We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Gargnano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We have just returned from a four day break. The hotel lived up to all our expectations. It is in a lovely quiet location right on the lake side. The owners are very hospitable, friendly and knowledgable. They made us so welcome. The Benaco room was spacious and well equipped with two balconies overlooking the lake. We ate in the hotel and also the sister hotel - Hotel du Lac which is very close. The food in both hotels is very good. The village is very romantic and quiet with several restaurants within easy walking distance. The ferry is also close making it easy to get to other parts of the lake. We followed the advice in the other reviews and hired a small car (rather than a larger one) which we appreciated as the roads in the villages can be very narrow. The only problem with the hotel is tearing yourself away at the end of the stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gardenia al Lago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 199 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed here for a week this summer - we were very impressed by this hotel. Our room overlooked the garden and was comfortable and clean. The hotel is run by a family, all of whom were friendly and helpful in giving directions and making reservations for us.We loved eating dinner on the terrace overlooking the lake. This may turn out to be our regular summer vacation hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mellifera23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We loved this hotel. We arrived about 9pm and asked " Is it too late to eat?" No problem" was the reply. 10 minutes later we were ushered into the candlelit garden and to a lakeside table.The dinner was delicious. So too was breakfast...also overlooking the lake but by now we could see the glorious views from this delightful hotel.
We really liked the sense of history about this place. It has been run by the same family for many years and they take great pride in their hotel and look after their guests really well.
We liked the hotel and this part of Lake Garda so much ( I think Gargnano is one of the prettiest spots on the lake) that we stayed an extra night and would love to return one day.
There are rooms to suit all budgets and it might be worth reading other reviews below for handy tips about the best rooms with the best views, but all guests can use the garden and the roof terrace and all guests eat breakfast right beside the lake if the weather is fine!
A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hexhamlasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Well, there is actually no pool, but what you get is far better: unless you prefer to jump from the wall into the lake, there is a metal ladder that gives you direct access to the crystal-clear waters of Lake Garda (just bear in mind that algae on the last steps make them a little slippery).This is not the Red Sea, but if you have your snorkelling gear at hand, you might sea a few fish. Last August the water temperature was pleasant (23°C), expect the bathing season to last from June to end of September.
For the booking, I contacted the hotel directly over their website, and the reservation was handled very rapidly and professionally.
No need to repeat the rave reviews of all other posters, as I agree with almost everyone. Almost, because I do not think that ALL rooms have air-con, and I strongly advise any customer to make sure they book a room with air conditioning when travelling in summer. Unlike pandnnorton in a different review, we preferred the Gardenia restaurant over the one at neighbouring Lago, but anyway, for a real treat, go to La Tortuga!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YvesLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This is a lovely, family-owned hotel on the southern end of Gargnano. It has a lovely lakeside location with most of the rooms affording great views of the lake. The rooms were very clean with spacious bathrooms, satellite TV and air conditioning (a rarity in many European hotels).

The service is very friendly and efficient and the staff is always there to greet you with a smile anytime you enter or leave the hotel. They have a small bar that is open until later in the evenings and they drinks and light snacks until fairly late in the evening. Their breakfast buffet is ample with a wide variety of fruits, cereals, breads, and juices. We had dinner there one night as well and it was VERY good with an amazing view of the lake and rising moon.

I would highly recommend this hotel as well as the overall destination as opposed to staying in the larger, more crowded and much noisier Riva del Garda. We would definitely return again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: We were in room 303 (Atmosfera Room) which was a bit further away from the lake on the street side o...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LolaFromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This is an excellent family run hotel. The staff are attentive but not intrusive, knowledgable but not in your face. It is in a quiet spot so if you are looking for beaches, tourist tat and late night bars, look else where. It makes a good relaxing base for the lake. The continental breakfast was a good spread of quality food, fruit juices not squashes etc. This is three star but should be more. The Hotel is adjacent, not alongside the lake. The view from the rooms is therefore to the lake, not across it. For the limited time we spent on our balcony this was not a problem. If you are a visiting couple and it is in your price bracket I would recommend it, it's the best hotel I've stayed in in Italy in four trips.

Lastly, directions. Due to a national strike affecting public transport we arrived in the dark, later than expected. From the main bus stop, opposite the Tourist Info, turn off the main road to the right, if the lake is in front of you, past the Ostelle del Pirate and keep going for half a mile. We went left into Gargnano main village by mistake and had to retrace our steps.

Enjoy

Room Tip: no swimming pool as such, but steps into Lake Garda
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DyslexicPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is a lovely hotel on the edge of Lake Garda, just outside of the picturesque village of Gargnano. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake, excellent hosts in a beautiful location. Lucy Honeychurch, Charlotte Bartlett and the Miss Allens would not have looked out of place here. Our room was comfortable and we had a lovely small balcony with some basketweave chairs to sit on.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a lake view although ours was at the side of the building facing North, which...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Fionatravel7264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gargnano
0.6 mi away
Hotel Garni Bartabel
Hotel Garni Bartabel
#18 of 19 in Gargnano
24 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,040 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Meandro
Hotel Meandro
#8 of 19 in Gargnano
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#19 of 19 in Gargnano
34 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Giulia
Hotel Villa Giulia
#12 of 19 in Gargnano
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tre Punte
Hotel Tre Punte
#3 of 3 in Navazzo
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardenia al Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardenia al Lago

Address: Via Colletta' 53, 25084, Gargnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gargnano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
#8 Family Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range: $120 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quite and charming House located directly on the water in a splendid and peaceful position. The renovated rooms are furnished with old period furniture, are air-conditioned and have a balcony with lake view. The garden with its olive trees, palms and Mediterranean vegetation is the ideal place to relax, wrapped in a triumph of flowers and silence. When the weather is nice, breakfast, lunch and dinner are served in the magnificent garden facing the lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gardenia Al Lago Gargnano
Gardenia Al Lago Hotel
Hotel Gardenia Al Lago Lake Garda/Gargnano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing