We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in the world?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gargnano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Hotel a Villa Feltrinelli
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Gargnano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Feltrinelli has been described as the best hotel in the world by some reviewers. That is a very bold claim. It is without doubt a very fine place to stay and being compact, only 28 rooms I believe, it is a tranquil spot with glorious grounds. Gargnano is a nice village and the hotel is only a ten minute walk or they offer a complimentary shuttle. Our room II Poeta was large and gorgeous with great views over the lake. A very large bathroom with giant shower deep bath and separate WC. Staff are courteous and attentive; But boy this comes at a huge price so not a place for the faint hearted. At these prices you might expect it to be the best in the world, It is not and frankly it would be silly to claim that it is as every top hotel have their special qualities. For my money Aman group consistently achieve the highest standards and get pretty close to perfection.

The restaurant is a fine place to eat with great service from the team, but eye wateringly pricey for what is on offer with big mark ups on wine; Even top London restaurants look a bargain next to this restaurant. They do offer smaller portions on all dishes which is good. It is michelin listed but we found the food a bit hit and miss. Some dishes were exemplary others outright disappointing. I ordered a burger for lunch and was offered it medium;It came dry and overcooked. I had sea bass twice at dinner and the first one was delicious second under-cooked lukewarm and poor. That said a pasta dish called carbonara (not to be confused with the traditional tratoria dish) was sublime and I could have eaten it all day! The chef is clearly very talented but needs greater consistency and simplicity if he is to offer value.

It is a wonderful place to stay and if the restaurant can up its game then it will get close to being perfect.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms best Poeta is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 167 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

Fabulous hotel - impeccable service, unique setting, historical interiors which are full of charm and don't feel stuffy. It almost feels like one is staying in a private house but with all the benefits of a 5 star hotel. Evening drinks on the front steps overlooking the lake, sitting on the quayside watching the boats go past, the sumptous breakfast offering or lying in the pool admiring the gardens are all worth a visit on their own.

One area for improvement however......bearing in mind the unique history and location of the hotel, it is a shame that the hotel has succumbed to the increasingly modern trend of creating dishes that are overly complex and just don't work. Italian food should be simple and flavoursome yet the chef has created dishes which are over engineered/fussy and don't leave one wanting more. This may be in part the curse of the Michelin rosette but the hotel should, bearing in mind its location, rise above this. A pasta dish should leave one guilty when one craves more not confused whether the Pachetti is supposed to be served cold or hot.

Overall excellent and will defintiely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoftusLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

From the moment you arrive at the hotel you feel the magic of this truly stunning and unique hotel. This was our 5th stay at the hotel and it never fails to captivate. The hotel itself is ideally located on the shores of Lake Garda and the views are unforgettable. The staff are the best of any hotel I have ever been to. The managers have an eye for perfection and that filters down throughout the staff. The staff are quite simply delightful; incredibly helpful, friendly, professional and smiley! This is a happy ship and it shows. The management and staff quite genuinely want each and every guest to have the best time imaginable.
The food is just as good as the hotel has a very inventive chef. All meals are wonderful but lunch surpasses any in the world! Try the tuna tartare, caprese and lobster salad! Simple and stunning; the riot of tastes are sublime.
Things to do: relax at the lush pool, take in the lake views at the chairs for two set up beside the lake, enjoy cocktails at sundown, wander into town for more simple fare (the Lido is good or there is also a great pizza restaurant on the promenade), take a scenic boat tour with the legendary Paulo to Locanda San Vigilio for lunch...everything organised by the delightful hotel staff who anticipate your every need.
We have stayed in various rooms, all sumptuous and decorated in antiques and quirky artefacts. Lago and Magnolia are our favourite rooms, both of which have balconies and amazing views over the lake.
This is a hotel to have an enduring love affair with! Take someone special...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happytraveller681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have been coming for over twelve year's since it first opened. in that time a consistent high regard for exemplary service, good food and beautiful rooms has been maintained beyond human expectation.. Go on and spoil yourselves - you know you want too!

Room Tip: Ask nicely and get the owners Boat House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Choixchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Even if Pierce Brosnan and Daniel Craig have retired from the role, the franchise continues, as does the stream of Aston Martins to the parking lot at Villa Feltrinelli. What else stays the same? The utter bliss, hospitality and unpretentious grace of this resort, which is surely one of the most desirable and luxurious travel destinations in the world. Our second visit in five years, we found the same attention to detail, breathtakingly beautiful site, gracious service and excellent food served tent-side or surfside, however and wherever you like it. Put simply, you’d be crazy to get room service unless you’ve just got to eat in your PJ’s. Our room this time was a junior suite titled Fiorentina—no room numbers please. It faced to the rear but was as sublime as others we’ve had in the main villa, and of a different personality than the more modern, chalet-style rooms a hundred meters north on the same property. Among the latter we can recommend Cacciatore for its powerful air-conditioning, striking decor and lake view (the website features this one with its huge, leather chaise lounge.) If you don’t come by helicopter, as did one of our fellow guests, then beware the drive from the northeast, e.g., Bolzano, which may take years off your life if you’re not used to the winding, narrow roads. Also, sublime as the resort is, I would still walk to town one evening and eat at the Lido restaurant then walk back eyeballing the properties you wished you had purchased twenty years ago. . . and wishing, too, that you could lead a lifestyle where (seemingly) pleasure, family and happiness come first. As you can tell, I’m in love with this place, and fell more deeply in love with my wife at this place, and urge you to go if it is within reach financially and if you don’t mind leaving the kids at home while you renew your vows.

Room Tip: There is something to be said for walking down a grand marble staircase in the morning even if the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NiceNYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed here in August 2011 and loved every minute of my time there.

The Villa is an inspirational place that boasts an awe-inspiring level of detail, a magnificent setting right on the lake and some of the best and most unobtrusive service anywhere. As someone who has stayed in many of the best places anywhere this is easily at the very top of my list. A must do...

Room Tip: It would be hard for me to stay at the Villa and not be in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here to celebrate my wife's birthday. I have stayed in literally hundreds of hotels in Europe, including some of the best known names there are.
Nowhere else comes close.
This is the finest hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. It's formidably expensive - and I mean formidably - but I still have to give it 5 stars for value, as you simply won't experience anywhere else like it for any money. The service is utterly wonderful - caring, efficient, empathetic, the epitome of professionalism... there when you need it, ready to help at any time, and out of sight when you don't. An art which they have mastered in the most extraordinary fashion.
Whilst we stayed, we had a major incident with a family member in Cambodia. The staff swung into action, sending emails and faxes as I dealt with the British Embassy. Faultless, and everyting you could possibly wish for.
If you ever go to the Italian Lakes, go to Lake Garda and stay here. It is absolutely fabulous in every possible way.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r777rms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gargnano
1.9 mi away
Hotel Tre Punte
Hotel Tre Punte
#3 of 3 in Navazzo
72 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
#3 of 19 in Gargnano
204 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#4 of 19 in Gargnano
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Chervo Golf Hotel Spa & Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Giulia
Hotel Villa Giulia
#12 of 19 in Gargnano
94 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#19 of 19 in Gargnano
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel a Villa Feltrinelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel a Villa Feltrinelli

Address: Via Rimembranza 38-40, 25084, Gargnano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range: $520 - $1,192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gargnano
Grand Hotel Feltrinelli
Villa Feltrinelli
Grand Hotel a Villa Feltrinelli Lake Garda/Gargnano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing