We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location - just brunch, didn't stay at the hotel”
Review of Giardino Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Giardino Lago
Ranked #1 of 6 Minusio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
408 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Beautiful location - just brunch, didn't stay at the hotel”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Such a beautiful location and food was delicious.
There was definitely a good choice of "cold" breakfast in between muesli and breads.
I kind of missed the English breakfast option but honestly didn't ask for it. Maybe if you ask you can get it.
I will definitely go back and I'm happy to tell friend about this place.
Amazing

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Za036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    32
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
71
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We attending a family 40th birthday party here and hotel was chosen for us by the organiser. When we finally arrived (the sat nav could not find it) the first impression is of a very modern contemporary hotel right on the edge of the Lake. it is not a huge hotel. The reception staff were very nice. Our room was not huge but big enougth for two nights (some members had very small rooms) it was spotlessly clean and fresh crisp linen. My partner felt the bed was not very comfortable. The room was contemporary and fresh colours of white aqua and browns so quite calming too. hairdryer tv ipod dock, tv toiletries are all supplied. The down side was that after we returned from our dinner out there were no hotel has around at night. The Bar and restaurant were shut and we had to sit in the reception and chat... An other downside of this is that when a member of the party left their door room fob in the room and was unable to get back in their room it took 1.5 hours for the concierge to come. Not ideal at 3 am when you just want to get to bed. On the whole this is a clean crisp and well situated hotel and the free bikes and body boards are a bonus. The main downside was the price it was rather expensive and no where to get a night cap.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms up the stairs turn left and the first room on the right not sure of the number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have stayed in the hotel for 2 nights, and enjoyed it. On the pros side, the location right on the lake (pedestrian zone) and yet with a good closed parking; the restaurant - seems to be a bit of "it-place" in Minusio, the food is very good and service is excellent, and Sunday brunch is fabulous - book table ahead; and finally, the staff was very attentive and accomodating, which was important for us travelling with a toddler which can get noisy and messy! On the cons, the rooms - as been mentioned in the past reviews - are really tiny, no provacy of the bathroom whatsoever (ssemi-transparent glass sliding door separates it from the bedroom). So make sure you are comfortable enough with the person you are staying with, if you know what I mean:) Overall a bit on the expensive side for what you get (although we are not budget travellers, but for the price one expects a bit more from the rooms), but well worth a visit for a night or two.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bukish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Agree with all other comments - rooms are tiny. However they are also fitted exceptionally well. The food in the restaurant was excellent - definitely worth booking a table...especially the steak...probably the best steak I've tasted outside of the US. Staff were friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel calls themselves "boutique" which I find really difficult to understand? Absolutely nothing special what so ever.....The rooms are tiny weeny and if you have a full sized case there is nowhere to perch it and no floor space to prop it open on. For E300 a night the least I expect is a bathrobe and slippers and to have a member of staff available in the hotel after 22.30 in case of emergencies, like the one, one of our group had when they locked their keys in the room and couldn't gain access. They called a random number found in the unmanned reception area and had to wait an eternity for them to arrive and let them in the room. They really sell themselves on the services of the sister hotel located in the centre of Ascona which you are expected to treck over to everyday if you want to use the pool or spa facilities.If you would like to paddle board and use the hotel jetty on the lake to access the water do so at your peril-there are more planks of wood missing than present creating a very dangerous walkway. The staff were lovely but this place is just a simple B&B in a lovely location misusing the title "boutique" they should call it "bijou" as it's much more appropriate! I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tesoromio01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet residential area right on the shore of Lake Maggiore. The walking distance to the city is about 25 minutes. We stayed two nights in May in this modern boutique hotel. We enjoyed our stay, however for 330 EUR per night the room #104 was tiny (13 sq.m. including bathroom). This was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. For all the attempts to make the room nice and functional it was really too small for a double room. It appears that the size of the rooms was sacrificed in favour of a restaurant, a terrace and a huge lounge. The parking is small, which might be a problem when the restaurant is even half full. The breakfast was really nice, as well as the service in general. There was no mini-bar in the room, so water and tea were provided for us in the hall free of charge. That was extremely thoughtful and convenient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elena076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Amazing, friendly service. Everything was organised perfectly and they really know how to run a hotel. Rooms are super clean and modern but in a good way ;) It is located just next to the lake, with beautiful terrace bar and restaurant.

Food and drinks are great, checkin and checkout process very fast and flawless.

Additionally rooms equipped with everything what is needed including really good audio system suitable for iPhone/iPad or whatever else. We would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartosz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minusio
2.5 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Remorino
1.6 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.4 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 28 in Locarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giardino Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giardino Lago

Property: Giardino Lago
Address: via alla Riva 83a, Minusio 6648, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Minusio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Minusio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Giardino Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little gem of a hotel right on the shores of Lago Maggiore, Giardino Lago is sublime and blissfully relaxed - a heavenly escape for the modern traveller. Quality of life, sustainability and a friendly service underpin the concept and image of this Personal Retreat. The hotel forgoes convention and stars, but plays up intimacy with 14 individually designed rooms and one suite that invite to dream and relax. The restaurant Lago combines a laid-back atmosphere with striking architecture and breath-taking views of Lake Maggiore. On warm days the 400 sqm Roof Lounge is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Giardino Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing