaurant for dinner, but plan to on a return trip.

The friendly, multi-lingual staff helped us with every request, and we made good use of the hotel's bicycles and rowboat. Granted, they were basic (especially the boat), but they were free for hotel guest use, so no complaints.

It is true that the village of Cannero is quite small, but there are many other towns within an easy ferry ride. The nearby town of Cannobio has a fantastic market, which is definitely worth a visit.

We loved the Hotel Cannero, and are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamberPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Hotel Cannero has to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in for a long time. From the moment we arrived after our long (14hour) trip, we felt that the staff couldn't do enough for us. After only two or three minutes in our room (214) facing the lake , we were treated to Champagne on ice and a lovely bowl of strawberries for our anniversary. The tiredness of the journey was soon forgotten after a couple of glasses of bubbly.
If you appreciate courteous service, old-fashioned good manners and attention to detail, then you will love this hotel.
The breakfast buffet was comprehensive enough for anyone's taste and the evening meals were delicious. The waiters spoke several languages and treated every guest with respect and perfect manners. We had a table on the terrace for our evening meal. It was our table for the whole holiday and we could dine at a convenient time for us. Wine and/or bottles of water could be carried over to the next day.
Boat trips are plentiful and you only need to walk about a dozen steps from the hotel to the departure quay. Bear in mind that you are 1 and a half hours from Stressa, at Cannero, so if you visit Stressa,, it's a whole day trip. You are only about 8km from the Swiss border. The local buses are quite cheap as an alternative.
As other reviewers have said, the pool is rather small and sometimes there are no sunbeds to be had. However, we always managed to find a chair to sit on somewhere.
If you finish your holiday reading while you are there, you can borrow one of many books around the hotel. There is also free Internet access in one of the lounges.
There's not a lot to do in the resort. There are only 2 small supermarkets and one Chemist. That's it! But if you want a relaxing time in a beautiful location in a comfortable, friendly, elegant hotel, then Hotel Cannero is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fivestarsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We spent a week here and can't praise the staff enough for their attentive service and friendliness. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a superb choice of fresh fruit and pastries, etc. The dinner menu was very good value at 23 Euros per hotel guest - 4 courses starting with an excellent salad buffet. The dining staff were not only very helpful but also extremely friendly and amusing company.
The hotel is right opposite the very small ferry terminal so there can be a bit of noise if you leave your bedroom window open at night!
The enormous Wednesday market in Luino has some very good quality merchandise for sale and is well worth a visit but it's advisable to take the earlier ferry before the market fills up with coach tourists.
It's certainly the best hotel we've stayed at in Italy and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ValSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Great hotel on the lake front. A hotel with traditional values and service. Staff very friendly and attentive. We had faulty aircon but it was fixed in a few hours. Food very good and breakfast choice terriffic. Ideal as a base for exploring lake Maggiore

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

This was the second location for our Honeymoon tour of Italy, the first having been a few nights in Venice. After the hustle and bustle of Venice, the top end of Lake Maggiore seemed like a haven of peace and tranquility - exactly what we needed!

When we arrived at Hotel Cannero after the slightly nerveracking experience of driving from Milan, we were treated like royalty! It seemed that the whole management team of this lovely family-run hotel came out to meet us, assist with car parking, baggage and check-in and generally make us feel very welcome!

We were taken up to the second floor and once we were in the good-sized and very clean room, the shutters were thrown back to reveal the view over the lake and our balcony! We were quite taken aback by how beautiful it was and, just as we though things couldn't get better, a waiter came in with a chilled bottle of Prosecco and a huge bowl of fresh strawberries... (OK - so we knew that these was part of the package we'd booked for our trip, but the timing with which it was delivered was perfect)!

We had 4 nights at Hotel Cannero and, despite poor weather on the last two days and a day-long ferry strike that restricted our activities, we had a wonderful time. Breakfasts were fairly typical continental cold buffet affairs, but very nice - cooked ones were available at extra cost. We ate in the hotel twice in the evening - both meals being excellent and the service superb. Some friends had paid for a romantic meal for us on our first night and the hotel had printed out a special menu just for us - little touches like this made all the difference...

There isn't an awful lot to do in Cannero Riviera itself except for stroll along the lake shore and admire the views. However, the ferry terminal which is right opposite Hotel Cannero provides regular ferries across and down the lake - although this does not run particularly late in the day, the last ferry coming in around 7.30 p.m. This means that you can't get a ferry back if you decide to have dinner in one of the other resorts along the lake.

We tried a couple of other places to eat in Cannero - the restaurant in the apartment complex by the harbour (a few hundred yards walk from the hotel) should be avoided, the service was appalling and the food average) but the pizzeria in the campsite a little further along was excellent and very friendly!

To sum up - the Hotel Cannero was a fantastic place to continue our honeymoon and recover from the rather frantic pace of Venice. The location is beautiful, the management and staff very friendly and attentive, and we very much hope to return some day!

If you are after a few days enjoying a slower pace of life and don't need lots of things to keep you occupied, I heartily recommend the Hotel Cannero!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannero Riviera
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Rondinella
Hotel La Rondinella
#6 of 6 in Cannero Riviera
37 reviews
11.9 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,379 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Belvedere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Pironi
Hotel Pironi
#2 of 10 in Cannobio
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Italia
Park Hotel Italia
#2 of 6 in Cannero Riviera
68 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Margherita
Hotel Villa Margherita
#1 of 2 in Oggebbio
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cannero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cannero

Address: Piazza Umberto Primo 2, 28821 Cannero Riviera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Cannero Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cannero Riviera
Price Range: $148 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming lakeside resort is composed of three historical buildings: among them one was a former monastery and another a house of the “Baron di Sant’Agabio.” Suites are decorated in the Lombardy style with breathtaking views. Lake-facing bedrooms are found on four floors—all are charming. Additional guestrooms look out to the swimming pool, as do ten self-catering apartments that can accommodate from two to four persons. Ferries leave from the dock in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cannero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannero Hotel Riviera
Hotel Cannero Cannero Riviera, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing