We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and a spectacular view”
Review of Albergo Ronco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo Ronco
Reviewed March 11, 2010

The hotel was recommended by friends, and we stayed there for a weekend trip, which in the end we extended to a week. The view from our room was spectacular, as was the view from our dining table. While not huge, our room was spacious enough and very clean, which is, I find, what really matters in the end. It is not like we were planned to spend more time than needed in our room, after all. Given that the building itself is apparently several hundred years old, the rooms and hotel infrastructure are quite more comfortable and up-to-date than one would perhaps expect (I have been to "historic" hotels in Italy, and many of them are unfortunately rather poorly maintained). The restaurant served really good food, mainly French-Italian with some local flavour. The location itself was superb, a small village overlooking the Maggiore Lake, far from major roads and very quiet (traffic noise, even at a distance, being a pet peeve of mine). While free parking was available in several spots near the hotel, we opted for a parking garage (for a small extra fee). We highly recommend this family-run and owned hotel. We felt it ideally located for short trips to nearby towns and day trips to the nearby valleys (highly recommended!) for sightseeing, while providing us with a good dinner with a gorgeous view, and a good, quiet rest afterwards.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeryHappyTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 57 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2009

Albergo Ronco was recommended by a friend, but we have mixed feelings about our choice after spending a week there. To be sure, the view is stunning--and, basically, that's what you pay for. Our room with tiny balcony was very, very small, and the amenities are very basic. The hotel is located in a tiny village south of Ascona way, way up on a wooded hillside. Parking is free in the public lot next to the church, but finding a place is very difficult! Thus, we opted to leave our car and take the public bus to Ascona--or, you can walk down nearly 800 steps to the road below in Puerto Ronco! The hotel served lovely meals, and because there were only a couple of other restaurants in Ronco, we ate there nearly every night. Service was good ,but we found the wait staff mostly cheerless and perfunctory which somehow spoils the mood when you are sitting above such a lovely view of Lago Maggiore. If you want any kind of night life, shopping, or proximity to the boat docks, you must leave the area. All you have near the hotel is a small general store / newsstand, and a small linen shop. The area is a dream, and the boat trips on the lake to the Borromeo Islands is a must! The hotel owners are a nice couple and do speak English; but there are many, many hotels to choose from; and if we go again, we would choose something a little more centrally located.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NancyB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Markus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ferientraum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Rudisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer oberhalb der Gastterrasse, daher Abends sehr laut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 448michaelat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBBH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ronco sopra Ascona
0.3 mi away
Boutique-Hotel La Rocca
Boutique-Hotel La Rocca
#1 of 2 in Ronco sopra Ascona
86 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Berno
Hotel Casa Berno
#12 of 32 in Ascona
109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Moscia
Casa Moscia
#28 of 32 in Ascona
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Arancio
Hotel Arancio
#14 of 32 in Ascona
53 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Ascona
Hotel Ascona
#6 of 32 in Ascona
333 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#8 of 32 in Ascona
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ronco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ronco

Address: Piazza della Modonna 1, Ronco sopra Ascona 6622, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ronco sopra Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ronco sopra Ascona
Price Range: $198 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Ronco 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s something that you just can’t escape from when you stay with us. This breathtaking view.Enjoy a unique panoramic view overlooking Lake Maggiore in the relaxed familiarity of a family-run hotel. Big enough to offer you a full range of modern amenities, yet small enough to serve you in a very individual and personal way. The perfect holiday. Albergo Ronco in Ronco sopra Ascona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albergo Ronco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing