We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lakeside location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riva Del Sole
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lakeside location”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Had a very enjoyable stay here at the end of the summer holidays. Originally due to stay for 3 nights but extended to 5, which wasn't an issue and even got offered a discount.

The pool was fantastic with lake views and pizzas from the restaurant were tasty. The breakfast was good but a greater variety of pastries would help and the coffee machine wasn't great but we just asked the waitress who was making fresh coffees. Most people seemed to be doing this.

The restaurant would be much better if it only had 1 menu as opposed to the complicated system of 4 that it currently has.

Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    61
    37
    16
    8
See reviews for
27
93
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The pros :
- The room was very spacious and confortable. We had a Lake view wich was fantastic at sunset.
- Breakfast was okay
- Overall a Great Hotel with nice swiming-pool and Lake view

The bad experience :
As soon we checked-in, we asked to add another night in our stay. The owners (the mom and the daughter - it's a family hotel) were okay and evrything seemed to be okay. The next morning, we were on our way to visit the Garda Lake and I requested a couch in the room to the owner. Shockingly, she informed me we have to leave our room as it was booked (with better price I pressume) during the night! Despite the fact that we have confirmed the day before that everything was fine ! What a non professional attitude that was !
We had to scream and fight to stay in our room as we were with a baby. So we decided to leave the hotel without checking-out and to do our initial plan (visiting). When we came back in the afternoon, the owner apologized and told us everything was okay.

Sadly this bad experience disrupted our vacation. That's sad because it is a nice hotel but the owners should never act that way and lying to customers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakim17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The staff were friendly, the rooms were clean, however there were watermarks on some ceilings and we even had a leak in the room. Also the lights were out in our hallway upon our arrival which was a bad first impression. The location was very close to the lake which was great and the kids loved the pool. A lot of the chairs were broken at the pool and we had to bring our own towels down so if we wanted to shower after the pool, we did not have clean towels and I was told that extra towels were 2€ extra. We ordered pizza from the hotel for lunch at thr pool and that was perfect. The pizza was delicious. The breakfast was also good but the coffee was disgusting. I don't know why they use that machine that seems like has had bad reviews for years. Overall I would not recommend for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Over all we've been satisfied with the hotel, restaurant and especially the staff who speak (besides italian) english and partially german.
One shold not expect too much of the "4* "breakfast buffet (3* would meet expectations) and if an italian coffee fan, dont even try the instant brew, plan to stop by at a cafeteria for the good stuff.
The 3 course dinner always was quite good, nothing to complain about.
Basically the room was clean, though stains on the wallpapers seemed to tell stories of some "Bordolino" parties.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunterNoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

we just came back from our trip to Italy- lago di garda (oct 2010)-Moniga del gerda
although this hotel was rated as 4 stars (and cost accordingly) we do not recommend it as it was more like 3 stars max.
i am nor sure if it is because it is off season right now- but the room was basic- the B/fast was pure disappointment and the only good news is that the stuff were friendly and speak English

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HADAS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Riva Del Sole this summer after reading the reviews. Something must have changed there because our stay wasn't great. For a start they advertise most rooms with views. This is not the case, at least half don't and our room was rear facing and looked over the kitchen and we had an old scrap boat and a pile of rubbish as our view. We had also booked a triple room as we were travelling with our 8 year old daughter. The room they gave us was a small double with an extra bed squeezed in. It was very cramped. There was also just one small wardrobe with 6 hangers to store 3 peoples sets of clothes. The bathroom was nice and spacious though, the only problem was that there was no lock to the door and the shower head was faulty. When we complained and asked for a larger room we were told they were all the same. When we asked to change to a room with a view we were told that would be 30 Euros a night extra. There is no mention of this when you book on-line. Breakfast was interesting. The first day we went down at around 9:30 and most of it had gone. There were only two staff there and they just couldn't cope and it seemed like you were expected to clear and lay your own table. It did get slightly better during the week, but the breakfast choice was poor. The pool was very nice with plenty of shade under the olive trees. A lot of the sun beds around the pool were broken though. We ate in the restaurant a few times and the food was pretty good. The service was a bit indifferent, some staff were very helpful others not to the point of being rude. The location of the hotel is good being at one of the quieter parts of the lake . The hotel is just a short walk from the lake and there is a small marina with a nice cafe and two good pizzerias. I wouldn't recommend this hotel, there are far better hotels to stay at in Lake Garda.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackhawk7117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moniga del Garda hotels

london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

me and a friend toured the Italian lakes and chose this hotel for its location on the lake and also it's cheap for a 4* hotel. It was very clean and fairly modern, great location on Garda and fairly quiet.
Be warned, it is not right on the lake, its a 5 minute walk to the harbour/beach area which is really busy and full of people as there is a campsite between the hotel and the lake.
Breakfast was nothing to write home about, but they rarely are and we didn't eat in the hotel so cant comment..
Its in a brilliant location to be able to travel to the rest of the lake if you have a car(we did) and also there is a car park in front of reception with easy car parking.
Overall a pleasant stay but there are other hotels that are a lot nicer but also a lot more expensive! Lots of local amenities, restaurants, supermarkets etc

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amsterdammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moniga del Garda
0.8 mi away
Falkensteiner Apartments Lake Garda
Falkensteiner Apartments Lake Ga...
#1 of 6 in Moniga del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 6 in Moniga del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#4 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#5 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 10 in Manerba del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Apparthotel San Sivino
Residence Apparthotel San Sivino
#3 of 10 in Manerba del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riva Del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riva Del Sole

Property: Hotel Riva Del Sole
Address: Via del Porto 21/23, 25080 Moniga del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Moniga del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Moniga del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riva Del Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riva Del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Del Sole Hotel
Hotel Riva Del Sole Lake Garda/Moniga Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing