We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cannero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cannero
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cannero Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We could not have picked a better place to stay than Hotel Cannero, situated right on the lake edge. Our lake view room was delightful, had everything we needed including a large comfortable bed and fabulous bathroom with both bath and shower. Loved sitting out on our little balcony, right over the very pleasant promenade where the ferries arrive – absolutely stunning views over the lake.

Stayed here for 3 nights. Breakfast was great and we sat on the terrace each morning. Opted for the fixed price dinner 2 nights (again on the terrace) – 4 courses. Wonderful food with charming and attentive service. Nothing was too much trouble.

Cannero Riviera is really quaint and pleasant, away from the hustle and bustle of larger towns along the lake edge. Would have liked a few more days here as it was so relaxing. Using the ferries, we visited the 3 Borromean Islands - Isola Bella and Isola Madre with their stunning palaces and beautiful gardens and Isola dei Pescatori with its characteristic old fishing village. There is plenty to see and do in the area.

Just loved this place. Can’t say enough about it. Quite simply the nicest hotel - charming and attentive service, lovely rooms, exquisite views. Perfect!

Room Tip: Book a Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    59
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
87
288
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

It was the first time I personally have visited Hotel Cannero and I'm certain it will not be the last.

I travelled with my other half's family who have all been on numerous occasions and I can see why. The hotel itself is family owned and run really well. We were all made to feel welcome from the moment we walked through the door.

The rooms were humungous and were extremely cosy. Breakfast was delicious, a continental selection that I may have visited a number of times each sitting. I don't normally eat much for breakfast but here I was spoilt for choice and could not resist!

The hotel is right next to the picturesque Lake Maggiore and the views are magnificent. We went in September and the weather was gorgeous. Simply adding to the relaxing break. There are plenty of places to eat and even venture. We were kept busy day to day and I can honestly say I was 100% relaxed during my time here. The only word of advice is, if you're going in the pool, be prepared to be cold. I found out the hard way! But once swimming around, you realise that the cold is extremely pleasant considering the weather was hot.

We did manage to get onto the Lake itself too. The hotel has a little paddle boat, we did not use this, but instead wandered past Hapimag and rented a speedboat. I'm sure most people have had a nice experience from these guys, but we didn't. They stopped us after 20 minutes and their reason was completely unreasonable. We pointed out in the little 'briefing' we'd received before going out that they had not explained it to us, but they're mind was made up. We let them have our money for the 20 minutes we had but ensured we got everything else back. I would advise avoiding this little shack and finding a boat for the Lake from somewhere else.

All in all, the break was perfect. As I have already said, I'm sure we will be returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmylieNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntelier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent two nights at Hotel Cannero and had a great stay. The hotel has a classic italian flair and is beautifully furnished and decorated. We had a comfortable room with nice classic furniture in warm colours. We also appreciated the fruit bowl offered in the room. The hotel is situated directly by the lake with a spectacular view and there are several sitting areas for breakfast or for a drink where you can enjoy the beautiful surroundings. There also is a nice pool area although we preferred swimming in the lake. The Breakfast buffet offers everything you ask for and we also had a meal in the evening at the hotel restaurant and the food was good. The village Cannero is mainly free from traffic and you can make nice walks and swim in the lake or take a boat directly in front of the hotel. This is a great place for a relaxing holiday in an elegant setting.

Room Tip: We had a room with a sidely view and it was very nice, the rooms with direct view were all booked ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a find. Beautiful hotel, marvellously run and in a superb location. Dining in excellent. The village wonderful. Walking up the little alleyways to the local Ristorante's - unbeatable. Could not go wrong.

Room Tip: Hotel consists of two main buildings. If your budget runs to it the suits in the Mansion building ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I only stayed for two nights but thoroughly enjoyed our stay, with a magnificent view over the lake.
The staff were most helpful (nothing was too much trouble) and dinner (especially the fixed price dinner menu) good value.
The hotel stay confirms why I prefer an independent hotel over a chain, however good the chain may be.

Room Tip: If sleeping on the front you may be woken early on Monday morning when rubbish is collected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I can only repeat what has been written before in that this hotel is a truly special experience. The location is magnifcent particularly as we had beautiful weather, food very good and all staff members so helpful and pleasant. We rarely eat in hotels but ate in the restaurant both nights, we were feeling lazy, and the food was great. Don't forget to visit nearby Cannobio which is another lovely experience. Also, we drove to Villa Taranto where there is free parking and a greater choice of ferries/schedules, this worked very well for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyrumpff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

One of the best hotels we have ever spent time in. Family run and nothing was too much trouble from all those working at the hotel in helping you have a lovel time. There is a quirky layout to the grounds with the hotel being located in old monastrey buildings, but it is wonderful to explore the layout and find the sun terrace, the cantina, the lounge etc. Our room, like all of the hotel, was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. We had a superb position looking across the pool and into the mountains behind. Also the location leaves you right next to the little ferry terminal on Lake Maggiore so its easy to get your exploration underway. A lovely village and there are plenty of walks into the hills nearby.

Room Tip: Lots of people will want rooms overlooking the lake, but we did hear a couple of observations that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff and Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannero Riviera
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Italia
Park Hotel Italia
#2 of 6 in Cannero Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Belvedere
11.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Rondinella
Hotel La Rondinella
#6 of 6 in Cannero Riviera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#1 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
11.9 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cannero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cannero

Property: Hotel Cannero
Address: Piazza Umberto Primo 2, 28821 Cannero Riviera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Cannero Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cannero Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming lakeside resort is composed of three historical buildings: among them one was a former monastery and another a house of the “Baron di Sant’Agabio.” Suites are decorated in the Lombardy style with breathtaking views. Lake-facing bedrooms are found on four floors—all are charming. Additional guestrooms look out to the swimming pool, as do ten self-catering apartments that can accommodate from two to four persons. Ferries leave from the dock in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cannero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannero Hotel Riviera
Hotel Cannero Cannero Riviera, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing