We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Hotel Gallo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gallo
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tignale
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Gallow for the second time, the room was great, and very clean
Fulvia and all her staff and family are very friendly and efficient.
The pool superb and there was always a sun lounger on the terrace.
Food fantastic, both my daughter and myself have to have a Gluten Free Diet, they always were very careful about our food.
We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary on the restaurant terrace, this has to have the best views anywhere.
We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerremys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    33
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
82
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My wife is gluten intolerant so this narrows the choice of places to stay somewhat.
We were recommended this hotel as catering for coeliac's so we thought we would give it a try.
We were pleased to find that the hotel was an excellent place to stay. We had a room which opened out on to a spacious shared balcony overlooking lake Garda. A church was just opposite and it was great to wake up to a pleasant tune from the bells. They were quiet at night, starting to ring at eight 'o'clock.
The food was very good, my wife's Gluten Free being well catered for. Every night we dined on the terrace overlooking the lake with the mountains opposite. Heaven!
A hire car is a good idea here because you are a little way from the lake up a winding road.
We are keen hikers and this hotel was very well placed for lots of walks in the surrounding countryside.
We were also told of this place by Gilli. her website is worth a look if you are coeliac.
The staff were all helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank facet_edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

my daughter was diagnosed with coeliac 3 years ago and has always wanted to visit Italy. so seeing the reviews we chose this as our base for Lake Garda - and what a gem! the owners treated her like a VIP, they couldn't do enough to cater for her needs. the hotel is small enough to care and personalise everything, but large enough for you not to feel isolated.

the scenery is amazing, and the atmosphere relaxing. only issue is the drive - only about 15 mins from the lakeside, but on windy roads but our hired punto coped ( just). however this hotel as a base for visiting other towns on the lake worked well for us, and we looked forward to returning each evening for the GF food.

thanks for your hospitality.

we booked through a british lady who lives in the village, who came to see us at the hotel to give us details of trips, timetables, places to visit. she was able to direct us for whatever we were interested in ( including tips on market days, places to park etc) just what was needed - thanks Gilli!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillyj3416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is a super hotel with a lovely friendly feel to the place. For those who need gluten free food this is the best! You can choose anything from the menu and they will make home made gluten free alternatives. The tortellini was out of this world! The staff are very helpful and keen to give tips on where to go and what to see. It is a little way up from the lake but the view is superb. The hotel is well positioned being in the centre of a vibrant little village with plenty of cafe's and shops to browse in. We stayed in the Orchidea room which had a private balcony and what a view! This one is not to be missed!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport -Trefdraeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Even if I wasn't a coeliac, which Hotel Gallo specially cater for, the food is really good and we have never been in a cleaner hotel. Located on the edge of a pretty hillside village above lake Garda it is ideally located for walking in the town,countryside and for lake Garda. A car is really an essential but it is well worth the ten minute drive up from the lakeside. All the balconied rooms have a stunning view of the lake and Fulvia and Renato the owners care about the comfort and wellbeing of their guests and help in very many ways to ensure that guests who stay in Hotel Gallo have a lovely holiday. We have never been back to the same place twice but are doing so in September 2011 again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErylWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We booked the apartment Camelia for 4 nights which belongs to the Hotel and is about 50 metres further down the road on the same side. We had full use of all the facilities at the Hotel including a very nice continental style breakfast and use of the pool. The apartment was very spacious and exceptionally furnished. It had its own large terrace and balcony with breath taking views overlooking Lake Garda. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the Hotel itself is very nice. The beautiful village church is directly behind the Hotel and it was lovely to be awakened by the sound of the bells ringing.
Tignale is a beautiful small village high up overlooking the lake with winding streets and some very nice bars and restaurants. I would recommend the Apollo for some really nice food, especially the Sea Bass! There is a small Spar supermarket a few metres from the Hotel, I recommend the delicatessen there – really great food and friendly staff.
I would recommend this Hotel for its excellent quality, friendliness and location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BullyBeefBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

My wife and I spent our 20th anniversary at the Hotel Gallo.We stayed in the Orchidea room with its large balcony and stunning views over the lake. Although all the rooms on that side of the hotel had very good views. Our room was lovely, very clean and with an extremely comfortable bed. Would have liked a kettle in the room to make an early morning tea (not a critisism) but thats only because us English drink so much tea!! Fulvio, Renato and all the staff were so friendly and welcoming. My wife is a coeliac (gluten free) and the hotel provides not only a gluten free menu but also gives you confidence that they really do understand the condition and cross contamination.
There is also a pizza restaurent over the road that offers stunning gluten free pizzasa!
Tignale is a small quiet village which was what we wanted and our whole break was one of relaxation. The 10 minute drive down to the lake is not a problem and travelling around the lake stopping at such pretty villages is a lovely way to spend a day.
To conclude, everything about the hotel ticked our boxes and I would recommend it to anyone...we look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tignale
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Rotonda
Hotel la Rotonda
#1 of 1 in Gardola
200 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
#3 of 19 in Gargnano
190 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Panorama La Forca
Panorama La Forca
#4 of 9 in Tignale
38 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#4 of 71 in Malcesine
539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Zanzanu
Park Hotel Zanzanu
#2 of 9 in Tignale
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gallo

Property: Hotel Gallo
Address: Via Roma 30, 25080, Tignale, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Tignale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tignale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gallo 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, health centre with small gym, jacuzzi, Turkish bath, solarium shower UVA. The rooms in this fully refurbished hotel all have full facilities including bathroom with shower and hairdryer, color TV with satellite link, telephone, safer deposit box. Many of the rooms have a balcony or terrace and wonderful view of the lake. Guests also have availability of a private car park, a house bar and a wonderful panoramic terrace, where breakfast and dinner are served during the summer months, weather permitting. Our breakfast buffet is served until 10,30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallo Hotel Tignale
Hotel Gallo Tignale, Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing