We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding small intimate hotel with excellent staff and service.”
Review of Hotel du Lac

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gargnano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Gargnano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Our 5th stay in 8 years and we shall return again. Outstanding small hotel in a village away from the main 'tourist' areas of Lake Garda. Staff, service and restaurant all excellent which helps to create an ideal stress-buster holiday. The hotel is ideally placed for excellent local restaurants all within 10 mins walk. Gargnano is also well placed for trips to the wider Lake Garda area, be it by foot, car, bike or boat.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krchlmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 223 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2010

Hotel du Lac is tucked away down a one-way side street on the outskirts of Gargnano. We had a larger car and it was slightly nervewracking getting there, but we were easily able to find parking after dropping off the cases.
The hotel feels like a home, but the rooms are of a good size with a large, high bed. The views are gorgeous. Our greeting was from the mother of the owner who was very sweet, although my limited Italian and her slightly limited English meant that we saved some of the formalities till her son arrived a little later. The only downside of the room was the rather small shower.
We ate in the hotel up on the top terrace and had a very pleasant meal in the most romantic setting. The full moon was rising behind the hills on the other side of the lake and the lights were shining from the towns on that side.
The local wine and limoncello are also very good and I would recommend them.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Maelwedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Just arrived back from 4 night stay at Hotel Du Lac and we had an enjoyable stay hotel very well located right on the Lake, owner very friendly and helpful, room very clean, shower cabinet a bit on the small side would not have liked to be any bigger. Breakfast great had a most enjoyable stay hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nethybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We visited Hotel du Lac on honeymoon a few years ago and have been back every year since.

The rooms are simple but charming - antique furniture, spacious, spotlessly clean. We've stayed in rooms on the lake side and the street side, and in both cases you can hear the pleasant lapping of the lake. The views from the lake-facing rooms are worth every penny. The beds are a little hard for my personal taste, but that is just me.

A beautiful, fresh and varied breakfast is served overlooking the lake, and there is an adorable terrace where you can take lunch or dinner, or lounge around in the shade of grape and kiwi vines. The quality of the food in the restuarant is excellent - you are served a delicious meal in its own right, not simply a plate of food piggybacking on the lake views (like a lot of restaurants on Garda's shoreline).

This is not a big hotel - 12 rooms I think - which means you feel more like you are staying in a grand town house. It also means you get the personal touch. The ever-present owner is delightful, helpful, and clearly cares that you appreciate his hospitality and his long running family business. He also speaks perfect English, which is handy.

Gargnano is picture-book pretty, and pleasantly devoid of tourists. The harbour is full of little sailing boats, the benches full of little old Italian guys chatting away their afternoons. It's a great base if you want to go walking in the hills, but probably best if you want to spend 3 or 4 days enjoying the lake, some wine, and a few books. We always do sports/activity holidays. Here we sit and relax. Just don't expect a big TV, a minibar and super fast wi-fi. That's not what this place is about.

Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdwardB020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

The service was very pleasant, friendly and constantly available. Our room had a lake view which was stunning and the sound of the lake water lapping against the shore soothed us to sleep. Lake Garda is absolutely beautiful and this hotel is ideally situated on the lake. We really liked the friendliness of the owner and staff. The food was excellent and it was a joy to have a wonderful healthy breakfast and fine dinner on the terrace overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gearoidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Situated right on the lakeside,this is a charming family run hotel (only 12 rooms) where Valerio and his staff are polite and helpful and the service is first class. The lake facing room was clean with a comfortable bed and had a terrace which gave magnificent views over the lake. The Hotel has a "sister" hotel - Hotel Gardenia - which is 100 metres away and can also be used for sunbathing, swimming etc. The food is excellent and well prepared. Great place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derrick000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

The hotel is clean and the position is very nice.
The service is very good.
Only 5 minutes walt to the centre of cargnano.
The restaurant is very bad, we had an incredible trout risotto, it was literaly fluctuating in cream souce.
the hotel wines (vino della casa), both white and red, are good.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank franklittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gargnano hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni Bartabel
Hotel Garni Bartabel
#18 of 19 in Gargnano
24 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tre Punte
Hotel Tre Punte
#3 of 3 in Navazzo
70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Meandro
Hotel Meandro
#9 of 19 in Gargnano
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Giulia
Hotel Villa Giulia
#11 of 19 in Gargnano
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#19 of 19 in Gargnano
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia D'Oro
Hotel Baia D'Oro
#8 of 19 in Gargnano
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Address: Via Colletta' 21, 25084, Gargnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gargnano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
#4 Family Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range: $118 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Du Lac is a small hotel, almost a private house, full of atmosphere, peace and comfort, and it is the ideal spot for an absolutely relaxing stay, steeped in the gentle atmosphere of the lake, and cradled in our magical old-world charm. The bedrooms are charmingly appointed with original period furniture. The hotel also has a restaurant where traditional local and national dishes are served accompanied by genuine wines from various Italian regions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Lac Lake Garda/Gargnano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing