We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cannero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cannero
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cannero Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed in. Old school charm and service for a relaxing holiday. Facilities are great including the swimming pool and tennis courts. We had a balcony lake view room and it was worth every penny. First class hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cornishwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    59
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
87
288
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We travelled as 2 couples to Hotel Cannero for the first time at the beginning of September, and what a lovely all round holiday we had! We both had first floor rooms overlooking the Lake and ferry (and despite what a previous reviewer said this is not a problem at all) The views are spectacular and breathtaking when the sun comes up! The rooms are well equipped and very clean and comfortable.
The food is excellent - we were on a half board basis and ate in the restaurant each evening for a week and every meal was delicious, freshly cooked and of a very high quality and standard. The choice at breakfast was substantial and again of a good quality - my husband particularly enjoyed the croissants saying they were the best he'd eaten in a long time!
The staff were not only extremely welcoming but fun to speak with, both on Reception and in the Dining Room. The maitre d' spoke excellent English having worked in England for 8 years, and all the waiters and waitresses were friendly and they couldn't do enough for you.
If you're looking for night life this hotel is not for you but if you want a wondeful place to relax and enjoy the finer things in life then book now!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 105 and this was perfect for the view and not near the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian&Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I booked the Hotel Cannero at very short notice, and it turned out to be quite simply one of the best stays we have had in Italy. As others have already said, the genuinely warm welcome here is exceptional, and this is, basically, a place where things are being done right. Our room was on the third floor (335) and offered the most fabulous view out over Lake Maggiore. It also proved wonderful for people-watching, since the ferry stop is right opposite the hotel. Don't worry - there are only a few boats a day, and they are precisely the ones you want to hop on and off. We went down to see the fabulous gardens on Isola Bella, and when we returned foot-sore and weary it was wonderful to be able to walk straight off the boat, up the ramp, and straight through the front door of our hotel. On the practical side, rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. Service was always friendly and highly efficient. Breakfast was of a much higher standard than one can normally expect in Europe - a good spread of local cold meats (San Daniele hams, salami), local cheeses, panna cotta, yoghurt, fresh fruit, an array of different breads, rolls and juices, cereals. Alone in our experience of Italy, they could also make a pot of tea! We are wearily used to asking for tea and being given a teabag and a cup of lukewarm water. Not so here - and they even give you extra hot water without having to be asked. Top marks for that. We ate in the restaurant three nights out of four, a la carte twice and table d'hote once. An excellent, belt-expanding spread of Italian food, and an impressive range of local Piedmontese wine. I'm particularly fond of Nebbiolo, well represented here, and we also tried a very good rose on a couple of occasions, too. There is a nice big, secluded swimming pool at first floor level, which offers views up over the mountains behind Cannero. The hotel has two car parks - one costs €10 per day, the other, a few hundred yards away, is free. We used the paid one at the hotel, and were glad we did because it was so convenient. The hotel is situated on a smart, pretty promenade. On driving down the hill to the roundabout in Cannero Riviera on arrival, we were a little confused because the entrance to the promenade is festooned with signs suggesting you are not supposed to drive up it - a suspicion backed up by the presence of lots of cafe tables and chairs all the way down. You should ignore all this, and drive all the way along (I would suggest very slowly) to the Hotel Cannero, where you turn left up just past the restaurant terrace, which is the entrance to the car park. All in all a wonderful place to stay, and we are already planning a return visit. It was easy to get there from Milan Malpensa airport, and we chose to take the slow route all the way up the S33/S34, which takes you right round the lake. Lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alongden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
316 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

For the last 20 years my wife and I have spent 3 weeks in the Summer travelling round Europe on a motor bike. We change destinations each year... except for this hotel, which we cannot resist. We absolutely love everything about it: the rooms, the staff, the food and the location. The family welcome us each year with open arms, and it's just like coming home. We're already looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a lake view, particularly on first and second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel some 5 times over the last 10 years, both as a couple, with friends from Australia, and with children.

The hotel has been in the same family for over 100 years and their absolute commitment to high standards, service level and friendliness comes through every time - we almost feel part of the family ourselves!

All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful; this no doubt due to the way they are treat by the owners.

Nothing is too much; for example this time we were only there 2 nights and wanted to fit in a speed boat hire on the lake at short notice. Within 10 minutes the son of the owner had made a few telephone calls and fixed it up for us.

The restaurant is also excellent, together with an ideal location right opposite the ferry terminal (not noisy as you might expect).

We'll be back again - maybe you will also?

Room Tip: There is a new block of bedrooms which you may prefer to request, but it doesn't really matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and stayed at the Cannero for the week commencing August 25th 2012. It totally met our expectations - and more! We had a superior room with a balcony overlooking lake Maggiore and although it wasn't massive it was more than adequate for our stay. The staff are amazing and nothing was too much trouble - guests are treated as valued friends and you feel very welcome. We had no trouble finding a sun lounger and spent our days on the smallest roof terraces - often in splendid isolation! Breakfast was lovely and there was nothing better than eating it sitting by the lake. Rooms are spotless and well maintained with free pool towels supplied daily; the hotel also offers free wifi. Cannero village is very small and quiet though but there are several larger towns a short ferry ride away. Loved our stay and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room with a lake view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbots Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Loved this hotel, had a fantastic week. Paid extra for a lake view but got a room on 4th floor which was very modern with not the same view or ambience as the ones shown in the brochure, so next time wont bother upgrading. We booked half board which we were please we did. The food was excellent and once you choose your table they reserve it for the duration of your stay.
This town is small and very peaceful.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor are small and modern so ask for more traditional room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sum1cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannero Riviera
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Italia
Park Hotel Italia
#2 of 6 in Cannero Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Belvedere
11.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Rondinella
Hotel La Rondinella
#6 of 6 in Cannero Riviera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#1 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
11.9 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cannero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cannero

Property: Hotel Cannero
Address: Piazza Umberto Primo 2, 28821 Cannero Riviera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Cannero Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cannero Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming lakeside resort is composed of three historical buildings: among them one was a former monastery and another a house of the “Baron di Sant’Agabio.” Suites are decorated in the Lombardy style with breathtaking views. Lake-facing bedrooms are found on four floors—all are charming. Additional guestrooms look out to the swimming pool, as do ten self-catering apartments that can accommodate from two to four persons. Ferries leave from the dock in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cannero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannero Hotel Riviera
Hotel Cannero Cannero Riviera, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing