We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place and relaxing weekend”
Review of Giardino Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Giardino Lago
Ranked #1 of 6 Minusio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bern
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and relaxing weekend”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Hotel is in a very charming location just at the shores of the Lago Maggiore.
The room we had was not very big, but very clean, new and modern and pleasant in all aspects.
The staff is very freindly. The reastaurant and the terrasse ideal to make you feel on a real hoilday far away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    32
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
71
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This lovely boutique hotel is situated right on the forefront of Lago Maggiore offering fantastic views from the rooms as well as restaurant and terrace.

The place has been recently refurbished and has modern and "green" feel. Rooms are not big but furnished to a very high standard. Bed, pillows, bed linens are what you can expect from the Swiss luxury hotel.

The place is very clean. Stuff helpful and attentive. Also during our two nights stay we were finding nice small treats in our room such as specially prepared by the restaurant iced tea or fruit plate.

We are very happy with our stay and would definitely consider coming back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ispaniolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June 2012 for a friend's wedding. Rooms are tiny, but clean and stylish. Room prices are pretty hefty. The wedding dinner at the hotel was very good and vegetarians were well taken care of. Breakfast not super-big, but yummy. Our car found a parking spot on the tiny parking lot of the hotel, which we appreciated very much.

Room Tip: Small rooms are only minimally smaller than the big ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bleug79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Small hotel on top location, very friendly host and staff, great food, trendy setup.
Do not expect big rooms or you will be disappointed.
Try out the stand up paddling, it's great fun and free to use. Also free bikes for a ride along the lake.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerRolfRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just had an amazing time! Impeccable service, caring and warm welcome! Everything is so well thought - in every details! From the little notes in the room, to the drink they offer you at arrival and at departure, you feel pampered all the way. The location is magical (even if it rains!), peaceful and beautiful. The Spa at Giardino Ascona (we tried the outside pool) is a continuity to a high quality treatment. The staff was very helpful and patient before and during our stay...which was way too short! We can only hope to go back there soon! THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH FOR MAKING OUR STAY SO SPECIAL!!!!!!!!! Krystel and Sebastiano

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank absolutelyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Thank you Giardino for perfect weekend! Very friendly staff, fantastic restaurant (meat from 800 degree oven is must try dish!!), beautiful view over the lake and nice terrace. It was all we need for pleasure romantic time:-) Iryna and Martin

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iryna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minusio
2.5 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Remorino
1.6 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#1 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.4 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 28 in Locarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giardino Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giardino Lago

Property: Giardino Lago
Address: via alla Riva 83a, Minusio 6648, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Minusio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Minusio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Giardino Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little gem of a hotel right on the shores of Lago Maggiore, Giardino Lago is sublime and blissfully relaxed - a heavenly escape for the modern traveller. Quality of life, sustainability and a friendly service underpin the concept and image of this Personal Retreat. The hotel forgoes convention and stars, but plays up intimacy with 14 individually designed rooms and one suite that invite to dream and relax. The restaurant Lago combines a laid-back atmosphere with striking architecture and breath-taking views of Lake Maggiore. On warm days the 400 sqm Roof Lounge is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Giardino Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing