We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel but plan to eat elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Luisa Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Situation was pretty, pool was good, bunk bed for kids was super, food was not up to normal Italian standards. People were nice and service good. Only real downside was the food - and it was a real downside. Coffee was only part that had anything to do with Italian cuisine - there were even packaged cornetti!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Jeffrey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 509 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

This is a very good hotel, high standards of service and cleanliness and can provide good food but if you are in a Page and Moy group it is horrible. You are only allowed to sit with the P&M group, the food for this group is 2* at best and usually much worse. Think of cheap British supermarket lines served tepid or over-cooked and you are not far off what is served to P&M group members. Complaints in the dining room were pretty much ignored. We gave up in the end and eat in the local village. The P&M holiday from arrival at St Pancras to changed return arrangements was pretty awful and never will we use them again. Many of the details in their brochure are wrong...for example "Meet at the Page & Moy Reception Desk beside the Eurostar Terminal". This doesn't even exist!
Yes we have complained. Both couples who traveled that is. One couple had an apology and an acknowledgement that the complaints were justified and £100 worth of P&M vouchers as compensation. The other couple had their complaint letter acknowledged and despite a follow-up letter have still heard nothing. Needless to say the vouchers are in the bin.

Room Tip: Ask for a second room key ..they seem not to be provided unless requested
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KCL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Nice rooms (but little small)
Excellent service at the bar reception and restaurant

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Menashebarnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights as part of a Page & Moy rail tour to Lake Garda. It was supposed to be a 'luxury trip' with first class travel and a 4 star hotel. The complex itself was really nice with very modern large air conditioned rooms, many with balconies, a pool, exercise facilities and beautiful surroundings. While we were there the hotel appeared quite full with other travellers, as well as our own tour party of about 30 people.

However, there didn't seem to be enough staff available to meet guest needs at some times, especially that of a tour party. When we first arrived on a Sunday lunch time, and when we arrived back from our various trips during the week, they were unable to cope with an influx of people all requiring food and drinks at once, resulting in some people having a long wait before being served. At times the limited staff on duty appeared understandably overpressed and reluctant to respond to customers' needs. Sometimes this resulted in us being ignored or made to wait a long time to have requests and issues attended to.

Our biggest issue was in regard to the evening meals which were far below that expected from a 4 star hotel. Our party was forced to eat together on long tables rather like a school canteen. We were told we had to sit at the same tables each night and weren't allowed to sit in the outside areas as they were for 'independent guests'. The room was often hot in the evenings but the air conditioning was switched off because the doors were open to allow the outside diners to come in for the buffet.

Our evening menu was limited to a choice of two starters, two pasta dishes, two main courses and a single sweet, not what you would normally expect from a 4 star menu. We were given the menu for the following night half way through the meal we were eating and told to make our choices then and there! Often it was difficult to remember what you had chosen the previous night and anyway the food was of such poor quality that it was difficult to relate it to its original description. Service was very slow and the dishes often came luke warm. When I complained to the hotel manager about the food I was told that the menus had been agreed with the tour company a year in advance, which really wasn't relate to our issue regarding quality and service.

The service and food issues rather spoiled what was supposed to be a 'luxury holiday'. Indeed the best food we had was that which we bought on our trips out at lunch time. The service issues came to a head when a pre-booked courtesy bus from the local port failed to arrive, resulting in a hot uphill walk back to the hotel after a long and enbjoyable day around the lake. When I first compained I was told the manager was too busy in a staff meeting to see an upset customer, although he did eventually see me and gave us a refund on some of our 'extas' at the end of our stay

This 4 star resort may well be an excellent place to stay if you are an independent traveller from Europe, but if you are with a Brittish tour company be aware that you may receive one star service and food and be placed well behind the other guests in regard to your own customer needs!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Wings_of_the_Eagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Brand New Hotel, Very clean. nice and cozy. Located on a beautiful hill, with very nice view of the lake.
The stuff was very helpful, breakfast was fresh and tasty.
Very nice rooms, Lobby and swimming pool.
Due to the remote hotel location, it is recommended for car driving tourists, and there is an appropriate parking place located in the hotel basement .
The only drawback is finding the hotel location at night. Don't dare driving to the hotel without a proper GPS Navigation!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felixis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Cisca058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank viaggiando066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Felice del Benaco
9.4 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Casimiro Village
Park Hotel Casimiro Village
#2 of 7 in San Felice del Benaco
402 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bella Hotel & Leisure
Bella Hotel & Leisure
#3 of 7 in San Felice del Benaco
63 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,213 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#7 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Luisa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Luisa Resort & Spa

Address: Via Palazzo 1, 25010 San Felice del Benaco, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > San Felice del Benaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Felice del Benaco
Price Range: $112 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Luisa Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Luisa Resort lies among the green of the Valtenesi hills and the blue of Lake Garda. This architectural jewel combines elegance and relax, for a stay filled with serenity and absolute comfort.The 54 elegant en suite rooms are rich in style and innovation and are fitted out with telephone, air conditioning, satellite LCD TV, safe and minibar: a splendid lake view is available, as well as spacious furnished balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Luisa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Luisa San Felice Del Benaco
Hotel Villa Luisa Resort & Spa Lake Garda/San Felice Del Benaco, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing